We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beaulieu Hotel(Beaulieu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mayflower(Lymington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Pig(Brockenhurst)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
976 results
Traveller rating
390
302
180
76
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
302
180
76
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivernew foresthenry adams wingthe pubcar parkmain buildinglovely locationfull englishsteakmaster buildereggs benedictevening mealshort breakclassic roombar foodluxury roommotor museum
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
922 - 927 of 976 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed here for 1 night in a short tour around Dorset, and the new Forest
The Master Builders House is in a superb location with just gras between the houses where you would normally expect a road so its quite peaceful , and really nice in the evening when the main rush of day visitors have left. Our room was in the new wing , The rooms are a small and the bathroom a bit tight to say the least , but its all very nicely furnished and comfortable . The Hotel is not near anywhere else so there is really no alternative to eating in but The Restaurant serves very good food in a very pleassant atmosphere so its not an issue . The beer was good too :-)

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank BrianR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Stayed for one night midweek, we had the Agamemnon room which has dual aspect windows, one with wonderful views over the terrace and river, the other is slightly less pretty, overlooking the outdoor BBQ. The BBQ finishes around 9.30 so does disturb unless you are having an early night!. The bathroom was huge with shower over bath.
Toiletries are provided.

There is a seperate wing to the hotel which has newer rooms, these are what they call standard. They are a good size (Husband stayed on one on a previous business trip), however they do not have the river views and some back on to the car park and delivery area. The deluxe rooms are in the main part of the building and have lots of character. However as in all old buildings the staircase is steep and narrow.

The bed was very comfortable with a soft duvet and large pillows. Tea and Coffee also supplied in room.

Hotel grounds are very pretty, you can not beat the location right along side the river. Boat trips are available. We did not eat in the main restaurant asit was full when we arrived, however the bar menu was adequate, steaks, fish, light bites, sandwiches etc and the BBQ was also available. You can charge all expenses to your room.

Staff were helpful and polite, we could not fault the service at all. Room was spotless and they left miniture lip balm and moisteriser instead of chocolates which I thought was a nice touch. There was also a small sample of local liquor left in the room.

Breakfast was very impressive, tea and coffee was brought to the table along with toast. You help yourself to cereals and pastries and they they take your cooked order. The menu was one of the best I have seen, ranging from full English, Eggs Benedict to Bacon or Sausage sandwich., plenty of choice.

It was a shame we only had one night as this is truly a relaxing hotel and we really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgentNikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Just returned from the most relaxing weekend... yes the sun was shining and we had fabulous rooms overlooking the river Beaulieu.
Our last evening was simply sublime .... sat on the terrace eating the fresh fish board together with bloody Mary oyster shots.!

We all cannot wait to return to enjoy the great location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceejayIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Just returned from a one night stay for my partner's birthday. Having both worked in hotels for many years we tend to notice EVERYTHING so hope this review proves useful....

Having looked at the reviews on Tripadvisor after booking, I was a bit disheartened by the comments on the standard rooms in the Henry Adams wing. However, on arrival I was pleasantly surprised- our standard room was a fair size, with a spotless bathroom. I was particulary impressed with the 'details' left in the room (something hotels have stripped away in recent years in a bid to save money)- there were decent aromatherapy shampoo, conditioner and shower gel bottles in the bathroom and a complimentary night cap for 2. The complimentary teabags are the Teepigs brand, which if you Google you will see are certainly not the cheapest on the market. Small things I know but a nice surprise to see some hotels still looking to add value to your rate.

We were shown to our room by the house manager, who explained the layout of the hotel, how to work the shower etc- really appreciated this personalised service.

The hotel is well located to explore the New Forest- a trip to Beaulieu Motor Museum was relaxing and informative (not just for petrol heads- the house and Abbey are really interesting). Bucklers Hard, where the hotel is located, houses a museum recounting a time when the harbour was a boatyard for Nelson's fleet- again, really interesting, with a good woodland walk and river cruise. Make sure to buy your tickets for both these attractions at the hotel, it is much cheaper.

We had dinner in the hotel- having read the reviews I was looking forward to a real treat. Overall I would say it is better than expected for a hotel restaurant, but just ok for a standalone restaurant. The food was ok, nothing expection, the presentation was what you would do at home. Service was a bit hit and miss (we ordered a wine only to be told it was sold out, waited a while for the drinks to arrive) though it was full on a Tuesday night, so they must be doing something right. There is also a BBQ, every night throughout the Summer which was busy- I think I would use that if we were to visit again.

One returning to our room the maid had turned down the beds, with arompatherapy sleep balm on our pillows- another nice extra.

Overall a good hotel, well located for exploring the area. I would stay again but perhaps eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IKYN84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Stayed for just one night in one of the best rooms - the Agamemnon named after Nelson's favourite ship, apparently. There are modern rooms housed in a new wing but they have no exceptional views. Our room was in the old building facing the river - splendid views and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. We ate in the restaurant at night (inclusive deal DBB) and the food was truly delicious - good chef here! The restauirant is kind of french shabby chic informal and stylish. Started with oysters 3 ways - raw, gratin and bloody Mary shot! Then 'famous' fish and chips for husband and calves liver and mash for me - both superb. Pimms Jelly for sweet. Coffee and brandies on the terrace outside obverlooking the garden and river. Loved it all. Bucklers Hard is a very peaceful place once the tourists have gone. Would definitely commend the museum and the 45 min. river trip. The weather was fantastic which did make a difference to our stay there as we could sample the outdoor life at Buckler Hard which is an idyllic spot

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews