We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beaulieu Hotel(Beaulieu)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mayflower(Lymington)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (983)
Filter reviews
983 results
Traveller rating
391
306
181
77
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
306
181
77
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivernew foresthenry adams wingthe pubcar parkmain buildinglovely locationfull englishsteakmaster buildereggs benedictevening mealshort breakclassic roombar foodluxury roommotor museum
Filter
Updating list...
565 - 570 of 983 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A very quaint and original hotel with a wonderful history. These last few years have seen a large staff turnover - unfortunately. We had a lovely room in the house on the corner so had some superb views of the river and cottages. There are some beautiful walks and lovely countryside. Plus a 20 minute drive to Lymington where you can get a ferry to the Isle of Wight. Staff were quite friendly with a chatty waitress in the restaurant. Some of the staff looked untidy in their dress and whilst we were sitting in the lounge one morning a member of staff came in to organise the fire but did not acknowledge us. Also one evening we returned around 10pm looking forward to a nice drink but the bar was closed! Because a wedding party was happening later one evening, the restaurant at lunchtime was quite bear of tables and 3 people were sitting on a table for two. Although a very 'laid back' and 'relaxing' feel to the hotel, the organisation seems to be missing still. The lounge is a comfortable and warm room with views down the river but could possibly do with a puzzle on the go. Sometimes papers were in the lounge to read, sometimes they were not. It was a shame not all the staff spoke English all the time and felt they had to converse in their own language when speaking to each other. This is a superb hotel but needs more organisation and staff who know the history and wants to work there. Maybe a couple of volunteers could be on hand throughout the summer months to tell visitors about the history?

Room Tip: Ask to see the room beforehand and ask to have a room in the house. Breakfasts are very good, although plastic bread in mornings and baked bread in evenings (by Chef)/ Some floors creek and not all windows close properly but the hotel has a fantastic charm and imagination can take you back to the shipbuilding days.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We constantly work hard at our staff presentation and communication with our guests. Thank you also for the suggestions on puzzles and papers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had the Victorious Suite for a weekend away. A large, warm, rambling room with windows on three sides that rattled in the storms. However it was charming and just what one would have expected from that sort of hotel. The stairs up are lethal, the floors slope, the windows rattle - perfect. English hostelry at its idiosyncratic best! The bed was enormous and so comfy too. TV small and the remote buttons had faded but no problem with the reception nor the free WIFI (think thats only in the main house) The staff were charming and laid back. The food delivery had some quirks but these were quickly sorted but it is bad form not to have hot food on hot plates.

Room Tip: Ask to view the water but on the negative side that could be noisy in the summer with smokers and folks coming for dinner out in the garden. If you need wifi stay in the main house
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 666Bunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your nice words. Yes, the property has its quirks and is very old, but we very much hope that we have worked sympathetically with the building to provide a great guest experience.
I hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Rooms not very big, and bathroom cramped, loo almost touch the wall. I only eat fish or veggie, with no tuna left I had to have the risotto which was pretty bland looking and boring to eat with just a sprig of green on top. The next evening my husband ordered something with French fries and asked if he could have chips instead and they said no, that dish comes with French fries. I ordered fish and chips and mine came with French fries anyway. Fish and French fries, not good. Never been to a restaurant and asked for a slight change ie chips instead of French fries and been refused. We had a window in our room but it was a waste of time as couldn't see out due to overgrown shrubs etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carolearlscolne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your review and apologies for the confusion over the chips. We do have both chips and french fries and this should have been available for you. We always want to make sure we have full availability of everything on the menu, but sometimes our daily special dishes do run out due to popularity. On both the bar and restaurant menus we have a good range of vegetarian and fish options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Me and my wife stayed for a two nights, Valentines and the day after for my birthday. We used to live in Beaulieu so absolutly love the area. This is a fantastic hotel but it needs some modern touches.

The Wi-Fi was ok, sometimes I couldn’t access the internet. The TV didn’t have any channels other that BBC One, Two, ITV, Channel 4 and 5, although we were out most of the time sometimes in the evening we like to watch some TV. I think as well it maybe nice for a larger TV perhaps mounted on the wall to give a little more space in the rooms.

We also booked a room over the phone and no one mentioned about dogs being allowed to stay in the rooms and that part of the hotel, I really think you must mention this when booking as you could get people with allegies staying who have no idea a dog was in the room a few nights before. Plus we were trying to sleep and a dog was going mad in the next room and it went on for 20 minutes or so I then called reception and they got the owners to go to the room. I don’t like complaining because this is a fantastic hotel but just a few niggly things.

I will 100% will return to this hotel, Great Staff, Very Friendly, Amazing Breakfast and Lovely Location!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your review and your constructive points. We do have two dog friendly rooms for those with well behaved dogs. Many apologies that in this instance the behaviour wasn't as it should have been. We have a full range of freeview channels at the hotel and we are carrying out a full room check to make sure that they are fully working in all bedrooms. I hope you come back to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed for Valentine's night and found the Hotel quirky, eccentric and cosy. The staff were all really helpful and our room (one of the chic ones) was right at the top of two flights of very steep stairs, and had very sloping ceilings (not a problem for us short people but may be an issue if you are tall). The room is a little worn, some of the windows and sills need replacing and the bathroom window was very draughty, but there were plenty of radiators and we found the room charming and individual. The meal was excellent and breakfast worth getting up for. We will be back, maybe in the warmer evenings, when we can sit with a chilled glass of wine and enjoy the views over the marina

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justonemoreholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your Valentine's break with us. It was a great evening. You will be pleased to learn that there is a rolling programme of window refurbishment, decoration and replacement where required. I hope you come back for that summer supping overlooking the lovely Beaulieu River.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews