We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best vacation experiences”
Review of Mangrove Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mangrove Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chuini
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Mangrove Lodge is beautiful, quiet, clean, efficient, and extremely well-run. We stayed there for 5 days and were sad to leave. Marina and Haji, the owners of the hotel, are wonderful people who made us feel as if we were simply visiting friends at their home. Service was impeccable from the moment we arrived to when we left, if you have spent anytime in Tanzania, you know that is not usually the case...even in 5 star hotels. The food is amazing; breakfast is filled with fresh juice, fresh fruits, mandazis, crepes, and chapatis. There is a menu for lunch and dinner of seafood and pasta, I highly recommend the octopus curry. Haji will arrange for tours and drivers for you so that all you need to do is enjoy your day. The drivers they use are careful and very reasonable in price. I cannot find a single thing wrong with the Mangrove Lodge and would stay here over my usual 4 and 5 star accommodations any time.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank primate_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangrovelodge, Owner at Mangrove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you very much for being with us and we hope to see you next time you come over in Zanzibar. Our guests are our friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

My partner and I stayed for three nights June 2013. We were recommended this lovely little lodge by the HIPZ charity, who stayed here during their fund raising charity bike ride.
We were absolutely blown away by the whole stay!

From our arrival the staff were fab, so friendly. Haji and Marina made us feel very welcome and at home.

We stayed in a very quaint stand alone cottage, it had a everything we needed, a fan, comfortable bed, good bathroom with shower and tasteful decor, also a little balcony area at the front. The resort was so safe and secure we didn't lock our room most days!

The food was impeccable. Fantastic fresh produce used from local farmers and fishermen on a daily basis, all cooked to perfection. .

We couldn't fault our stay at all. We would definitely recommend staying here, in a secluded bay, super relaxing, no hassle from beach boys trying to sell you things, the gardens are very well looked after and the people and locals are great to be around.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Soho2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangrovelodge, Owner at Mangrove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you guys for your nice review, much appreciated! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Karibuni sana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I stayed at Mangrove in July 2011 when I was visiting Zanzibar with my husband. I was recommended this place by a very good friend of mine who resides on the island itself. We stayed ther for 4 nights, and to be honest, it was the best decision we had made. Haji was a great host,and prepared delicious breakfasts for us. For dinner, he would call us and inform us of the catch of the day , and he would prepare the food fresh. He also arranged a driver for us for one day to take us to Nungwi for the day. It was a perfect place to be relaxed and avoid all the tourist crowd and madness at other resorts.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangrovelodge, Owner at Mangrove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Some time passed and the Lodge keep the style you enjoyed and it is even more beautiful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My husband and I have travelled around Zanzibar and stayed in 5 star hotels but this trip we wanted to be more involved with village life so we chose Mangrove Lodge. Wow from the moment we arrived to the day we departed we felt so at home and relaxed.

Rooms are basic but large and clean - everything you need to put your head down at night and a shower. Two beaches were lovely and it was great to see villagers playing football after school. Food was great and very big portions - nothing was too much trouble for Haji and his staff.

Marina was away but she was great at returning my emails with information that I needed to plan our trip - did not have to chase, which I feel is good sign for efficiency.

A few trips was arranged all on time with helpful drivers. Haji spent a considerable time taking us to the local schools and showing us about and then to the dispensary that they have yet to finish as the villages have no hospital nearby.

Take the time to visit, relax and make new friends at the Mangrove. Pack with a purpose and take any items for the villages and schools or leave old clothes behind - and if you can, help raise funds for the much needed hospital.

We will definately return to the Mangrove without hesitation - why pay for 5 star when you get 5 star service at under half the price.

Thank you all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EyeSpyaFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangrovelodge, Owner at Mangrove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Thank you very much for your review. After your stay the village of Chuini have a small clinic. We are so grateful and proud to realize a dream with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Six of us Canadians arrived on Jan 26, 2013 for 3 nights to kick off our grand African adventure. It was a perfect little piece of paradise. Well located less than 25 min from Stone Town and close to several spice farms. Zanzibar is a small island easy to discover from the lodge. As stated in other reviews, the lodge offers accomodation in stand-alone cottages, well acquainted and tastefully decorated with a "Zanzibar-arabian" touch. The grounds are beautiful along a secluded bay and adjacent to a quiet beach. But above all, owners Aji and Marina and their dedicated and attentive staff are really what made our stay unforgettable.Their warm and easy going demeanor made you feel so welcome and relaxed. Aji and Marina took really good care of us arranging several great tours we would certainly recommend (Spice farms, swimming with the dolphins/Paje Beach and Forani Forest to see the monkeys, Stone Town walking tour). The meals were prepared special to order and the food was really excellent. All in all, outstanding value for the money, a rare find. Thanks Marina and Aji!!! - Debbie and gang

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foothils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangrovelodge, Owner at Mangrove Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you very much for being with us. Your gang was so enthisiastic and it was a pleasure to make the beginnning of your holiday so special!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Me and three of my friends stayed in this peaceful place for two days. It's a really wonderful place with good ocean view, cosy room, and beautiful garden. Im sure it will be my first choice next time I come to Zanzibar

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We spent 10 days at this beautiful lodge. The rooms are located in a beautiful garden with a lot of privacy. It's very clean and the beds are beautifully made with flowers, so romantic! There are mosquito nets in front of the windows, over the beds and a nice veranda to sit on. The restaurant is decorated in an arabic african style and has a beautiful view over the bay and an old ruin. In the evening you hear the bushbabys and sometimes the can see them in the trees near the restaurant, they are so cute! The food is excellent! Homecooked breakfast bread and Fresh seafood everyday bought from the local fishermen. If you don't like fish they'll cook another dish for you. Nothing is too much! The staff is really friendly, helpful and the hosts give a such a warm welcome that it makes you feel like you're part of the family.

This lodge is an excellent place to start your trips around the island! They organize all kinds of trips for reasonable prices and again, everything is possible! If you want to relax you can enjoy the beach in the shade or in the sun.

We absolutely loved it and hope to come back one day.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chuini
30.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
1.8 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
13.5 mi away
Pongwe Bay Resort
Pongwe Bay Resort
#3 of 6 in Pongwe
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 mi away
Karamba
Karamba
#3 of 5 in Kizimkazi
328 reviews
16.3 mi away
Maars Resort
Maars Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
22 reviews
14.7 mi away
Palumboreef Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangrove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangrove Lodge

Address: PO Box 4269, Chuini, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Chuini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chuini
Price Range: £64 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mangrove Eco-Lodge: responsible tourism in Zanzibar. A friendly atmosphere for an enchanting eco-sustainable resort. Deep in the tropical vegetation that surrounds Stone Town, the Mangrove Lodge offers a very peaceful and natural, homely and comfortable environment, in which the slow and quiet pace of the Zanzibar people allow you to forget the everyday hassles. We can bring you into the very heart of Zanzibar's lifestyle and culture. In line with the principles of the responsible tourism from the very beginning and with a great respect for the island, the Mangrove Lodge has grown on a green path with 360° responsible attitude. Spend a special holiday with us, enjoy the amazing white sand beach, guided excursions and stunning sunsets, and bring back serenity, cordiality and genuine fun, whilst stimulating the economic development and well-being of the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mangrove Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mangrove Hotel Chuini
Mangrove Lodge Zanzibar Island/Chuini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing