We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Chillington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chillington House
Ranked #1 of 6 Chillington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is a beautiful B & B, we stayed one night towards the end of June and loved it.
We were offered complimentary tea or coffee on arrival and sat in the lovely garden which is just off of the breakfast room. There is a large lounge area for guests equipped with comfy sofas and there are board games to help keep youngsters amused.
Our room was really spacious, and the en-suite was modern, both bedroom and en-suite were immaculate in décor and cleanliness. We were given a small flask of fresh milk to use for our tea and coffee in the bedroom, this was a great touch, just shows the attention to detail.
Breakfast was lovely with a good choice, the plum compote was excellent, sadly there wasn't any available for us to take home :(
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and have been telling all our friends about the place. The only other B&B we have stayed in that could compete was at the other end of the UK. Would be wonderful to have more of this high standard.

Room Tip: Only stayed one night expect all of the rooms would be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EssexCoupleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

Me, my fiancé & our dog stayed here for 2 nights! Beautiful house, very clean and tidy, lovely furnishings and good garden! The breakfast choice, service and quality was amazing, miss that already! The rooms are well equipped and we loved the biscuits and milk in mini flasks, they are a nice touch! The family that run this place are lovely & are very welcoming!
We know the area quite well so didn't mind that Chillington itself didn't have much going on but it adds to its charm being in such a quaint village!!

I thought I would add a bit about taking the dog - she wasn't allowed in the house, other than our room, so at breakfast she sat in the car which was fine for us but might not be suitable for other dogs. They can be tied in the garden though but as we have a barker this wasn't possible ha!

Will definitely return! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jessicaamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was one of the best B&B's we stayed at on our tour around Devon and Cornwall. The house has been beautifully decorated and is very comfortable. Nice big comfortable beds and a lovely breakfast served in the conservatory looking out at the gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is a really well renovated house. The bedrooms are spacious, modern, clean and comfortable, the guests lounge and conservatory area are beautiful with a sunny aspect over the garden and there is a good sized car park. The hosts are a really nice young couple who are friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are excellent with quality ingredients and cooked well. Nice touches are the fresh milk in flasks for your room and a guests fridge in the conservatory to chill your wine if you don't feel like going out again

The house, although quiet, is beside the main road through the village so you can take a bus in either direction, which has to be a bonus on these narrow roads. The pub in Chillington has now closed down, but the Tradesman's Arms in Stokenham is easily walkable down a pretty footpath and is absolutely worth visiting for both its food and atmosphere.

This is a lovely part of the world with so many beautiful places to visit especially Slapton Sands where the views are stunning and it is still possible to escape the madding crowd! Eat your fish and chips on the beach and watch the yachts sail by - there's a pleasant lack of tat here!

This young couple deserve to succeed. If, like us, you are not a fan of chintz, this is really worth a visit to recharge your batteries

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerryFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We spent a delightful week in Chillington House in June. We cannot rate it highly enough. The bedroom was tastefully decorated as was the rest of the house. The shower room was clean and spacious. Home from home!

Jeannie and Adam are first class hosts and Adam's breakfasts are beautifully served and cooked.

We enjoyed having a lounge to sit in of an evening on our return from eating out.

All in all we cannot fault this hotel and would highly recommend it. Angus and Pat Drummond

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were attending a wedding locally so booked a 4 night stay at Chillington House in early June. We were pleasantly surprised at how spacious and comfortable our room was. Everything was immaculately clean and tidy.
Jeannie & Adam were very hospitable and did everything to make our stay perfect. Even provided 2 slices of cucumber to soothe my tired eyes!! The breakfasts were fabulous with a good choice available. They recommended the local pub for dinner which was excellent and you could walk there safely! The pub finished serving food at 9.00pm though.
With a guaranteed car parking space you could leave your car and go off exploring by bus.
I would definitely go back and highly recommend it to friends and family.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We had room 4 on the ground floor situated on the corner/front of the building but did not really he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elvisskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We enjoyed our three night stay here in a spacious modern room with lovely bathroom and excellent breakfasts. We also thought Chillington was in a good spot being quite close to Dartmouth and even closer to Kingsbridge - we even used the bus a couple of times as it was so convenient and made a nice change from driving and parking! We would definitely recommend Chillington House.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrs T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chillington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillington House

Address: Chillington TQ7 2JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chillington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Chillington
Price Range: £86 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adam & Jeannie welcome you to Chillington House, a privately run Bed & Breakfast. Opened Spring 2011, decorated in a relaxing and comfortable style. Children & Dog friendly, open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Chillington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chillington House Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing