We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to relax”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Munroe Island, Kollam District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Japanese first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Marija T
1 review
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The homestay is in a very calm and beautifull location, air is very fresh and the host is perfecly friendly and helpfull. The host can arrange a very nice boat trip, home made deliciuos food is also available as well as show around. The place highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika-Jay...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in the perfect location”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Vishnu was great right from the start- helping us to get from Kochi to Munroe Island, guiding us around the village during our stay and helping us find onward travel.
The sunrise canoe trip is a must (and good value at 450 per person) and Vishnu's mother's cooking is the best.
There are bikes available to use for free throughout the day- which is another good way to see the village.

The room is really nice- feels really new and clean.
There's only one guest room and Vishnu and his mother go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I'd definitely recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Thanks for staying couple of days my homestay thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahb072
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly village life ”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We loved staying with Vishnu and his family! Vishnu is a great host and went out his way to help us with anything we needed. He gave us a sunrise tour of the local backwaters and it was great to see how village life works.

His mothers food is delicious, and the room is comfy, clean and spacious for two people.

Thanks Vishnu! Hopefully see you again soon! Sarah and Josh :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lopezzapi...
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Backwaters stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful experience to get to know the backwaters and the people living there. We stay two nights at vishnu's Home Stay and also have a canoe travell with him, he explains all about the island and the lifestyle there. We eat the excellent food that her mother cooked. Thay also have bycicles available. All the family is really friendly :De

We think is the best way to visit the backwaters, much more better experience and much moore cheaper than getting a hauseboat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNaviva
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant boatride”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Vishnu is very knowledgeable about the area, and speaks very good English which is great considering there is a lot to learn about Monroe Island. His mother is very nice and they welcomed us into their home with welcome arms. Would recommend to anyone wishing to stay in a place a bit off the beaten path.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2017
Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andylux12...
1 review
“Don't miss Monroe Island!”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This homestay is a really beautiful place. We stayed for a couple of days, had a very relaxing time at Vishnu and bis family place. Everybody was so friendly and his mom were cooking amazing delicious Indian food. Soooo yummy... We made a sunrise canoe Tour with Vishnu, which was brillant. We loved our little house directly at the canal. Very clean and lots of space. Thank you Vishnu for everything & all the good talk on our terrace. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2017
Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cicliced
Kollam, India
1 review
“Friendly, peaceful, clean”
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Vishnu and his family are great hosts, very friendly, clean bedroom and bathroom. Location away from roads and in amongst the backwaters. Sunrise canoe tour recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2017
Thanks for staying couple of days my homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing