We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First class accommodation”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Grizebeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary S
1 review
“First class accommodation”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed at Bank End Lodge 7 adults one child 2 dogs ,excellent accommodation fully equipped ,really friendly helpful owners .
Had a super holiday in a very beautiful part of the country.
Highly recommended

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Good morning
Thank you for your review following your stay at Bank End Lodge. We are delighted you had a superb holiday and enjoyed the location. It is great to hear you highly recommend this property and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina...
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Booked the lodge for 10 adults for my 40th. The lodge has everything you need the hot tub was a huge hit! Great space for so many people everything we needed for a long weekend. Great location. We will defiantly book in the future.. Thankyou!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review follwoing your stay at Bank End Lodge. We are thrilled to hear that you had a lovely 40th birthday and made use of the hot tub. We look forward to your return. Lakes Cottage Holidays xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSander...
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice Christmas Getaway”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

To get away from it all at Christmas is what we wanted. This is exactly what we got here. Ten of us plus 2 dogs found the property to be just right for our needs, Plenty of space for everyone and to finally have a christmas dinner where we didnt need to seek extra seats and be squashed around the table! The owners had also put up soem crimbo decorations which is a nice touch. The property was clean and tidy upon arrival, towels supplied also, though i would still bring some with you as the Hot Tub visits took up a lot of them!! The house is warm and furnished appropriately for a large group, the beds were very comfortable (we had the ground floor room overlooking the garden with great views over the village and to the hills) It is exceptionally dark at night here so bring a torch if you need to navigate to the loo at night! There are walks to be had around the property there is a map but we didnt find this of much use so a new version would be a better addition. The village doesnt have much in it, the petrol station is also a little shop and the pub opens at 4pm. Overall we had a great time and a wonderful christmas with most of the family together. Not really any criticisms of this place other than the tvs that are fixed to the wall could do with being placed on a moveable bracket. The Hot Tub was well used and very nice with lovely views. Thank you and all the best for 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Good afternoon

Thank you for your review following your stay at Bank End Lodge. We are delighted you had a lovely Christmas getaway and found the property perfect for your needs.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachG85
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic week away with family and friends”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed at Bank End Lodge for a week for my 30th Birthday and had an absolutely fantastic time. The house is very well equiped and exceptionally comfortable, like a home away from home. Doesn't feel like a rental at all. The house was spotless when we arrived and the layout and rooms were brilliant. KItchen facilitiesgreat too with a dishwasher, big oven and massive fridge freezer to accomodate the numbers.
Loads of car parking for guests and access into the house on two levels proved useful for loading and unloading cases etc. The garden was perfect with a great stone table and chairs set up with fantastic views and the hot tub really was a worthwhile addition to the booking! Slept like a baby all week!
Location is fairly remote (bonus!) so take all you might need (loads of storage space in the house), although there are small local shops dotted around to get basics. Lots of good walking direct on the doorstep (with great views to mountains and coast) and lots of interesting things to do if you take a drive out. Plenty of pubs to venture out to for nice food as well as one within walking distance now too.
Spent every night in the garden rain or shine!
Would def recommend to large groups/families, great place for a good get together. Also great for dogs with fields on the doorstep to let them loose into for a run and good dog friendly beaches nearby.
(Tips - take some hand towels and hand soap for the three bathrooms. Also, we needed extra dishwasher tablets and if you want to do any clothes washing (unlikely on holiday!) take some suds.)
Thanks Bank End Lodge, hope to visit again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Bank End Lodge. We are delighted that you had a fantastic time and found the property very well equipped, exceptionally comfortable and spotlessly clean with ample car parking for your needs. It is great to hear that you were able to take full advantage of its great location and hope to return soon. We hope to welcome you in the future.

Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deniz M
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lodge was beautiful. Very well designed. 10 of us and 3 dogs! Lovely countryside surrounding the property. Hot tub was a bonus!

Owners lovely too :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely clean hot tub!
Liked least: Not applicable!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Bank End Lodge.

We are pleased you found the property well designed, found the owners lovely and enjoyed the hot tub.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hope to welcome you back to Bank End Lodge or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your feedback of your stay at Bank End Lodge.

We are pleased you have found the property to be well equipped, spacious and well kept.

Lakes Cottage Holidays are delighted to learn that you would return to Bank End Lodge in the future and Lakes Cottage Holidays look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Shields
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing