We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinarily good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
l'Hort de Sant Cebria
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Extraordinarily good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

It would be almost impossible to fault this establishment, unless your idea of heaven is a gin palace. Everything is extraordinarily good and has been carefully considered. The decor, sublime. The hospitality, thoughtful and charming. The breakfast as good to look at as to taste. Even the small dog made us smile. Perfection. And excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drayton36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    5
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
111
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

The hospitality and professionalism and availability in suggesting places to visit and restaurants typical of the area are just some of the features that make this an unforgettable stay. The breakfast is simply delicious with local fresh produce, meats, cheeses breads and cakes beautifully presented in the pretty breakfast room ( or outside weather permitting ) . We stayed in room 1 , a charming mix of tasteful décor with a touch of romance and an extremely comfortable bed, overlooking the gorgeous well groomed garden and pool. A perfect stay. We would definitely recommend it . Thank you Juan Carlos and Jodi.

Room Tip: Room 1 overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a three night stay at this lovely place.
We found Jordi and Juan Carlos to be the most kind and considerate hosts. They took a great deal of care to recommend places to see and restaurants to eat and we enjoyed chatting very much.
The hotel is incredibly peaceful - tranquil is the word. The decor is beautiful and immaculate. We stayed in the suite which is very spacious and the bed was very comfortable.
The same level of care was given to the breakfast, a selection of fresh fruit, yoghurt, pastries, ham, cheese etc. There is an honesty bar for drinks - how lovely to help oneself and sit by the pool in the pretty garden.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

My husband and me stayed at L'Hort de Sant Cebria one night on April 16th, 2013. Our experience was so good that we plan to stay there again next time we visit Spain, and hopefully more than one night. I have to mention that I am rather a picky traveler, who look for unique and fine places. I have nothing to say on this B&B but praises! We were warmly accepted by Carlos and Jordi. They showed us the house, the "public" rooms, beautifully appointed every space and corner. Large living room with two nice seating areas, charming quiet back yard with green lawn, flowers, amazing scented wisteria which also provides shade , swimming pool (opened in the high season), chairs and tables, bench, and lawn chairs by the pool to relax. We stayed at room number 1 which was spacious and had two large windows facing the garden. It was quiet, tranquil, and comfortable. The bed was comfortable, shower was large, clean, brand new condition although it was done 6 years ago. Bathroom was equipped with L'Occitane bath and body products. Breakfast was nice, and offered fresh baked pastries; muffins, croissants, and bread, few kinds of cheese and salami, tomatoes, fruits, yogurt, cereals, jams, coffee, tea, orange juice. We were offered to use the dinning room if we wish at any time during the day or night. Coffee is available for 50 cents, I guess because of the expensive coffee machine with different kinds of capsules in all kinds of flavors. You do it yourself. It felt like home for me . I also liked Pipo, the dog. My heart felt for him, he's been a little scared at the beginning (like a shy child) but so curious about us and soon we developed closer friendship. Carlos is a teacher and probably left early to work, Jordi fixed the breakfast for us and was very helpful with recommended sites to visit in the area. I was very impressed by the level of maintenance and care of this place. We enjoyed the stay very much, the hosts are warm and friendly and we highly recommend this B&B !!!

Room Tip: Room number 1 was spacious, quiet, and has two large windows to a lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TALI M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

From the moment that we arrived until we reluctently parted two nights later our all to brief stay with Jordi and Juan Carlos was a perfect delight. After driving up from Barcelona we planned to stay only one night on our way to France, but friendly and accommondating hosts and their perfectly kept and tranquil house caused us to stay the extra unscheduled night. There is a third host, Pepo, the resident four legged, slightly shaggy "watch" dog. That is, Pepo "watched" to make sure that we rubbed his ample ears and scratched under his chin. Jordi greeted us upon our arrival and saw to our every need from beginning to end. He offered sightseeing suggestions and we discussed many and varied topics from favorite travel destinations to the current state of world affairs. Juan Carlos greeted us at breakfast the next day and briefly chatted on his way to work, teaching high school English. The house is beautifully decorated in soft cool colors that promote a relaxed sense of elegance while the bed promoted a relaxed night's sleep. Jordi gave us a peek at some of the other rooms and all were as well appointed as ours. We enjoyed our stay so much that we hope to be able to overnight on our way back to Barcelona. We have traveled to many places in the last forty years and we recommend a stay with Jordi and Juan Carlos. Try it and you'll be glad that you did.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCBartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
176 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Sadly, our experience was not like others at this B+B.

From the beginning when we met Juan Carlos who was quite cold, to the dog, Pipo, who never did warm up to us, we found the experience less than gratifying.

The kids wanted to go for a swim in the pool on our first night. Sadly, this was a large inconvenience for Juan Carlos. My son waited in his bathing suit in the dark and perhaps JC thought he was kidding as he did not turn on the lights for him. After coming downstairs, JC realized it was not a joke and suggested that the pool was dirty and too cold to swim in. So the pool was not used at all by my family. A shame, as the photos suggest it is very inviting.

The next day, Jordi met us for breakfast and was very warm. He was helpful to suggest where to spend our day and suggested we visit Girona, which we were going to skip. Great advice! We loved Girona and had a great day trip there, and travelled up the coast and spent a great day in the ocean. Cold, but easier access than the pool!

That night, we were in the backyard and saw six bicycles by the pool. We had hoped to be offered the opportunity to ride them, but never did see JC or Jordi until the next day when we were scheduled to leave.

Breakfasts were average, and there was a requirement to pay for coffee! We had not seen this on our entire tour of Italy and Spain. Highly unusual.

Difficult communication with the owners initially as they suggested they did not receive some emails and had sent confirmations. Finally, the wifi is on and off. Strangely, usually "on" during "business" hours. The owners suggested it was a city wide issue. I had good 3G coverage in the house though....

Beautiful house. Good for a one night stopover. Unless rest and relaxation is what you plan to do...,but maybe leave the swimsuit at home? It is 45 minutes to the coast. Pipo apparently loves some people and not others (despite the fact that we love dogs!). Would avoid multiple night stays. Assume no wifi. Travellers choice? Not for this family.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hortdesantcebria, Propietario at l'Hort de Sant Cebria, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
People who travel with children should consider the needs their youngest members when choosing accommodation. On our website we inform that our B&B has been designed for people looking for peace and quiet, for this reason we do not accept children under 12. In this case we made an exception because only one of the three children in the family was under this age....And we were wrong to do so!

The night of 7th April was cold and windy and we had the heating on at home. We were astonished when at 10:30 p.m. the youngest child (10 years old) appeared at our door asking us to turn on the pool lights to have a swim in it. We warned him that the pool was not very clean and the water might be very cold because it wasn't heated. Pressured by the attitude of the parents who allowed this embarrassing situation Juan Carlos turned on the lights after a few minutes. In the end, logically the child decided not to get in the pool (at 10 º C time seems eternal, even for a nude Canadian).

The next day at breakfast, Jordi proposed the guests possible activities for the day. As nobody in the family asked for bikes he forgot offering them. Unfortunately the family got interested in them at night, just when we were out shopping.

Of course the Nespresso coffee that we serve at breakfast is included in the room rate. These customers didn’t have to pay anything extra for it when we produced the bill. During the rest of the day you have to pay for this very good coffee, as in the café of any hotel.

Certainly communication for the booking was not easy with these guests. As we can’t afford to make phone calls to Canada if there isn’t a firm booking,18 days and several e-mails were necessary to know if they were coming or not and for how many days (they hesitated whether to go elsewhere).

The wifi in our house runs 24 hours a day. If clients have difficulty connecting (usually for reasons beyond our network) there are two computers in the living room with free internet permanently at their disposal.

Any person seeking Torroella de Fluvia’s location will see that our village is situated 4km from the beach (less than 10 minutes’ drive).

Our dog PIpo has not been programmed to love unconditionally all our customers but he quickly becomes loving when stroked.

Definitely, this family chose the wrong place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sant Quintí de Mediona, Alt Penedès
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Everything since the beginning of our stay was unforgetable. The house, its decoration, the owners, their dog, the amazing breakfast with local food...We also recommend to book the dinner, that's home made with love by Jordi and Joan Carles, the owners.
The house has 5 rooms and a suite, perfectly decorated, deeply considering every detail to make you feel at home.
The common spaces are also lovely, including the garden and the pool area.
Let yourself be advised by Jordi and Joan Carles on the best places to eat and to visit, you will not regret.

Room Tip: Room 4 includes a jacuzzi, with a huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanFerrer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torroella de Fluvia
13.5 mi away
El Raco de Madremanya
El Raco de Madremanya
#1 of 2 in Madremanya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
10.5 mi away
Hotel Mas Lazuli
Hotel Mas Lazuli
#1 of 1 in Pau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
13.5 mi away
Can Bassa
Can Bassa
#2 of 2 in Madremanya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
24.2 mi away
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
#1 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to l'Hort de Sant Cebria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about l'Hort de Sant Cebria

Property: l'Hort de Sant Cebria
Address: Ctra. Sant Pere Pescador, 1, 17474 Girona Torroella de Fluvia, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Torroella de Fluvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Torroella de Fluvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your l'Hort de Sant Cebria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hort De Sant Cebria Spain/Torroella De Fluvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing