We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy and not worth the money spent”

JRC Global Buffet Wood Green
Ranked #4 of 4 Quick Bites in Wood Green
Price range: £8 - £24
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

The idea of an all you can eat buffet appealed to me a lot. I've been to this buffet years ago and enjoyed it, today was the first time I came to eat here in years. Upon arrival, the ambience and layout was modern and really nice. You have to pay before you eat, which means that on busy days there is quite a lot to wait. The staff were really friendly and if it wasn't for them being so nice, I would've given this place two stars. Being a Chinese food lover, I went straight for the Chinese food. The duck and the duck fried rice were both probably the best dishes out there. However, extremely greasy. The chicken amd sweetcorn soup had the consistency of snot and did not have a taste of chicken at all. There were Japanese options, however they were not available, unfortunately (they looked really interesting!). I had other food such as different chickens and beefs. Not too enjoyable other than the beef in black bean sauce. The availability of desserts were poor. Overall, food not good but the staff and the cleanliness makes up for it.

Date of visit: May 2018
3  Thank Emanuelabille
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

It's just a buffet in dirty wood green but they charge you like it was a posh place in central, so overpriced. Food was okay but nothing special, staff wasn't rude but was weird, very robotic, no smile or good evening, nothing. You have to go to the bar to be given tap water, what's the staff for then? It seems like they're just walking around your table to take your plate as soon as it seems to be empty enough, they don't even ask if they can take it even if you still have some food on it. Won't be going again

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank majanied
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Have visited many restaurants in Wood Green and always found queues of people outside this restaurant.

Decided to look at the website and was overwhelmed by the dishes offered and the price was very reasonable so decided to meet my sister in law with my daughter for a girlie lunch.

What a disappointment, firstly the staff were very moody and unwelcoming, no customer service. We went up to the buffet area to find lots of the dishes empty especially the Indian section.

We also found our table quite sticky so had to use wet wipes to clean it before we ate. The cutlery wasn’t entirely clean either.

Food was rather tasteless and we felt like there was no authentic flavour. The chicken was rubbery and dry and could have been cooked more.

When we visited the dessert counter, again it hadn’t been topped up. Then whilst waiting to serve something along came a waitress with a large chocolate cake which looked lovely but I’m afraid it wasn’t!

Won’t be visiting this place again.

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank nha29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

I will.nwver come back here again
queue will long and the hurdle you in like sheep's. you can not sit where you want. the treat you like a cattle..this is not the first time inhave been here but it will be the last. same old food nothing changes even the food you have to go up and wait ages to be cooked because there's only one chef to doe it takes ages. half of the meals half empty a d the drinks are cheap versions of fanta and coke like what. you buy from discounted shops. they have huge queues but yet they can not manage to teach a 4 star review because the food is crao

Date of visit: March 2018
5  Thank duppy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JRCRes, Public Relations Manager at JRC Global Buffet Wood Green, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Son s,

Thanks for your time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to know that you did not enjoy dining at our venue. Please accept our sincere apologies if your experience did not meet the expectations and your constructive feedback will pass onto branch management team for further improvement consideration.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We had a big group celebrating the birthdays of two babies. We had been allocated a group of tables pushed together against a wall. This meant that nearly half the people had to disrupt their neighbours to get in and out from the table. Just as well we knew each other. High chairs but not table room were provided for the babies, causing crowding and a trip hazard.
There is such a wide range of food that there is something for nearly everyone. As always there were a couple of dissenters.
Their policy of charging for adult or child portions according to height is a bit strange.
I tried grilled okra for the first time. Normally it is cooked in a rich or spicy sauce to give it flavour. Now I know why!
I was replete after three main courses, representing a starter, main and pudding. I had no intention of eating dessert but did have a little melon to refresh my palate.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank TimG706
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JRCRes, Public Relations Manager at JRC Global Buffet Wood Green, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Tim G,

Thanks for your good rating and we are glad to know you choose our restaurant to celebrate the birthdays! We do apologise for the inconvenience caused by the child policy but this is the common price standard which had been applied in the buffet industry for many years. We do hope to welcome you again in any special occasions!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JRC Global Buffet Wood Green also viewed

 
Wembley, Greater London
 

Been to JRC Global Buffet Wood Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.