We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$148
US$120
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$89
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Pines Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
US$805
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Schuur(Vermont)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,100)
Filter reviews
1,100 results
Traveller rating
1,002
79
13
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,002
79
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattention to detailweather reportoyster roomguest loungeguest houseb bupstairs loungeturn down servicefresh flowerslittle touchesdinner reservationsbooking restaurantssea viewstunning locationowners and staffwhale watchingrestaurant recommendations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 1,100 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Recommended by some friends we booked a room in this guesthouse close to the famous Hemel en Aarde valley where we planned to visit a number of wineries. Knowing that we might arrive late, the manager Belinda already made some reservations at one of the excellent restaurants in the surroundings of Hermanus. Furthermore she was more than helpful to direct us to the wineries, beaches and to make timely reservations at the other restaurants - casual and chic - for lunch and dinner. Just trust Belinda’s choice because she knows what she is talking about. We had a beautiful room overlooking the coast and every morning looking forward to the well prepared and exquisite breakfast that the guesthouse offered. All in all we had an excellent stay and complements to the team at the 138 at the Kusroad.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had the best view over the ocean. The two, three others less what I heard form the other guests, so reassure what you will get.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lex195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

138 Marine was the perfect place to stay in such a gorgeous place! After ten months of traveling, it was the perfect way to spend our last few days. The house is absolutely gorgeous, and all the rooms are beautifully decorated and unique. I loved the heated floors in the rooms and bathrooms as well. The manager, Belinda, was beyond helpful. She made dinner reservations for us every night and had an answer and/or map for everything :) She also directed us to some excellent wineries and booked our whale watching excursion for us. The breakfast each morning was delicious and huge! It was lovely to be able to enjoy the view of the ocean over breakfast first thing each morning. The second floor had a great shared area to relax and a great balcony overlooking the water. I can't say enough good things about 138 Marine. I'll definitely visit again whenever I'm in Hermanus!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is an outstanding B&B in almost every respect. We were warmly welcomed and every need was accomodated before we even addressed it, e.g. arrangement of trips, restaurant bookings etc. From most of the rooms you have an astonishing view over the ocean, you are free to use the cosy lounge equipped with a fireplace, excellent breakfast (liked the daily special in particular), .... We just had a wonderful time staying @Marine. Thank you again! Love to visit you again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank schach12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

What started out as a birthday weekend away – turned into a marriage proposal and many more great memories. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

Your friendly staff, excellent rooms and gorgeous view truly took our breath away.

Kind regards, Patsy and Zipho

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a 4 star B&B but it should be 5 star in our opinion!
My mom and I travelled around the Cape this holiday and stayed in various B&B's and hotels and this was by far the best accommodation as it was right across the road from the ocean in a very quiet street. We had a beautiful view from our bedroom over the ocean.
The service was excellent and the attention to detail made this B&B so special. Belinda was so helpful and she was always available till late at night to help and to advise. The room was beautifully and very tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean. THe beds are very comfortable and highest quality linen is used. It was quite cold when we were there, but we did not even feel the cold as we had underfloor heating in the bedroom and bathroom. When our bedroom was turned down in the evenings, you receive a chocolate and a detailed weather forecast for the next day to plan your activities. We also had access to the beautiful sitting room on the top floor with a 180 degree sea view as well as mountain view where we could watch the sunset whilst enjoying post or sherry on the house! Belinda also offered to light the fire place for us which we could enjoy in the evenings whilst looking through some of their beautiful books.
The breakfasts were delicious, fresh and beautifully presented event morning and tables were arranged so that everyone faces the ocean! This was very a lovely touch. Staff were very friendly and very helpful at all times.

We highly recommend this B&B and would definitely return again!

Room Tip: Ask for the two larger rooms with full sea view in the front. The Oyster room at the top is the best room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews