We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family break”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Talland, Looe, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LJN124
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic family break”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed with a friend and her children. The house was fantastically equipped, very spacious and clean. The pool was great, just what the children wanted. Beds comfortable - if only the children had slept in we'd have been really lazy. Probably the nicest self catering place we've stopped at and good for 2 families to go together (as long as the children get on! - ours did)
We'd definitely go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the accomidation
Liked least: The wind!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2013
Hi there,

we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate the lovely feedback. It's so nice to hear such positive comments.

We hope we'll see you again some time soon,

Kind Regards,

The Bay Talland team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve Y
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely modern holiday house”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Except for center parcs we never go back to the same place ... Until we stumbled upon this place in Talland Bay. We are a family with a 6 year old boy and a 7 year old girl, who loved their bunk beds, daily swims and exploring the rock pools at the beach.

It has everything you need in a holiday house and is beautifully presented; Two balconies for a bit of sun, lovely hot tub, wifi, wii for the kids, tumble drier for your towels after a morning swim, indoor swimming pool, on the coastal path for nice walks and a short (but steep) walk to the beach for the kids.

The people who run "the bay" are very friendly and just cannot do enough to make your stay great, including tips for places to eat, booking tables for you, tips on places to crab etc...

The finish of the property and the furniture / appliances are all top of the range and it is fitted with everything your need from corn on the cob holders to champagne buckets.

This place is perfect for couples, groups and families. However I could not recommend it for people with mobility difficulties due to the amount of steps and it's location on the hill.

I am sure we will return soon as this has to be one of the best holiday properties in the UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Distance to the beach and the walk to polperro
Liked least: Gradient of the road or coastal path on return from a long day on the beach
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2013
Hi there,

we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate the lovely feedback. It's so nice to hear such positive comments and great to know your kids enjoyed it too.

You're right that the hill side properties do have a few steps up to them. However we do have many other properties on site that can be booked for people with restricted mobility. We can always advise on the suitability of a property for a group's specific needs.

We hope we'll see you in Talland again soon,

Kind Regards,

The Bay Talland team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apache574...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in April 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Really delightful holiday accommodation, beautifully equipped. We enjoyed sitting on the rear balcony in the morning because it is so sunny and has sea views, in the afternoon it is lovely and sunny on the front balcony. Of an evening there is the hot tub to enjoy, ideal for children to enjoy. The DVD collection was considerable with plenty of games and books. Lovely big sitting room for relaxation, with a wood burning stove if desired. There is a lovely indoor swimming pool on site. We would highly recommend the coastal path which is close to the property for walking into Polperro or in the opposite direction, Looe. There is a lovely sandy beach at Talland Bay, easily accessible, and a lovely beach café. Altogether a holiday to remember and can't be faulted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The total beauty of the area,particularly the bay itself.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, it's always great to receive such positive comments.

We love our easily accessible coastal path, which is the start of many adventures for a lot of our guests.

We're glad you had a lovely stay,
and we hope to see you back at Talland soon,

Kind Regards,

The Bay Talland team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert B
Tadley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it, will be back.”
Reviewed 3 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed in house 27 for our summer holiday this year and were very impressed with everything on offer.
We tried to avoid the typical holiday park this year and went for something that we thought would suit the adults more than the children!. Although there is no evening entertainment per say our children of 7,5 & 3 were never bored. The swimming pool got more than its fair share of use and the house facilities were top notch.
The weather for our week wasn't great but this only lead us to use the house more. It had a fully stocked DVD and wii selection. The kitchen was great with great views over the complex and out to sea at the rear.
Stuart and Lynne are doing a great job. The scones on arrival, cleanliness of the house, hot tub etc all made for a great week. The coffees and croissants that are available from the bar in the morning are a nice touch as well.
The beach is a short but steep walk, both elder kids walked down and up, but we chose the road way as the cliff path, although stunning, wasn't so good for a pushchair. The evening BBQ at the smugglers rest was great and there is a really good local shop approx 10mins drive away.
Lynne has some great plans that will make it even better for families and we will be back to try these out!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Site appearance and cleanliness
Liked least: Steps, but on a hill, so unavoidable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2013
Hi there

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback, it's always great to hear such good comments.

The Smuggler's BBQ is a favourite with all our guests (and us) we hope we'll see you back again to enjoy our new kids indoor play area.

Kind Regards,

The Bay Talland team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing