We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your average Asian buffet. Good value”

JRC Global Buffet Wood Green
Ranked #4 of 4 Quick Bites in Wood Green
Price range: £8 - £24
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 September 2016

A huge choice of food, the hot food was pretty good overall, and the selection of desserts was nice, especially the chocolate fountain with marshamallow, which made my daughter very happy. The staff was friendly and helpful.

One thing though. We went to the sushi section and noticed there were small flies on the sushi. That really put us off. But the rest of the food was good.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mariannebajard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JRCGlobal, Manager at JRC Global Buffet Wood Green, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear mariannebajard,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience, thank you for the kind words on our variety of choice and customer service.
We are however, sorry to hear about the sushi section. This is something we take very seriously and will be raised further to the management team.

We hope to welcome another visit from you soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 138 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2016

Where to begin...

It was my nieces 4th birthday celebration. My family with over 20 members wrongfully decided to dine here.

Upon arrival we were told were not allowed to go in as all of our party wasn't there. We explained that some family members with little children were running late, they still wouldn't seat us until everybody had arrived, we had to stand outside the restaurant with a bunch of children aged between 6mths to 9yrs old.
Once 20 of us had arrived they allowed us in only to sit us at a table that doesn't accomodate 20+ people, when we had told them over an ago that we would be a large party 20+ and they assured us that we would be accommodated and that we wouldn't have needed a prior booking to do that.

Also whilst paying they refused to let one of the children eat for free, they were adamant that she didn't meet there 90cm height rule. She intact was under 90cm just so happened that that day she wore her hair in a cute little bun on top of her head which with a lot of hair like hers gave her "extra height"....Are you serious?!?!?!

We go to the bar and were greeted by two horrible, rude and hostile "Bartenders", The rudest service i've ever received.
Ordered some bottles of cider and a water and when i asked for a slice of lemon for the water the bartender rudely said we don't have any, so i said ok can i get a lime, he replied we don't have any.
So i asked in your entire restaurant, you don't have a lemon or a lime????
The other Bartender practically shouted at me that they didn't get their delivery today.

My poor mother and myself were struggling to carry our drinks to the table on trays. I had at least 5 bottles and 5 glasses on the most unstable trays ever, mo mother had about the same. Another customer who had TWO drinks on a tray was offered help by a member of staff who saw my poor mother struggling. Customer service my.....!!!!!
Absolutely despicable!!! To then add insult to injury the bartender threw the tray on the bar top which startled my mother and another customer who nearly spilled her drink because of the loud unnecessary thud and the fright.

Walking to go and get some food I slipped on something on the floor. A member of staff saw what happened and when i said i've just slipped and could've really hurt myself he shrugged and walked away.
Not one singular ounce of professionalism, inexcusable.

The birthday girl was ready to cut her birthday cake...A few relatives turned up late with their children As we were finished eating and just about to do cake and candles for the birthday girl. The manager would not let them in, he was adamant that they would have pay for two adults and two children just to watch a four year old blow out a candle. Absolutely outrageous.
My family and myself were outraged and completely shocked, no food was going to be consumed, were letting a little girl have her birthday song with all of her family, blow out her candles, take pictures and then be leaving.

That was the final straw...We packed up and left!!!
We Were forced to do so, so the birthday girl could be with her little cousins who had travelled a long way to see her and sing and blow candles out like any ordinary child does on the birthday...!
This part of her birthday had to be conducted outside of the restaurant!!!

I Have a few choice words that i would like to use but profanities are frowned upon so i will refrain from doing so.
FOOD MEDIOCRE AND PRETTY TASTELESS, CHOICE WAS DULL AND THE WORST STAFF IN RESTAURANT HISTORY!!!!!

AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Peri_Peri83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JRCGlobal, Manager at JRC Global Buffet Wood Green, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Peri_Peri83,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are so sorry to hear that your visit left you disappointed.
As we always look to improve, we will pass on your feedback to the management team.
If you would like to discuss your experience and the issues in more detail, please email us on customerservice@jrc-globalbuffet.com with the time, date and details of your visit.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I love this place. Been quite a few times and always come away very satisfied. Had a few family members from Ireland over and they can't wait to go again next visit.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank 134warrenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JRCGlobal, Manager at JRC Global Buffet Wood Green, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Warren M,

Thank you for leaving your kind review.
We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

The food is great and fresh and the staff is friendly.I just love the Tikka masala thai and other dishes that are sooo good!But I cannot give 5 stars because:the bathrooms should be more clean,the sushi has to be cold...not warm and the chef that is cooking on grill should have more attention to the scallops because every time they are undercooked and is a waste...But the food in general is very good!!!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank TaniaTodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JRCGlobal, Manager at JRC Global Buffet Wood Green, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear TaniaMimo,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.
As we always look to improve, we will pass your feedback regarding the dishes mentioned and the lavatories to management for further review.

We hope you will return soon, so that we can improve your opinion of us and aim to reach a 5* review.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Came here for the first time in July for my birthday and will be the last time to! From the moment I walked through the door the staff at reception were rude and unwelcoming! She was questioning why 2 of my friends would be turning up 10 minutes after us and insisted I rang them to hurry them up, this made me feel so uncomfortable!! They sat us at a table for 2 and said when my friends arrive they will push the tables together! (even though I had booked the table for FOUR!).

The staff were rude with a lot of attitude and were standing there basically over you with their arms crossed as if they were security guards! Very unnerving. Some of the staff were even playing on their phones! The thing that really topped this bad experience for me was that one of the chef's cooking the fresh food 'wolf whistled' at me as I passed and kept staring at me! VERY unprofessional and disgusting behaviour! DEFINITELY WILL NOT be returning here and would advise against it to anyone thinking of going!

Does not even deserve one star in my opinion!

Date of visit: July 2016
3  Thank Suzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JRCGlobal, Manager at JRC Global Buffet Wood Green, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear Suzy W
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, your feedback is appreciated.

We are very sorry to hear that our staff's behaviour put you off visiting us again. This is something we take very seriously and this has been raised with management for further review.
If you would like to discuss your visit and the issues in more detail, please email us on customerservice@jrc-globalbuffet.com with the time, date and details of your visit.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JRC Global Buffet Wood Green also viewed

 
Wembley, Greater London
 

Been to JRC Global Buffet Wood Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.