We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
£129
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
£129
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
£113
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Mandy H
Silves, Portugal

Lovely hotel great location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Aug 2021
Lovely hotel room was on the very small size but adequate. Clean and tidy front of house staff very stand offish and not very welcoming breakfast was superb and restaurant staff lovely bed looked like it had been slept it but it was clean and fresh so they just hasnt taken care to make it look tidy was a bit scruffy looking overall a great place just needs some attention to detail.
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tide-out on Porth Beach - view from the hotel
Booking.com
£155
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £155
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    £155
0.3 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Hotel on approach up the hill
Expedia.com
£90
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £90
  • ZenHotels.com
    £90
  • Tripadvisor
    £90
0.2 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
£129
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £129
  • Agoda.com
    £113
  • Trip.com
0.0 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £117
  • Booking.com
0.3 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £97
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£133
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £140
  • Hotels.com
    £140
  • ZenHotels.com
    £140
0.5 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Pool
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.5 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.4 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Breakfast is served from 8am - 9:30am
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.1 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.4 miles from Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Porth
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
439
200
66
25
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
439
200
66
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews porth beach lovely hotel no lift sea view cornish breakfast coastal path room was spotless breakfast was excellent a lovely stay villa newquay wowcher accommodation wedding dishwasher rachel cleaners
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2021

Apart from the restaurant being closed during the evenings and the pool tiles being dangerous a great visit. The staff were superb and location perfect. Price was a tad high for the limited facilities due to the Covid situation too.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank TerryRM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy Kirton, Marketing at Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Thank you for your 5 star feedback. We are sorry that the restaurant is now closed in the evenings due to Covid and this is under regular review. The swimming pool was closed for 24 hours when we were alerted that some of the pool tiles had lifted and repairs were made. The pool tiles will have a further overhaul at the end of the season.

We are delighted you enjoyed the location and were happy with the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2021

We stayed for 11 nights with our grown up kids and cannot fault the hotel. The breakfast was brilliant (and I am fussy over breakfast) the waiter remembered not to put the beans next to the egg from day 1, and plates were always hot! It’s a shame that the restaurant wasn’t open in the evening as I imagine it would be pretty good! We did have a couple of take aways delivered to the hotel and the bar staff always provided cutlery and plates which was very nice (but we could only eat outside so that may have been an issue if it rained - we didn’t want to eat in rooms as we had 3 separate rooms). Our room was on the top floor and was huge with plenty of wardrobe space and a stunning view of the beach, yes it was warm but I’d read the reviews and we took a fan. The bed is probably the best, most comfy bed I’ve ever had in a hotel room, wish I had room for one that size at home! Towels were fluffy and changed whenever we requested it. Only thing was there was a lot of stairs to the room so I’d probs just request 1st floor next time. Parking was never a problem but may be if hotel was full (we just blocked each other in). My husband cycled down from Essex and the hotel kindly kept his bike secure inside for our entire trip! Walk to beach was fine and there’s a lovely tea room down there too (Gwenna I think it was called). We visited a few local restaurants; the tapas along the road was delicious and we really liked the food at Senor Dicks in Newquay too (our top 2). We also visited 12 Beach Road, Indian Kitchen and Little Italy, all worth a trip and would rank in that order! We did visit the Mermaid on the beach but only for drinks, felt a bit like being in a ‘spoons! You must make restaurant bookings in advance, the hospitality industry is struggling with recruitment! Swimming pool lovely and warm and we chose to sit on the grass at the back of the hotel, rather than around the pool, as you have the seaview. Great central location to access lots of Cornwall! Will deffo be visiting again, staff couldn’t be more helpful and made us feel very much “at home”! Worth way more than its current star rating!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nicb112
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2021

There are many good things about Porth Veor, not least the staff who were all so friendly and helpful and deserve much praise. The location is superb, the newest garden view villas look wonderful, but the hotel rooms are tired and could do with some updates and some better ventilation. The breakfast is also really good with many options.

Overall it feels like the place is at a cross roads and lacking any direction as to what it wants to be. The restaurant has been closed for some time and hope that this is just temporary.
Really wish the staff well and hope they get some help to make this place better again as we'd really love to come back in the future.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 304damienh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy Kirton, Owner at Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2021

Thank you for your feedback and your kind comments about the staff and all the positives of your stay. With regard to the bedrooms many have been refurbished and it's an ongoing programme with further bedrooms being updated this winter. Without knowing which room you stayed in it is difficult to comment further but if you could contact us direct to advise which room you stayed in, we would like to follow up on your comments and reassure you for a future stay. Unfortunately our restaurant is closed in the evenings at present due to Covid but this situation is under constant review. Rest assured your feedback will be passed onto our management team. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2021

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We had a double sea view room on the second floor. The room did get warm at night and sadly the hotel did not have AC or any fans. The room was nicely decorated. You could just see part of Porth Beach from the room. The bed and pillows were super comfy, great after a long day sight seeing.

One downside to the room was that two single beds were placed together which meant there were two small headboards for each bed, not the comfiest if you were sat up watching tv before bed.

Breakfast was lovely each morning and staff were friendly. We were disappointed that the hotel restaurant had chosen to remain closed due to Covid. As other reviews mention you have to book restaurants in Newquay well in advance and similar with taxis.

The swimming pool was very slightly heated but nevertheless we found it relaxing. We had a drink at the bar one evening and service was good.

There are lots of beaches around, we enjoyed watching the sunset at Porth Beach which is only a short walk from the hotel. The walk into Newquay is about 15-20 minutes and slightly longer to get to Fistral Beach.

We would definitely return to the hotel again and highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bhavini V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy Kirton, Marketing at Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection By Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2021

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments have been noted. We hope to welcome you back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Cancelled our paid for booking a few days before our stay with no explanation just an email which could have so easily been missed. On boardmasters weekend as well leaving us with no available accommodation to find. The worst customer service I have ever received.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews