We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Small and perfect”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thurgoland, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ben B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small and perfect”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

If you are interested in somewhere small and cosy then this is absolutely perfect. It is finished to a very high standard and has everything you need for a trip away. It is within walking distance of the village but far enough away to be quiet as well.
The owners are so welcoming without being intrusive and couldn't be more helpful. There are walks provided from the Bothy and plenty of information about the local area.
If you're after somewhere to go and relax then I cant reccomend this highly enough.
My only hesitation in writing a five star review is that we want to go back and don't want it to be booked up! A very special place indeed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
We are over the moon that you enjoyed your time at Hollins Wood Bothy, it is great to hear that you found the property cosy, warm and perfectly formed - the position sounds great too! Thank you for sharing this lovely review, despite not wanting the secret to get out! We are sure we can find a time for you to visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honeycat8...
Southend on Sea
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic Retreat to Unwind and Explore”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If you're looking for a secluded cottage, but with modern touches, such as wifi and dishwasher, washing machine etc, this is the place for you.

Hollins Wood Bothy is a beautiful, modern, clean, cosy cottage set in the grounds of a working farm. The cottage itself is located between a sheep field (wake up and see sheep from the bedroom window. Bliss!) and another field with a few cows in (they'll come and say hello if you let them).

Don't let the 'working farm' part put you off. You don't encounter farmers walking past the Bothy, nor is anyone in the field milking cows or shearing sheep. For all intents and purposes, you are alone!

There are woods opposite which are perfect for walking. The Bothy even comes with its own 'bespoke' walks - direct from the Bothy! Just grab one of the guides and go. A really nice touch, and one of several (I won't name them or it'll spoil the surprise!)

We felt as though we were in the middle of nowhere. You can't hear the traffic and as I said, we didn't see the farmer at all on our week stay. It's just you and the wildlife.

The owners made us feel welcome and the little touches on our arrival were very much appreciated.

We spent the week hanging out in the Bothy, sitting in the garden, visiting the big cities (Leeds, Manchester and Sheffield) which were all under an hour away.

The little village of Wortley is home to the local pub, a post office and farm shop (jam and meat are both highly recommended!). You can walk to it from the Bothy in about 40 minutes.

The Peak District is located a short drive away too, making the Bothy ideally located for exploring the natural beauty of the north and also enjoying shopping and nightlife of the cities.

I need to tell you about the bed at the Bothy. You will not sleep on a better bed. It was so good that my partner and I looked it up online - we want it for our flat! It's totally out of our price range though! haha!

Everything in the Bothy is top notch. The owners have spared no expense to ensure you have a brilliant stay. We can't wait to go back!

Thank you John and Rowena!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and finish of the Bothy
Liked least: Everything was great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rochester
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing