We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
32
20
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
20
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdinosaur footprintsthaba bosiuelectric blanketsevery morningwhite housethornuniversityaccommodationscommunityhostshutsrondavelcountrylodgesanikettlecamping
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We arrived unexpectedly late, at 9pm to find out cottage ready and the heater on so that it was warm and cosy. I loved the cottage, Traveller's Rest, it has an old fashioned charm. The bed has electric blankets which kept us warm but I would have also liked a warm blanket on the bed as the duvet was a little thin.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lemoncakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

This will be our 3rd weekend we have stayed at Roma Trading Post - I bring 8 - 10 Guests for a night before we go 4x4ing over Baboons past. At most we book the White House as it has enough rooms to accommodate my Group. Each time the rooms are clean, warm beds with Electric blankets, coffee and kettle in the room- Clean showers and bathrooms and comfortable beds.
K and Nthati have been exceptional hosts with cooking us delightful suppers.
Will see you again.

Room Tip: White House big group -
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darol H, Owner at Roma Trading Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thanks for the great review Tony! Glad to see you made it out of Baboons! Big thanks for coming through to stay with us again and best wishes from the Team here at Roma Trading Post!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Officially the worst stay we have ever experienced. NO FRIDGE . NO SHEETS on the beds. Bed lamp not working . FILTHY RONDAVEL. No cups for coffee/tea.
Totally over rated for the cost of accommodation charged.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Toptiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darol H, Owner at Roma Trading Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Hi John,

Really sorry to hear about your bad experience at the Lodge. We send you an email to request to refund you yesterday. There was a mixup that has now been attended to and should never happen again. We are very sorry for any inconvenienced caused. Please respond to your email so we can process the refund.

I hope you had a better end to your trip. All the best and apologies from the Team at Roma Trading Post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Good value, Ideal place for stop over but perfect for any of the cycling and enduro events in the area, the team of staff easy going and helpful- meals homely and generous, vestiges of beautiful old roses in the gardens, hope they keep up the tlc and good luck to the new management team.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ccsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darol H, Owner at Roma Trading Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thanks for the great review! We look forward to having you guys back some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

What a Great place to spent a few days! There are Some rondavels where You van stay or a house where you can stay with a group.

The food is divers and very nice.

We had a great week there on this big compound.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Marco K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darol H, Owner at Roma Trading Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Hi Marko,

Thanks for visiting us in Roma and for the great review. We look forward to having you back some time soon!

All the best from K, Nthati and the rest of the Trading Post Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews