We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£159
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Damien H
Woking, United Kingdom

Many good things but needs some direction

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Aug 2021
There are many good things about Porth Veor, not least the staff who were all so friendly and helpful and deserve much praise. The location is superb, the newest garden view villas look wonderful, but the hotel rooms are tired and could do with some updates and some better ventilation. The breakfast is also really good with many options.

Overall it feels like the place is at a cross roads and lacking any direction as to what it wants to be. The restaurant has been closed for some time and hope that this is just temporary.
Really wish the staff well and hope they get some help to make this place better again as we'd really love to come back in the future.
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy Kirton, Owner at Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western, responded to this review
Responded 23 Aug 2021
Thank you for your feedback and your kind comments about the staff and all the positives of your stay. With regard to the bedrooms many have been refurbished and it's an ongoing programme with further bedrooms being updated this winter. Without knowing which room you stayed in it is difficult to comment further but if you could contact us direct to advise which room you stayed in, we would like to follow up on your comments and reassure you for a future stay. Unfortunately our restaurant is closed in the evenings at present due to Covid but this situation is under constant review. Rest assured your feedback will be passed onto our management team. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tide-out on Porth Beach - view from the hotel
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.3 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Hotel on approach up the hill
Tripadvisor
£90
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £90
  • Agoda.com
0.2 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£159
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £159
0.0 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £120
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£108
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.5 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Pool
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.5 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.4 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Breakfast is served from 8am - 9:30am
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.1 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.4 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.4 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Porth
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
437
199
66
25
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
437
199
66
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porth beach lovely hotel no lift sea view cornish breakfast coastal path room was spotless breakfast was excellent a lovely stay villa newquay wowcher accommodation wedding dishwasher rachel cleaners
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2021

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We had a double sea view room on the second floor. The room did get warm at night and sadly the hotel did not have AC or any fans. The room was nicely decorated. You could just see part of Porth Beach from the room. The bed and pillows were super comfy, great after a long day sight seeing.

One downside to the room was that two single beds were placed together which meant there were two small headboards for each bed, not the comfiest if you were sat up watching tv before bed.

Breakfast was lovely each morning and staff were friendly. We were disappointed that the hotel restaurant had chosen to remain closed due to Covid. As other reviews mention you have to book restaurants in Newquay well in advance and similar with taxis.

The swimming pool was very slightly heated but nevertheless we found it relaxing. We had a drink at the bar one evening and service was good.

There are lots of beaches around, we enjoyed watching the sunset at Porth Beach which is only a short walk from the hotel. The walk into Newquay is about 15-20 minutes and slightly longer to get to Fistral Beach.

We would definitely return to the hotel again and highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bhavini V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy Kirton, Marketing at Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2021

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments have been noted. We hope to welcome you back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Cancelled our paid for booking a few days before our stay with no explanation just an email which could have so easily been missed. On boardmasters weekend as well leaving us with no available accommodation to find. The worst customer service I have ever received.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

A lovely hotel overlooking Porth beach, serving fabulous breakfast and benefiting from a heated outdoor pool. We stayed a few nights in a family room on the top floor (no lift) which meant it did retain some heat on the warmer days. The room decor was exactly as per the website with a super-king bed, bunks and a newly fitted shower room including a really nice powerful shower. Parking was always available free on-site.

Friendly efficient check-in, newly decorated reception/lobby area. The dining room, with 2 sides a conservatory is the show piece brightly decorated in contemporary white and serving one of the best breakfasts we’ve ever had. Local top quality sausage, bacon and eggs, plus all the usual extras to make a great full English - options also included smoked salmon, kippers etc as daily specials. Toast, croissants and (on weekends) pastries were also served, and everything without delay, freshly cooked and piping hot. Fantastic all round.

Although most communal areas, main central stairway and deluxe bedrooms (we glimpsed) had a fresh contemporary feel, the stairs and corridors elsewhere felt a little gloomy and unloved. Difficult in a building of age with little natural light to the stairwells but fresh bright white paint on the walls and better modern lighting would make a world of difference to those first impressions - but we’re in a pandemic & times are tight so really these are minor things.

The outdoor swimming pool was great, so warm, heated to 30 degrees nice even during a rain shower, bigger than expected and a hit obviously with the kids. It’d be so satisfying to go all around the top 2” of tiles with a scrubber and spray, the rest of the hotel was so sparkling clean that this layer of sun cream grease felt out of place and easily fixable.

All in all a great hotel in a location perfect to explore the coast around Newquay, breakfast in the lovely dining room overlooking the bay was a treat each morning, the big bed comfy and bath towels soft and thick. Just a few tweaks away from being untouchable in terms of quality and value for money. We’d definitely go back again.

Room tip: Free parking There’s no lift The top floor rooms can get warm Don’t miss breakfast - it’s fantastic!
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank RoadLite2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy Kirton, Marketing at Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Thank you very much for your feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to be so thorough. Your comments have been noted and will be acted upon. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2021

We stayed here for a few days at the start of July and were warmly welcomed by reception with a clear explanation of the Covid rules, directions to our room, restaurant arrangements, etc. Good sized room although very warm which I did hear another guest mention. Location is great, within walking distance of several beaches and a short scenic stroll into Newquay. Good choice for breakfast too. Top tips in the current climate. Book restaurants in advance and if you need a taxi book those early too as they are golddust. Overall a great base for a few days in North Cornwall and would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: July 2021
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy Kirton, Marketing at Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2021

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2021 via mobile

Good location. Spacious room. Quality breakfast. Could do with updating doors which were loud when being closed. Friendly helpful staff. Lacks some of the finishing touches of other places. 200 yards from the beach which was ideal with incredible scenery around the whole area

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kitch76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews