We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa di Piazzano
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais La Corte dei Papi(La Dogana)(Great Value!)
US$420
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Oasi Neumann(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
I Capricci di Merion(Tuoro sul Trasimeno)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ospitalita Perusia(Tuoro sul Trasimeno)(Great Value!)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Villa Santa Margherita(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Marsili(Cortona)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Locanda i Grifi(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (795)
Filter reviews
796 results
Traveller rating
716
70
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
716
70
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking classtuscan countrysidejunior suiteour honeymoonowners and staffbeautiful hotelwine tastingour room was spaciousthe entire staffbeautiful groundsperfect placeminute drivespent nightsbottle of proseccowithout exceptioncypress treeshunting lodge
Filter
Updating list...
391 - 396 of 796 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here in late June-early July this year, our third time at this beautiful hotel. The owners, Alessandra Wimpole and her parents, are gracious and engaging hosts. They are bilingual, which is not surprising since Mr. Wimpole is Australian
The manicured grounds, shady terrace, and beautiful swimming pool, conspire to invite you to while away the hours, what the Italians call "il dolce di far niente." Our stay here this time was timed to see the Palio horse race in Siena, an unforgettable experience that is a must-see for anyone with an interest in Italian history.
We stayed in a our favorite room, Studio Passarini, which is a junior suite, the former study of the Medici Cardinal Passarini, who built this structure as his hunting lodge in the 15th century. It has a spectacular view of the rolling hills of the Tuscan countryside (actually, the hotel is just over the border in Umbria, about 10 minutes from the charming ancient Etruscan town of Cortona, not to be missed.
Their restaurant is excellent, and there are a number of other excellent restaurants nearby, including La Buccacia, Locanda del Molino, and Corte dei Papi. Their breakfast buffet is excellent and plentiful.
We wish we lived closer to Tuscany so we could stay at Villa di Piazzano on a regular basis.

Dave R
San Jose, California

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidR1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We will definitely be back! Villa di Piazzano is simply stunning. Upon check in you'll be charmed by the beautifully appointed Cardinal's 'Hunting Lodge' complete with knot garden and gorgeous swimming pool. However, you'll be delighted to know that the beds and bathrooms are completely modern and up to date. My husband is 6'5" and the king bed was incredibly comfortable. Even better, the shower in the newly remodeled Annex came straight down from the ceiling creating the sensation of being under a waterfall! Every single staff member was a delight and incredibly professional. The chef, Gabriela, cooks with only the freshest ingredients...whatever is in her garden...citrus, rosemary, bay leaf, fresh apricots. Tuscany on a plate! The Villa is just 10 minutes from the quaint town of Cortona. This allows one to be spontaneous and head into town for a walk, a meal or just a Gelato to end the day while hearing the nightly musicians in the town plazas or people watch as they walk by on their evening stroll. Plan on at least a few nights as a well deserved respite from museums, tours and tourists!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Limonaia Deluxe Suite which was newly remodeled, comfortable and with air conditioning.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Perfect, peaceful place to stay to enjoy wonderful Tuscany, especially after 2 days of the hustle & bustle of Rome!
Not the cheapest accommodation but worth every penny and you get what you pay for.
Beautiful hotel, full of character, though it seemed more like staying with a family than a hotel as so personal & friendly.
Everyone from the owner to the reception staff, to the waitresses, to the room maids made us feel welcome.
Rooms were delightful, beautifully furnished & decorated and very clean & well maintained.
We had a minor problem with our air conditioning leaking which was resolved the next day. Even though it caused us no problem and was resolved quickly, when we came to checkout, the cost of our first nights meal had been deducted which was a lovely gesture and by no means expected .
The food was wonderful and we enjoyed both breakfast and evening meal on the terrace overlooking the Tuscan hills. Truly wonderful experience.
If we visit the area again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molly07Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Villa di Piazzano is the perfect place to relax amidst understated elegance in Tuscany.
Every detail and aspect of the hotel is a model for excellence - the rooms, the toiletries, the sheets and pillows. The staff is extremely helpful in assisting with requests and had outstanding references for local tour guides who know authentic, hidden gems in the region. The restaurant service staff is superb. The chef de cuisine, Gabriella, is an incredible talent and her menu offers innovative preparations, well-balanced flavors and beautiful presentations. The pool and grounds are a wonderful pleasure for adults and children alike. If we could have bought the hotel or signed a lifetime lease, we would have. A visit to this historic residence is an amazing and authentic Italian experience that will last in our memory forever. Villa di Piazzano lives up to its fine reputation and promise for gracious hospitality in one of the most beautiful places on earth.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Next time we're in Tuscany we'll be staying here again. The property is as beautiful as many of the pictures on their website. Our room was large and comfortable. The entire facility was always clean and well maintained. Food and drinks excellent. The staff was welcoming and helpful. My wife said it was her favorite stay of all the places we've visited around the world--right out of the movies.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jAG013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews