We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nikoi Island
Nearby Hotels
US$82
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Residence Bintan(Tanjung Pinang)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (774)
Filter reviews
774 results
Traveller rating
645
90
20
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
90
20
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubrock climbingset menutreasure huntevery mealrobinson crusoemonitor lizardsbeach housedining areasdietary requirementsno air conopen airmaster bedroombintan ferry terminalmosquito netheaven on earthsea breeze
Filter
Updating list...
387 - 392 of 774 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were looking for a side-trip from Singapore that offered something a little bit different. From the moment we stepped off the ferry in Bin Tan, the experience was fantastic. Fast-tracked through immigration then into a private car to the jetty for the boat to Nikoi. On arrival in Nikoi island, all of the expectations we had prior to the trip were exceeded.

The island itself is beautiful and perfectly maintained, keeping the balance with nature versus development at exactly the right level. The bungalows are luxurious while having a rustic charm. We had booked bungalow 5, which includes a separate room/bathroom for our third guest. Their room would have been large enough for the three of us and was sufficiently separate to be very private from our own. Air-conditioning is honestly not required as the open design allowed sufficient airflow to offer cooling day and night.

While the set menu does not allow for choice of food, the meals were one of the (many) highlights of the stay. The food was of the highest quality and the variety from meal-to-meal was great. The team checked our preferences when we arrived (one of us was vegetarian and another couldn't eat beef). Each meal was slightly tailored for to address these needs and not once did we need to remind the staff during the stay - reflective of the overall service.

The ratio of staff to guests was the highest I've ever experienced - I believe there are approximately 60 staff on the island for only 15 bungalows. All staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

We will be returning for sure - next time we'll try and make the effort to use more of the services such as the watersports. This trip was more about just switching off and relaxing!

Congratulations on the overall concept, which has been executed perfectly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thanks for your very kind review. Great to hear you enjoyed the concept so much. Great to also read that you enjoyed the meals and that we were able to cater for your dietary needs. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was simply fantastic, maldives for a fraction of the price, quiet, peaceful, beautiful and very well thought through.

This is a small island with 15 houses only, food is excellent, not buffet- so great quality and varied.

we had a great time and will definately be returning.

Room Tip: the island is touched with seasonal breezes, so pick your time to get a breezy house, wear sea shoes as there are a few rocks/coral. BYO wine is $20 corkage -but unless you buying up mrkt wine its not worth it the wine there is fine.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seanr1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks for your very kind review. It is particularly pleasing to read your comments about the food as kitchen has been putting a lot of effort into refining our meals and we are very pleased with the results. We look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

“Simplicity is about subtracting the obvious and adding the meaningful, Free yourself from the complexities of your life, simplicity and happiness awaits you at Nikoi.”

Although you go back to basics, we were never pampered like this before in our lives!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooby_bd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Wow - what a lovely review. You have made our day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We read many of the good reports Nikoi Island got before we booked it and so we did expect that it would be nice there. But wow, it's just fantastic. The beach house we stayed in was just like in a Robinson Crusoe Movie. And the staff was very nice too. The waiters Hardy and Raheem and the girl, who's name i forgot where really friendly and offered a good service. Also the beach boys, the house keeping, bar crew where nice. Always got a friendly smile if you saw one of them. The island itself is very nice, the food was great and freshly cooked (no buffet) and we just had a wonderful time. Our first visit, but for sure not the last.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamacas78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thanks for your very kind review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Our staff will be very pleased to read your kind words about their service. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Islands are intriguing and so is Nikoi Island with its shockingly white powdery soft sand, crystal clear sea and lush greenery.
On this tropical island, one has to forget about busyness of work and learn to let go of the need for tv, air-con, phones, PCs, hair dryers, fridge (though icebox is provided), internet (limited access).
Instead, my girlfriends and I found ourselves nourishing our senses with what Nikoi has to offer by:
- walking amongst the green canopies of indigenous trees in the coastal forest (we started the trail from Villa no. 15) and attempting to climb the not-so-steep 30m hill.
- marveling at the magnificent fringing coral reef, coastal saltwater mangrove and coral ‘graveyard’, gigantic white granite boulders, iPod Rock and treehouse near the beach bar
- kayaking, windsurfing, snorkeling, paddle-boarding or swimming at the saline swimming pool
- reveling in the nightly bonfire which starts around 7:30pm (depending on wind conditions) and toasting marshmallows with long wooden poles
- getting enraptured by sunrises at the poolside and sunsets at the Beach Bar
- mingling with the friendly Nikoi staff especially Yogi, Gugun and Jordan who served us chilled iced water, cocktails (do try Yogi’s Colada and Sangria), homemade crackers and cookies. We also checked out the library of books, jars of broken pottery and coins found near the island. And Yogi introduced us to the elegant Suzie (Golden Orb spider) who hangs out at the Beach Bar and feeds on bananas.
- watching movies at the lounge just behind the Beach Bar in the evenings.
- gazing at the vast magnificent constellation of stars
- busking in Nikoi's philosophy in preserving nature which is evident from the villas made of driftwood and dried grass thatching, solar hot water panels, hand-blended bathroom amenities, delectable meals they serve with local produce, smoothened sand dining floors, absence of motorised water sports.
Post-Nikoi me felt lighter, happier and bursting with energy….I can’t wait to return to Nikoi for the 3rd time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suisei31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thanks for your kind and wonderfully detailed review. We particularly enjoyed reading your lovely descriptions of Nikoi and your experience of staying on the island. It is also very pleasing to read that you noticed many of the details that we have put so much effort into trying to get right. We are always trying to refine things so hopefully by the time you return we will have been able to add to the list. With regard to your room tip that houses 7-15 are breezier I would just like to add that whilst that is the case for this time of the year the prevailing winds swing around so that houses 1-6 are breezier from Oct through to March. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews