We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ten Bompas
Nearby Hotels
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$224
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Capital on Bath(Johannesburg)
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$146
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
US$242
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
92
20
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
20
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary mini barwine pairingsteam bathboutique hotelbottle of champagne on icefree laundryprivate balconyan amazing hotelsitting roomsmall conferencespacious suitedelicious dinnerprior to our arrivalevery amenityeach eveningnespresso machinean oasis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night in May following a lengthy amount of time on the road in Africa. While it was a little above our budget, we decided to splurge and I'm so glad we did! This boutique hotel is lovely - great food, spacious rooms, excellent facilities - but what sets it apart is the service. Attentive, personable, friendly staff made our stay here one to remember, even if was just 24 hours. The free laundry, wifi, mini bar, transfers, champagne, etc; here you really feel the commitment to great service and this for us, was what we really appreciated above all else.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombat1, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Adam, thank you so much for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Ten Bompas. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel but even more at your comment that it was the staff at the hotel who made the difference to your stay. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us hope to see you again at Ten Bompas. Peter Aucamp and the Ten Bompas team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Good hotel nice staff always ready to help makes sure a person is statisfeid with the good service givern

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jarrodbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombat1, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Jarrodbaby

Thank you so much for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor. Fantastic that you enjoyed your stay with us - we hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the future. Kind regards Peter Aucamp and the rest of the team at Ten Bompas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Everything about this hotel is superb, the location, the quality of sleep, the cleanliness, the service, the space, the small size, the fantastic armosphere, the wifi, the gardens and outdoor dining in the very beautiful gardens and especially the food. There are no other hotels in Johannesburg that offer all of this together. A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evershot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombat1, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

We are humbled by this wonderful review of our small hotel. We hope to keep it up to this standard. Thank you so much, Peter and the rest of the team at Ten Bompas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is an amazing hotel. A genuine oasis within the hustle and bustle of Jo'Burg.

All the large rooms are very tastefully and individually decorated. There's wi fi and a complimentary mini bar and laundry service too (Yes, you did read that right!). Large comfy beds and plenty of room as well.

Staff are super helpful. Sides restaurant has great food and there's lots of good wines too.

I stayed on business, but would recommend Ten Bompas to anyone visiting Jo'Burg.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moody79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombat1, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Moody 79 - we are delighted that you enjoyed Ten Bompas and that it offered a peaceful environment. We have taken note of what you like about the hotel and intend to continue to ensure that it provides a home away from home to the pressured business guest! Hopefully we can look forward to your next visit! Peter Aucamp and the rest of the team at Ten Bompas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here for a weekend in May 2011. The service was very friendly and professional and made you feel welcome from the very beginning.

The suite we had was amazing, with lots of thoughtful touches such as ipod dock, fireplace, open bar, complimentary canapes and champagne. The fire was a little tricky to work out though, and the room was a bit too cold.

We had dinner and 2 breakfasts at the restaurant which were absolutely fantastic.

The grounds itself were well maintained but nothing very special.

This hotel is a nice alternative from a larger place, with the personal touch and a few eclectic features that make it memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wombat1, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We have now added a vegetable and herb garden which we hope you will visit. We hope to see you again! Warmest regards Peter Aucamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews