We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
£159
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£139
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Anthony S

Cancelled booking

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Aug 2021via mobile
Cancelled our paid for booking a few days before our stay with no explanation just an email which could have so easily been missed. On boardmasters weekend as well leaving us with no available accommodation to find. The worst customer service I have ever received.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tide-out on Porth Beach - view from the hotel
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
0.3 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
£81
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £90
  • Lol.travel
  • ZenHotels.com
    £87
0.2 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £159
  • Agoda.com
    £139
  • Expedia.com
    £159
0.0 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £165
  • Hotels.com
    £165
0.2 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£115
  • Agoda.com
    £115
0.4 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £246
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£90
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £100
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£90
  • Tripadvisor
    £90
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £90
0.4 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£76
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £80
  • Expedia.com
    £80
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Pool
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.5 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Porth
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
438
200
66
25
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
438
200
66
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porth beach lovely hotel no lift sea view cornish breakfast coastal path room was spotless breakfast was excellent a lovely stay villa newquay wowcher accommodation wedding dishwasher rachel cleaners
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

A lovely hotel overlooking Porth beach, serving fabulous breakfast and benefiting from a heated outdoor pool. We stayed a few nights in a family room on the top floor (no lift) which meant it did retain some heat on the warmer days. The room decor was exactly as per the website with a super-king bed, bunks and a newly fitted shower room including a really nice powerful shower. Parking was always available free on-site.

Friendly efficient check-in, newly decorated reception/lobby area. The dining room, with 2 sides a conservatory is the show piece brightly decorated in contemporary white and serving one of the best breakfasts we’ve ever had. Local top quality sausage, bacon and eggs, plus all the usual extras to make a great full English - options also included smoked salmon, kippers etc as daily specials. Toast, croissants and (on weekends) pastries were also served, and everything without delay, freshly cooked and piping hot. Fantastic all round.

Although most communal areas, main central stairway and deluxe bedrooms (we glimpsed) had a fresh contemporary feel, the stairs and corridors elsewhere felt a little gloomy and unloved. Difficult in a building of age with little natural light to the stairwells but fresh bright white paint on the walls and better modern lighting would make a world of difference to those first impressions - but we’re in a pandemic & times are tight so really these are minor things.

The outdoor swimming pool was great, so warm, heated to 30 degrees nice even during a rain shower, bigger than expected and a hit obviously with the kids. It’d be so satisfying to go all around the top 2” of tiles with a scrubber and spray, the rest of the hotel was so sparkling clean that this layer of sun cream grease felt out of place and easily fixable.

All in all a great hotel in a location perfect to explore the coast around Newquay, breakfast in the lovely dining room overlooking the bay was a treat each morning, the big bed comfy and bath towels soft and thick. Just a few tweaks away from being untouchable in terms of quality and value for money. We’d definitely go back again.

Room tip: Free parking There’s no lift The top floor rooms can get warm Don’t miss breakfast - it’s fantastic!
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank RoadLite2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy Kirton, Marketing at Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Thank you very much for your feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to be so thorough. Your comments have been noted and will be acted upon. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2021

We stayed here for a few days at the start of July and were warmly welcomed by reception with a clear explanation of the Covid rules, directions to our room, restaurant arrangements, etc. Good sized room although very warm which I did hear another guest mention. Location is great, within walking distance of several beaches and a short scenic stroll into Newquay. Good choice for breakfast too. Top tips in the current climate. Book restaurants in advance and if you need a taxi book those early too as they are golddust. Overall a great base for a few days in North Cornwall and would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: July 2021
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy Kirton, Marketing at Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2021

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2021 via mobile

Good location. Spacious room. Quality breakfast. Could do with updating doors which were loud when being closed. Friendly helpful staff. Lacks some of the finishing touches of other places. 200 yards from the beach which was ideal with incredible scenery around the whole area

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kitch76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2021

Difficult to find any negatives, very good value, clean rooms, fab breakfast, my 2nd visit. Would be nice to have in-house beauty treatments as had to visit another hotel for that but a minor point. About 30min walk to Newquay centre and about £9 for taxi. Ideal location for Lusty Glaze, only 5mins away.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank flyingpigsoffortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2021 via mobile

Overall experience was great, first impression was bad unfortunately. Our wait staff for breakfast were fantastic, cleaners lovely, reception staff friendly, sadly the barmaid who checked us in, Rachel, was very rude. She saw us coming through the doors with cases, was expecting us, according to reception who had called me, yet walked past us and let us go into the bar to stand and wait for her to return, without acknowledging us. When she did return she asked us are you here to check in? No, we brought our cases with us for a drink at the bar… just for clarity we didn’t say that, just thought it, we were polite and said yes we are. She then put the key down on the bar, said you’re room 16, first floor. No directions, no information, no smile… We had to ask which way would take us to our room. Everyone else we encountered in the hotel and in Newquay were so lovely. Rachel should not be working in hospitality, she gave us such a bad impression, which at least thankfully was redeemed by everyone else we encountered. All of other the hotel staff are great, and really shouldn’t be let down by one of their colleagues like this.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jasminecat08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy Kirton, Marketing at Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2021

Thank you for your feedback and we were most concerned to hear of the poor welcome on arrival by one of our bar staff. We understand you arrived very late in the evening after a thirteen hour journey. When Rachael saw you, realising your room keys were not in the bar area, she rushed off to find them for you. It is unfortunate that she did not explain what she was doing.

Please accept our apologies that the welcome was not up to our usual high standards. To be fair Rachael has been with us for a couple of years and she is normally a happy and polite member of our team. The behaviour you describe is out of character but that said, it is unacceptable that any guest should feel let down by our service/welcome and we are very sorry you felt this way. Please be advised we have taken the matter up with the staff member concerned to ensure this situation does not arise again.

We pride ourselves in offering a warm, friendly, professional service where customer service is of paramount importance. We are comforted by your acknowledgement that this was an isolated event and all other hotel staff were welcoming.

Once again please accept our apologies and hoping that you decide to return another time, we look forward to welcoming you and proving to you that without exception all our staff are amazing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews