We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ten Bompas
Nearby Hotels
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Capital on Bath(Johannesburg)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
94
20
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
20
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary mini barwine pairingsteam bathboutique hotelbottle of champagne on icefree laundryprivate balconyan amazing hotelsitting roomsmall conferencespacious suitedelicious dinnerprior to our arrivalevery amenityeach eveningnespresso machinean oasis
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I've mostly thought of Jo'burg as a transfer point to other parts of Africa. A place to spend the night before moving on. And, after 24 hrs of travel, the overwhelming desire was to rid yourself of the airplane-infused clothes, get a steaming hot shower, devour some comfort food, cocoon yourself in a warm place, and lay your head on a sublime pillow and bed. Ten Bompas was this and more. Its welcoming attitude was readily apparent through it's metal gate--you could see through it, as opposed to the high walls that predominate. And inside? You're greeted with warmth for your soul and tummy. An especially wonderful combination for a weary and wary traveler.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rico V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Rico, thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted that you found the hotel comfortable and welcoming. We hope to see you again, warmest regards Peter Aucamp and the team at Ten Bompas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 May 2014

There is no shortage of great accommodation in Johannesburg but choosing the right location is key is you do not wish to spend to much time in traffic.
If you are looking for a boutique hotel that's well situated, quirky, with spacious suites and attentive service then Ten Bompas just might be your perfect home away from home.
The all-suite hotel and restaurant is part of the distinguished Design Hotels portfolio and flies a little under radar. It is situated in a garden setting in the upmarket neighbourhood of Dunkeld - close to the business and entertainment hubs of Rosebank, Hyde Park and Sandton but a little oasis of calm.
The suites are super chic; combining contemporary style with space and light. Suites have lounges, fireplaces, steam baths, high-speed wi-fi, multi-channel satellite television, iPod deck and music system, Nespresso machines, and complimentary laundry, minibar and newspapers.
Each was styled by a different designer and leads on to a private terrace or garden.
The public areas have an Art Deco vibe and security is low key, but very effective while the hotel's Winehouse restaurant is eclectic and inspired by a painting of Amy Winehouse by Joanna Flatau a Polish-born artist living in Paris.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benoni100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Greetings Benoni100, we were completely taken aback at your wonderful review of Ten Bompas. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and privileged to feature so well in your comments. You remind us of the high standard that we need to maintain. Thank you so much and we hope to have the opportunity of seeing you again at Ten Bompas. Best regards Peter, Danie and all of us at Ten Bompas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Danie Potgieter runs this hotel with passion. His attention to detail is apparent throughout. There is a fairly recent addition of a conference centre and an up and coming vegetable garden. Organic, I think. The food is wonderful (fattening??) and delicious. Excellent pleasant service and things just work. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Gilda, thank you for sharing your feedback on Ten Bompas. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and appreciate your mentioning Danie Potgieter who has been running Ten Bompas so well for so many years. As you mention, Space our new conference and function venue is now open (all the messy building work behind us!). We have added a worm farm alongside the vegetable garden and have brought in large rainwater tanks for our veggies and gardens - looking forward to having a more organic offering! Warmest regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

From the speedy reservation to the friendly reception, this one night stay was a special experience as their attention to detail made a huge difference. The spacious Suite Nine with private balcony was clean comfortable and we received complimentary sparkling wine and note to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Staff was friendly professional without being annoying, we felt welcome. Highly recommended for a peaceful stay away from the CBD areas.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Karien l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterAucamp, Owner at Ten Bompas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Karien, thank you for this feedback and for choosing to spend your anniversary at Ten Bompas, we were delighted to have you and your husband stay at Ten Bompas. Warmest regards from all of us at Ten Bompas, Peter Aucamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews