We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$233
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beaulieu Hotel(Beaulieu)
US$169
US$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$135
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$173
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$248
US$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmer Lawn(Brockenhurst)
US$198
US$192
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (975)
Filter reviews
975 results
Traveller rating
391
301
180
75
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
301
180
75
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivernew foresthenry adams wingthe pubcar parkmain buildinglovely locationfull englishsteakmaster buildereggs benedictevening mealshort breakclassic roombar foodluxury roommotor museum
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 975 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Located in lovely spot at historic Bucklers Hard, quiet while we were there, lovely walks nearby.

Our room was very comfortable and well equipped, two dog beds, blankets, bowls and treats were provided for our dogs. Also a little bottle of locally made vodka. The dogs were welcomed everywhere except the restaurant, so we dined in the bar, the food was excellent, during our stay we had the fish and chips, home made pie, mushroom soup. Breakfast was set up for us in a little room off the bar which was beautifully comfortable.

The breakfasts were outstandingly good, fresh New Forest produce (as was all the food) the sausages were gorgeous! A special mention for the staff who were, without exception, friendly, efficient and very pleasant. A case in point was, one evening we thought it would be nice to have our meal in the little room off the bar, we asked if we could, (it wasn't laid up) and also if we could have the restaurant menu, this was organised for us in a timely manner and we enjoyed another excellent meal.

We loved this hotel and will return, a thoroughly good experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Zinfandel-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review and I am very pleased that both yourselves and your dogs had a good stay. As you say there is such a range of great walks around the area and I'm pleased that you could all be together for meals!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our peaceful stay in a lovely suite overlooking the river. Excellent bed, everything clean, and though we arrived early, the receptionist visited the room to ensure that it was ready. Good staff, albeit a bit patchy due to variable supervision by management. The restaurant manager was Spanish and Superb, let down by the 'chef'. The pub food was well-catered, but 'catering' seems to be as far as the kitchen can go ... they need a good chef who respects his ingredients. The fish was a mean end tail cut, overcooked, other fish poor again next day, dry, sent back. Meat, even the steak, was overcooked. Excellent desserts let down by the main course every time. Lovely breakfasts with cheerful Italian and German young waitresses. We will return, but will not eat in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room in the old part, with a good river view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review and our apologies that your food was overcooked. We constantly work hard to improve standards in all areas of the hotel and your feedback will be most useful for the kitchen team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We walked on the river footpath from Beaulieu it took 45 mins.
We booked a table on the Hotel patio.
The head waiter welcomed us when we arrived and showed us to our table overlooking the river he moved an umbrella to give us some shade.
Service was prompt and polite.
The meal was priced as a 2 or 3 course, we 4 of us opted for mains and desserts.
All our main courses were very good 3 roast before 1 pork.
The puddings were to die for Ginger beer jelly, liquorice ice cream, cheese cake and chocolate brownie all first class.
A great Sunday lunch we have and will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annepaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review of your lunch with us on the Restaurant Terrace. The walk from Beaulieu to Bucklers Hard is getting more and more popular and is most beautiful. We have a special lunch menu all week in our restaurant which represents good value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were lucky to arrive on a beautiful spring evening when the setting of this long-establshed hotel, in the historic village of Bucklers Hard, was idyllic. We were shown by friendly staff to our large & comfortable bedroom with a delightful view of the river & village - not the most modern room but classy, comfortable and well appointed. Modern isn't everything! We dined very well in the restaurant which is well run with attentive staff, good food and more good views over the river.
The perfect spot for a dose of England at its old fashioned best.

Room Tip: It's worth asking for one of the better rooms in the old hotel building if you want a view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MisterCreosote1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review and your comments on all areas of the hotel.
We hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We have just checked out and are waiting on our taxi after a three day two night stay here. We arrived from Southampton getting off the ship at 6:30am and the hotel reception/check-in was just opening.

We were met with a warm and friendly welcome from Jose who brought us into a lovely sitting area as our rooms were still occupied, made us a pot of tea, brought us the paper and told us about the area. Elaine and David also helped make our stay top notch. The staff couldn't be better at accommodating and helping at every turn. Thank you. Lovely rooms, quirky bathrooms, great pub, walking distance to Beaulieu on picturesque path.

The attached pub is also great and staff equally as friendly. Great atmosphere all around.

Definitely recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank WhereToNextThen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your nice review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. I hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews