We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kitch76
Lincoln, United Kingdom

Good hotel in a beautiful location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jul 2021via mobile
Good location. Spacious room. Quality breakfast. Could do with updating doors which were loud when being closed. Friendly helpful staff. Lacks some of the finishing touches of other places. 200 yards from the beach which was ideal with incredible scenery around the whole area
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tide-out on Porth Beach - view from the hotel
£196
No prepayment needed
  • eDreams
    £196
  • Vio.com
    £196
  • StayForLong
0.3 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Hotel on approach up the hill
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £110
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
£129
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £129
  • Agoda.com
    £126
  • Trip.com
    £129
0.0 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
£115
  • Expedia.com
    £110
  • ZenHotels.com
    £90
  • Priceline
    £112
0.3 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tregarthen
£79
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £79
  • Agoda.com
    £79
  • Vio.com
    £79
0.3 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
£90
  • Priceline
    £95
  • Agoda.com
    £87
  • Expedia.com
    £100
0.4 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
£88
  • Expedia.com
    £88
  • ZenHotels.com
    £87
  • Agoda.com
    £88
0.4 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
£81
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £85
  • Hotels.com
    £78
  • Agoda.com
    £81
0.5 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Pool
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.5 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.4 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Porth
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveller rating
442
200
66
25
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
442
200
66
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porth beach lovely hotel no lift sea view cornish breakfast coastal path room was spotless breakfast was excellent a lovely stay villa newquay wowcher accommodation wedding dishwasher rachel cleaners
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 749 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2021

Difficult to find any negatives, very good value, clean rooms, fab breakfast, my 2nd visit. Would be nice to have in-house beauty treatments as had to visit another hotel for that but a minor point. About 30min walk to Newquay centre and about £9 for taxi. Ideal location for Lusty Glaze, only 5mins away.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank flyingpigsoffortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2021 via mobile

Overall experience was great, first impression was bad unfortunately. Our wait staff for breakfast were fantastic, cleaners lovely, reception staff friendly, sadly the barmaid who checked us in, Rachel, was very rude. She saw us coming through the doors with cases, was expecting us, according to reception who had called me, yet walked past us and let us go into the bar to stand and wait for her to return, without acknowledging us. When she did return she asked us are you here to check in? No, we brought our cases with us for a drink at the bar… just for clarity we didn’t say that, just thought it, we were polite and said yes we are. She then put the key down on the bar, said you’re room 16, first floor. No directions, no information, no smile… We had to ask which way would take us to our room. Everyone else we encountered in the hotel and in Newquay were so lovely. Rachel should not be working in hospitality, she gave us such a bad impression, which at least thankfully was redeemed by everyone else we encountered. All of other the hotel staff are great, and really shouldn’t be let down by one of their colleagues like this.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jasminecat08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy Kirton, Marketing at Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Thank you for your feedback and we were most concerned to hear of the poor welcome on arrival by one of our bar staff. We understand you arrived very late in the evening after a thirteen hour journey. When Rachael saw you, realising your room keys were not in the bar area, she rushed off to find them for you. It is unfortunate that she did not explain what she was doing.

Please accept our apologies that the welcome was not up to our usual high standards. To be fair Rachael has been with us for a couple of years and she is normally a happy and polite member of our team. The behaviour you describe is out of character but that said, it is unacceptable that any guest should feel let down by our service/welcome and we are very sorry you felt this way. Please be advised we have taken the matter up with the staff member concerned to ensure this situation does not arise again.

We pride ourselves in offering a warm, friendly, professional service where customer service is of paramount importance. We are comforted by your acknowledgement that this was an isolated event and all other hotel staff were welcoming.

Once again please accept our apologies and hoping that you decide to return another time, we look forward to welcoming you and proving to you that without exception all our staff are amazing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2021

We found out by chance a few days before our stay that the restaurant was closed for dinner. This meant that we could not find an alternative hotel or book any reservations in local restaurants. We ended up having to scramble around each day trying to find somewhere reasonable to eat. We ended up having to travel several miles on four nights, using McDonald’s on 2 nights and Tesco express sandwiches on one night. I recognise that the pandemic has caused many problems but we paid £167 per night for an average B&B. Best Western and the hotel should have been totally transparent on the product they were offering. They were the exact opposite of this. I went to Cornwall to relive childhood memories. The experience was spoiled because of the dishonesty of the supplier.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank O6985ENmichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy Kirton, Marketing at Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2021

Thank you for your feedback and we are concerned by your your comments but we can only reiterate the comments that we made in the other review site that you have used. We are very sorry that it has been necessary for us to keep the restaurant closed in the evenings until further notice. This was a very difficult decision we had to make and it was only made shortly before re-opening the hotel at the end of May. The reason is directly related to Covid and compounded by a severe shortage of staff in the hospitality industry and particularly in the South West. We have been trying for a long period of time to employ chefs to cover evening service both via direct advertising and through employment agencies, but without success. It’s interesting to note that there are two highly reputable hotels in the area which have had to make the decision to only service Continental breakfast in guest bedrooms as they simply do not have the staff. Fortunately we have a full kitchen team for mornings so our breakfast service has been unaffected.

We note that you booked on a bed and breakfast basis and did not pre-book any evening meas. We are genuinely sorry that the lack of restaurant was such a disappointment to you and ended up causing inconvenience as you did not secure dinner restaurants in advance, which is what we recommend to all guests in the pre-arrival email. Until your communication we had not heard of guests being unable to get booked into restaurants but we now believe this may be as a result of local restaurants reducing the number of covers due to the pandemic.

When you contacted us and became aware of the restaurant being closed in the evenings we offered to send you a link to our web-page recommending restaurants but you declined. We had understood you wanted to make your own arrangements.

We are living through difficult times with the pandemic and we have kept our website up to date and edite amenities we offer so they are current. Similarly we have updated Best Western at all times. It would appear that our closing of the restaurant in the evening only became an issue when you had difficulty getting into local restaurants at short notice.

From our earlier communications it does appear you were not suited to Porth Veor Manor and we are genuinely sorry but it is totally unfair to claim we are dishonest as this is blatently untrue and defamatory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2021 via mobile

Room 15 was amazing had everything and more that I required this is a single room but very comfortable .fantastic cooked breakfast which very fresh with no grease at all .this hotel is a hidden gem with a path into town and onto the beach .I loved porth and prefer to Newquay .sadly the hotel did not offer evening meal but I knew that when booked that was a shame but I understand .Newquay lacks good reasonable restaurants unfortunately so getting a decent meal was a chore .to sum it up I loved my stay and can’t fault the hotel or location thankyou so much

Room tip: 56 bus from airport to porth was 2.50 a bargain as taxis are expensive
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
4  Thank Explorer9706
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy Kirton, Marketing at Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2021

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We will be delighted to share this with the team who work so hard behind the scenes, particularly in the current times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

What a great place, room was absolutely delightful, staff amazing from reception Ellie and Anne Marie, breakfast was served to the top standard thanks to Mark and Greg. Called into the bar, all I can say is thank you to the amazing bar person Rachel could not be more helpful, nothing was too much trouble, so helpful. All I can say is a personal thank you to her. I would like to thank all the staff cleaners as well whom I don’t know their names, so pleasant. This place is an absolute dream to stay at. I could recommend this place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 4seanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews