We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best House we have ever rented!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Palmetto Bay, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Barb D
Smith
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best House we have ever rented!”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Our group of seven older adults enjoyed the Plantation House for two weeks. We all agreed it was the nicest house we have rented yet - and we have rented in Africa, Belize, Panama as well as in Canada.

The house has a huge open kitchen, dining, and living area. The master bedroom is also large - really a master suite. We loved the beautiful hardwood floors that really gave it the feeling of a "Plantation House." The kitchen was well stocked with everything you need for meal preparation.

As beautiful as the interior of the house was what really won us over was the wonderful outdoor space and Heather and Clay's hospitality. We enjoyed the deck, the barbeque, the pool, and the gazebo every single day. Every morning as we sipped our coffee the hummingbirds, woodpeckers, and even parrots visited the yard. Heather, Clay, and Heather's dad Bob, were just next door to answer any questions and help plan outings. They truly understand how to give their guests privacy, but are available to help when needed.

We loved the quietness of the area and walked on the beaches every day in perfect safety. We were often the only ones on the beach. The dock at the resort was perfect for our ocean swims. We went snorkelling nearby with Black Pearl Divers and really enjoyed the outing.

The Plantation House made a great base for exploring the island. We rented a van and explored the island from one end to the other.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor amenities.
Liked least: The access road
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladibus
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Ideal for a family retreat in the Caribbean”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Our family of 4 plus my mom stayed a week in the Plantation home in October. The house is splendid, luxurious, spacious, clean, air conditionned. You have everything on site to cook, play, sleep comfortably...etc (3 TVs, DVDs, board games, Wii). You can't see the neighboring houses nested in the jungle so it's very quiet. I guess the only noise we could hear was coming from our boys playing and jumping in the giant pool. I don't think you can find any negative point about this house. Sure it's on a remote place in a poor island so things happen, like power outage. It happened just once while we were there and lasted 5 mins. Within these 5min, Heather was there with an electric lamp for us. The owners live on the other side of the house (a duplex) and are very responsive to any of your needs. They are very respectful of your privacy too. They won't come in the pool if you're in it for example.
About remoteness it is 15 mins away from a paved road but the dirt road is in good condition. We rented a 4x4 SUV and that was a good thing to have.
About the activities at Palmetto bay, this is another story. There isn't much to do and we had the feeling that the place was running down. We had a great experience with the Black Pearl divers shop. They are coming from the nearby Pristine Bay resort and pick you up on the beach. It's very convenient. The beach at Palmetto is pretty but in a very "natural state" which means that the water is full of sea grass and you have to spray for sand flies and mosquitos on the beach. You can sea beautiful fishes everywhere though. The water is clear and seems very healthy.
We haven't tried much of the restaurant but the cocktails and snacks were really good though pricey. They don't give up on you easily since the place is almost always empty...

Overall the house was perfect for us and the way we like to spend vacations: away from the crowd with a lot of comfort. It was not a big deal to drive to other places on our daily activities. In fact with 1 dirt road heading South through the center of the island and another one heading West, Palmetto bay is well located to explore the island. The community is well maintained in terms of landscaping and it feels very safe. There is a guard at the entrance 24/7.
We had very relaxing vacations and Heather's house was a lot for it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, pool
Liked least: Run down Palmetto resort
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zak123456...
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“A Little Piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Loved our stay at this beautiful and immaculate house.We loved the pool and the dock on the beach. Heather and Clay were always there to answer our questions and help us when needed. We highly recommend this house and we would return in a heart beat.

Thank you very much for the unforgettable stay !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, beach, house, AC,
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and air conditioner
Liked least: had to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TravelDoc...
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is beautiful and comes with everything you need to enjoy your stay, just bring your bathing suit and you're ready to go! The property is well maintained, the beach is beautiful (on a busy day we saw 5 people max on the beach) and we had a blast walking a few steps each morning to gather fresh mangoes for breakfast. Heather and Clay do a fantastic job at being available for questions when needed and giving expert advice on everything from dining options to activities on the island. We booked a full-day island tour with Bob and after our 5 yo son got tired and cranky halfway through the tour, Bob was kind enough to let us split the tour up into two days, so we continued it the following day. Heather's boys would take our son around the property on a golf cart, by far his favorite vacation experience :-) !! Thank you all for a fantastic time, this was our first, but not our last time to Roatán!!!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded beach
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TN
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing