We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Munroe Island, Kollam District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Japanese first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Jen_and_N...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 10 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had 2 wonderful days staying with Vishnu and his family at Munroe Nest. The home stay is a peaceful area of Munroe Island next to a small canal. Quiet, relaxing and with lots of wild birds flying around. Vishnu is a fantastic host, kind, mild mannered and speaks excellent English. He offers great canal tours at sunrise and sunset where he punts you around the beautiful backwaters and tells you about th Island. He also has bikes you can use to explore the island. His mothers cooking is fantastic and the rooms are very nice too. I would highly recommend a stay here to slow the pace down and relax in a beautiful setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2018
Thanks for staying my homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal Po...
1 review
“Fantastic and beautiful Backwater homestay, with a splendid Boat tour and delicious Food,”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The Munroe Island nest is a clean and very beautiful placed house with e very friendly owner that also is a good boat captain on his local backwater boat. He also is a guide with lots of good information. The house is very clean and the family makes delicious vegetarian meals. No traffic and peaceful atmosphere and clean air, and no musquitos, make it a teriffic place to stay. We would have liked to stay longer. Thank you Vishnu!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2018
Thanks pascal staying my homestay and good reviews
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raappu
Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Relaxing stay with great vegetarian food”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Firstly, I need to say I'm not sure if this is the place we stayed at. The lovely lady there told us to leave a review at Munroe Nest, but the photos look like the place next door, yet I'm not sure whether the two are connected somehow.

At any rate, we very much enjoyed our stay and the owner's wife was there to provide great customer service and prepare nutritious and delicious vegetarian meals.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for staying my homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ofir R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect place to chill”
Reviewed 13 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The place is amazing and tranquil. Vishnu is realy nice and helpful. Highly recomended!! Dont miss the canoning

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2017
Thanks for staying and make a good friendship
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eddymaya
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
614 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Very relaxing stay right in the heart of the beautiful backwaters ”
Reviewed 6 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at this little homestay on Munroe Island. It's an ideal place to kick back and take it easy for a couple of days right in heart of the beautiful backwaters. Vishnu is an excellent host and makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive. He is a really affable guy who speaks excellent English and we really enjoyed spending time with him & his family. Although his mother doesn't speak much English, she is a very good cook so you can count on having plenty of delicious home-cooked food during your stay. We particularly enjoyed the fresh crabs she prepared on our final night.

The guestrooms are modern and comfortable. There are mosquito nets, though we didn't feel the need to use them as there aren't too many troublesome bugs around. Each room also has a veranda with wicker chairs so you can sit outside watching the birds and enjoying the tranquility. There is no hot water on tap but don't let that put you off as Vishnu's mother is happy to provide a steaming hot bucketful on request so you can take an Indian-style bath.

Vishnu also runs very reasonably priced sunrise and sunset canoe trips for his guests. I'd highly recommend going on both trips as they are very different experiences. He's also happy to provide walking tours. Although we didn't take one, other guests who did told us they were very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2017
Dear maya thanks for your valuable time stay in my homestay and next year came back my homestay and stay more days
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 2 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed 3 days there and everything was perfect: the room, location in the backwaters and warm welcome from Vishnu and his whole family. Food was also top quality and tasty. They arranged a lovely canoe tour and we discovered the island as locals with Vishnu. Many thanks, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2017
Thanks for staying my homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles S
1 review
“Peace found”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I am in my fourth week at Munroe nest. A family run shaven of peace. Sitting on my veranda opposite a small tidal canal I watch birds squirrels and domestic animals and the passing tourist board.

My accommodation is a large bedroom with queen bed a wet room with shower hand basin and western toilet. Nicely tiled.food is excellent and beer is available

Village shops including a chemist are 500 yrs away. A local Taylor works his ancient treadle machine producing made to measure shirts for around £4.

Local cottage industry welcomes visitors to look round

Take more than a couple of days. It's fabulous

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2017
thanks for staying my homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing