We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rural Idyll”
other travellers have booked this property
Traditional Gascogne style farmhouse with converted former stables and former Armagnac distillery.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional Gascogne style farmhouse with converted former stables and former Armagnac distillery.
Charming and relaxing, with old oak beams. Brand new infinity style pool with fantastic views of the valley.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Traditional Gascogne style farmhouse with converted former stables and former Armagnac distillery.
Charming and relaxing, with old oak beams.
Brand new infinity style pool with fantastic views of the valley.
Al Hambra.
Outside terraces and seating to enjoy warm gascon summer evenings
Each room has character and charm.
Two double master bedrooms.
Pizza Oven
Have Fun.
Large bedrooms.
Lots of space for the kids.
Down stairs bedroom with own terrace and bathroom.
Open plan kitchen/dining room.
Enjoy the sun shine inside and out with our open plan garden room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Saint-Pe-Saint-Simon, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard H
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Rural Idyll”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It is a fair old journey from Bergerac airport but it's worth it. This is surely rural France at its very best - beautiful, uncomercialised, peaceful, and relaxing. The gite had all the facilities we required and was comfortable, stylish and finished to a high standard. The British proprietors were friendly and helpful. What's not to like?

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
Thanks Richard - we are really pleased you also appreciate this beautiful area - We have tried our best to try and create 'a home from home' atmosphere in the Gites - We hope to see you again very soon. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
d m
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful country break!”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Spent 10 beautiful days here! Fantastic house - the owners welcomed us upon arrival and gave us useful information about the surrounding area.
We are able to visit a number of local towns, markets and summer festivals as well as spend days relaxing around the pool. The rental is in its own huge grounds and the countryside is beautiful so it was the perfect place to take a break.
We're already planning next year's trip with more friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and swimming pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Thanks for your review - we are so glad that you had a good time! Looking forward to seeing you all again next year - thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCCott77
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An idyllic holiday location”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This has to be one of the most inspiring and beautiful holiday locations we have ever stayed in. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and relaxed so much due to the excellent facilities and beautifully presented and very homely accommodation. The owners, Jillian and Matthew couldn't be more helpful and friendly during our stay- when can we come back?!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
hello - thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased you had a good holiday - we try our best to make our customers feel relaxed and we have spent a lot of time trying to make the Gites unique and homely. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we hope that you return again soon. Remember we offer a discount to our returning guests... thanks again, Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Pool!”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a good holiday in a beautiful area and the pool is a particularly attractive feature of this property but there are a few issues that we feel need some attention.

The shower screens in the bathrooms are just not long enough so that it is impossible to have a shower without soaking the bathroom floor every time, even with the water pressure turned down.

The downstairs loo has a transparent Perspex end wall and sliding door with a lace curtain. This caused several moments of embarrassment even though we were all related!

The washing machine is in the garage and is adequate but there are no drying facilities, apart from a folding rack which was not sufficient for 7 of us. We were welcome to use the owner’s line but it was often full of their own laundry. I know that not everyone does much laundry on holiday but as there was a full car and limited luggage space, we washed every day. Our own line or rotary dryer would have been helpful.

There is, indeed, a large selection of books but it seemed that at least two thirds are Dutch, presumably inherited from the previous owners. There is a good selection of board games and the children appreciated the Wii.

The gite is very spacious upstairs, although probably not ideal for very tall people, due to the sloping ceilings in the bedrooms. There is not a great deal of natural light in the bedrooms due to its conversion from a hayloft.

The main issue for us is that we felt that the downstairs area is not really large enough to comfortably accommodate the number of people who can actually sleep in the property. This is particularly evident in the kitchen.
As a large family who like cooking, we found the actual cooking/preparation area is extremely limited in size, particularly as you could be preparing food for up to 10.
Having looked at the photographs again, I don’t think that this area is shown. It is fine for breakfast, snacks etc but it was quite hard work cooking main meals for 7 every evening. If you eat out a lot this wouldn’t be a problem but, for our family, I would specifically check this issue in future accommodation.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Hello and thank you for your comments. We welcome feedback from all of our customers so that we can continually make improvements where needed. I would like to address some of things that you found to be an issue for you. The shower screens are standard fitted shower screens and are probably in thousands of homes. Our customers are usually happy with them, in fact they are pleased with the fact that there is an outside shower and the two showers over the bath - offering a wide choice of bathing opportunities. The 'transparent' glass that you mention is actually 'privacy glass' and is both frosted and bubbled ( with the addition of an extra net curtain) - again standard issue, privacy glass - probably in thousands of bathrooms. Once again I can only re- iterate that our many customers have not found this to be an issue for them. However, in light of your comment - we have replaced the net curtain with a standard curtain. The sloping ceilings are indeed an intrinsic feature of this beautiful barn conversion. We wanted to retain as much of the authentic charm of the building as possible. Our previous clients have told us that these qualities are what gives the Gite its unique, homely character.There are 'skylights' fitted in 2 of the bedrooms -flooding the rooms with natural light. In the ground floor bedroom we have one wall with floor to ceiling patio doors leading directly on to the sunlit terrace. There is only one bedroom that does not have a sky light - but has a small window. This was deliberate, as this is the only bedroom which faces South and our customers usually appreciate the fact that it keeps the room cool , even when the temperature outside is over 40 degrees...There are 30 English books in our collection and 35 French books, the rest are Dutch. We cater for an international client base and usually 30 books are sufficient for a 14 day stay - However we do continuously add to our collection. You are right, it is unusual for someone to do a lot of washing every day whilst on holiday - However, in light of your comments about sharing our washing line - we have discreetly put up a new washing line at the back of the Gite ( we have to be careful when placing washing lines as our other clients have come to appreciate the beautiful views and not to look at other peoples washing) The kitchen is 'open-plan' and works well for the majority of our customers. ( we have had wedding caterers and party planners utilise the facilities for much larger parties than yours - with no problems and complimentary feedback) The space in the Gite ( all 170 meters squared) is usually sufficient for our customers and is usually well received ( the 3 sofas, 3 armchairs , 2 floor cushions and large dining room table) in addition with the outside private and very pretty, courtyard garden has seating for 12 and a barbQ and is normally well appreciated. We believe Al hambra offers excellent value for money for the number of people it accommodates. ( there are a limited amount of larger Gites in our area - especially at such a competitive rate) We are so sorry that you did not seem to appreciate it as much as our other guests. Its a shame, but sometimes large extended family groups have very specific and unique needs which( judging from our previous excellent reviews) we are usually more than able to accommodate. We believe our previous reviews speak for themselves. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and pool
Liked least: No washing machine for our visit
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mrslaybou...
Haslemere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what I needed”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Simply wonderful fortnight here with three generations all enjoying something different. Despite sharing the space with the owners and other guests, it proved to be a totally stress free stay. Matthew and Jillian were wonderful hosts, and our children firm friends throughout our stay.

I could have stayed another week and would go back in a heartbeat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing