We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wedding anniversary holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Gainford, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue N
2 reviews
“Wedding anniversary holiday”
Reviewed 14 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We just love this rural cottage for two it's a perfect romantic getaway. We've booked it for three years and just rebooked again for next year. Lovely peaceful surroundings,plenty of relaxing walks and lots of historic sights to see around the area. In the cottage there is plenty of leaflets to browse for tourists information.Then you've got the relaxing hot tub in the evening after your days out which is lovely and romantic under the stars.We had a surprise this year as the owner had put in a gorgeous Victorian bath and had put wooden paneling in the bedroom / living room which made it feel warmer and very cosy.The cottage is always very clean and warm when we arrive after the long drive there.The owners always ask if everything is fine when you see them couldn't ask for better hosts definitely recommend their cottages to friends,family or anyone else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy L
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have just returned from a week in this cottage and found it to be everything we expected. It was well appointed, warm and cosy and with all the touches that made it a home from home. Would most certainly recommend it as the perfect retreat for two! The welcome pack was very thoughtful - homemade cake and bread and a bottle of wine. We loved it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitch-hol...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surpassed all expectations”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The day after our wedding, my husband and I travelled over to stay at The Old Dairy. We wanted a quiet break with our two dogs in a quaint cottage near to decent attractions - this was just perfect. Others have said it, but the photos just cannot do this cottage justice. The restoration job the owners have done is remarkable throughout: there are wonderful original features whilst everything is cosy and comfortable. On going upstairs I think we both uttered an involuntary 'wow'!

The welcome gifts of homemade produce, wine and dog biscuits along with flowers and fruit was a lovely touch and immediately made us feel at home. We really appreciated the owners' information file, which told us everything we needed to know about the cottage and local area. I can't imagine a single need which wasn't catered for from the pint of milk in the fridge to the DVD selection.

Gainford itself is lovely, with incredibly friendly locals and all the things you need on your doorstep. The butcher shop next door also sells fantastic fruit and veg and bread so that couldn't be more convenient. We enjoyed a different country walk each day with our two Greyhounds and found the pub opposite to be fantastically welcoming.

There's a wealth of places to visit just a short drive away so we were never at risk of being bored. The owners have provided plenty of leaflets and information so even if, like us, you didn't have time to research the area beforehand you won't be stuck for ideas.

We hadn't been at The Old Dairy a night before we were vowing to come again when we can. After a week there is still plenty more to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissVal20...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Warm welcome, great welcome treats including for the dog, very nicely decorated and in a great location - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - thank you

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A superb cottage - thoroughly recommend it”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was such a fantastic break from when we were met by the owners and given a tour of the cottage to that moment when we reluctantly posted the keys back through the letterbox and began the journey home.

It's a wonderful cottage; you know the type...where you feel comfortable, at ease and well looked after.

A home-made loaf, bottle of wine, sweet chilli jam and fruitcake were all waiting on the kitchen table and as extra welcoming touches, they got full marks.

From the four-poster bed to the small, enclosed garden off the kitchen, there were delights to mark this out as a great place to come to unwind. Everything worked how it should - even to the point where we inadvertently tested the smoke alarm when grilling the sausages from the butcher next door.

The cottage is centrally located in the village across from the Cross Keys pub - a friendly local with Cornish Doom bar ale on tap and the outstanding pizza from Stable Hearth at the back of the property.

Local walks along the river Tees or to neighbouring villages like Ingleton, Piercebridge or Winston make this an idyllic spot with plenty on the doorstep and you can hop in the car to the likes of Raby Castle or Barnard Castle.

There is no phone signal in the village - which may or may not disconcert you - but for us, it wasn't a problem and seemed to sum up how we could disconnect from the stresses of work and the normal things that tug at our attention.

Overall, wholeheartedly recommend both the cottage itself and the friendly village to anyone looking to relax and explore this corner of County Durham.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy F
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!! Definetly Recommend”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I found this cottage to be absolutely stunning. Every little detail was though of. And the welcome package was a real treat. Loved the décor and feel to the cottage and the owner was very polite greeting us.
Loved the fact it was within walking distance of the local shop & pub - all the locals were very welcoming and lovely to chat too.
Great walks along the river and local areas.
Only 20 minutes drive and you are in the Yorkshire Dales. Which I loved.
Having holidayed here as a child it was great coming back to the area.
Cannot recommend this place enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelms...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrifying Experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
8
people found this review helpful

We had travelled to the North from London as it was my Mothers 80th Birthday and so had a lovely celebration weekend planned with the rest of my family (I come from Darlington originally and grew up in this village) 
We couldn't have chosen a more perfect weekend as it happened to be in the midst of one of the hottest July's on record. The weather was absolutely stunning, the countryside and surrounding views amongst the best I can fathom in memory - clear blue skies and lazy summer evenings. My girlfriend was in heaven as we befriended a young lad with a beautiful horse who literally rode past and as we exclaimed with admiration he paused, swung his leg over and handed her the reins! Unbelievable! After initially checking she could ride he told her to take it for a walk around the village, we bought him a pint for his generosity!
Having spent time at Aysgarth Falls with my large family and taking my nephews into the river for a swim followed by chilled chicken and some cold Chablis we all chided that this was possibly the best weekend we had ever spent together - sheer bliss!
Until the following morning...
We had decided to have a lie in the next morning (a rare treat for us as we work in central London and rise before 6am daily) There was a knock at the door and we went to answer it and there were two people standing rather officiously which we surmised were the owners. We opened the door and said hello in a friendly manner only to be met with the most disturbing and irrational abuse I have ever encountered aimed directly at my self and my partner which was both shocking and upsetting for both of us.
It transpired that we had to vacate the cottage by 10am on the day of departure something that as my sister had booked the property we had simply overlooked. (I would like to point out at this point that the time was only just 10.45am)
We explained to the owners that this wouldn’t be a problem as we had packed our things and we were almost ready to go in any case but the torrent of abuse continued from the owner to such an extent that he became almost apoplectic with rage, the man was clearly unable to articulate himself and out of nowhere to my horror he punched me in the side of the head – it was really very disturbing and our dogs were shaking with fear.
We had no other choice than to call the local police and once they had arrived and had spoken to both parties they could see quite clearly that this man had no grounds for this behavior and asked me whether I wanted to press charges which if we had lived in the area then we would have done so immediately but as we lived in London the hassle of having to drive 250 miles to attend a court case with our busy schedules would be a complete waste of time. We just wanted to get home as quickly as possible. 
We are horrified and appalled by the way this owner behaved and in the way he clumsily articulated himself using his fists instead of just politely reminding us that we needed to be out of the cottage by a certain time, this was an honest mistake by my partner and this type of draconian behavior is simply not acceptable in a civilized society. We just hope people read this review before booking this cottage - we loved the cottage but the disgraceful way we have been treated has left rather a bitter taste in our mouths and quite frankly this guy is lucky that it was me he decided to punch on this day because had it been anyone else then he would have got his comeuppance in rather a different way.........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing