We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very relaxing stay right in the heart of the...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Munroe Island, Kollam District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Japanese first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
eddymaya
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
704 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay right in the heart of the beautiful backwaters ”
Reviewed 6 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at this little homestay on Munroe Island. It's an ideal place to kick back and take it easy for a couple of days right in heart of the beautiful backwaters. Vishnu is an excellent host and makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive. He is a really affable guy who speaks excellent English and we really enjoyed spending time with him & his family. Although his mother doesn't speak much English, she is a very good cook so you can count on having plenty of delicious home-cooked food during your stay. We particularly enjoyed the fresh crabs she prepared on our final night.

The guestrooms are modern and comfortable. There are mosquito nets, though we didn't feel the need to use them as there aren't too many troublesome bugs around. Each room also has a veranda with wicker chairs so you can sit outside watching the birds and enjoying the tranquility. There is no hot water on tap but don't let that put you off as Vishnu's mother is happy to provide a steaming hot bucketful on request so you can take an Indian-style bath.

Vishnu also runs very reasonably priced sunrise and sunset canoe trips for his guests. I'd highly recommend going on both trips as they are very different experiences. He's also happy to provide walking tours. Although we didn't take one, other guests who did told us they were very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2017
Dear maya thanks for your valuable time stay in my homestay and next year came back my homestay and stay more days
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 2 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed 3 days there and everything was perfect: the room, location in the backwaters and warm welcome from Vishnu and his whole family. Food was also top quality and tasty. They arranged a lovely canoe tour and we discovered the island as locals with Vishnu. Many thanks, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2017
Thanks for staying my homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesS2...
1 review
“Peace found”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I am in my fourth week at Munroe nest. A family run shaven of peace. Sitting on my veranda opposite a small tidal canal I watch birds squirrels and domestic animals and the passing tourist board.

My accommodation is a large bedroom with queen bed a wet room with shower hand basin and western toilet. Nicely tiled.food is excellent and beer is available

Village shops including a chemist are 500 yrs away. A local Taylor works his ancient treadle machine producing made to measure shirts for around £4.

Local cottage industry welcomes visitors to look round

Take more than a couple of days. It's fabulous

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2017
thanks for staying my homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamd0bbs
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“What an incredible experience!!”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed with Vishnu and his wonderful family for 2 nights, it was an incredible experience - everything from the warm greeting to the beautifully cooked home food was amazing.
The room was spacious, well equipped and clean. Situated in the peaceful backwaters. It was the pertect space to relax. We enjoyed vishnus early morning canoe tour where we were able to visit the cashew factory, and learn all about munroe island which Vishnu is so proud of. We can see why!
Thank you Vishnu and family, especially for the wonderful food and kindness, we shall miss you. You are always welcome in England!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
thanks for staying my homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kobilavy
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A true heaven for your quiet vacation”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This homestay is simply magnificent.
We stayed here for 2 nights.
The room is compy, big bed. Right next to the canal in the middle of a tropical forest with coco nut trees and birds from many kinds.
The peace and quiet of this place is unforgetable.
You just have to sit down, relax and do absolutely nothing but that.

Vishnu, the host, is a wonderful man. Speaks very good English and is there to assist you in any question or trouble you have and always with a charming smile.
Diner is made by Vishnu's mom - who is an excellent cook. We had grilled fish for Diner and it was delicious.

The top of the icing in our visit was a canal tour Vishnu offered to take us. 3 hours of pure joy. He told us about the culture of the place, their customs. Explained to us what we saw on the way. He even sang songs in Indian. Not to be missed!!!

We had a great time and if ever we're around again we'll definitely come back here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2017
thanks for staying my homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaigeY56
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Munroe MUST STAY”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Wow! We showed up at Munroe Nest Homestay at 7pm without a booking, hoping for the best. Vishnu and his family were very happy to accommodate us and prepared us a room very quickly. The huts are one of a kind; right in front of the canal, where we sat out on the porch watching the canoes go by.

Our stay at Vishnu's Homestay was truly relaxing. His Mother and Nieces were very friendly and made us laugh many times during our stay. The food prepared by Vishnu's Mother was incredible - homemade Keralan food at it's finest and we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner here throughout. They also let us use their bicycles, which we loved riding around the island!

We went on Vishnu's brilliant sunrise canoe tour. Vishnu is very proud of his island and knows a lot about the history of the island. We had lots of fun on our tour and got to see the villagers at work: fishing, collecting mud from the bottom of the lake, and watch women making rope (made 100% out of coconut fibre). A truly wonderful experience and the best time for a canoe tour!

To make our day even better, Vishnu invited us to watch him train for the annual canoe race (snake race). We have never laughed more in our lives as he took a bit of a tumble into the lake right in front of us!

This Homestay is definitely a MUST STAY. Great people, great location and great food! Thank you Vishnu for everything you have done for us. We really enjoyed our stay and our many chats. We learnt a lot from you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
Thanks for staying my homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacatione...
1 review
“Wonderful place and nice people...”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Its amazing place to enjoy. nice weather and locations are peaks. and vishnu is a nice person who can takes more care about visitors. and her mom is very nice person, she prepares nice tasty food. Its very good place for relaxation.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
thanks for staying my homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing