We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
MamaG2011
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom

A step back in time and fascinating history

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 May 2024
If you're looking for a modern, bland hotel, don't come here! It's refreshingly characterful, unpretentious, quiet and unique, right by the water's edge in Bucklers Hard. No traffic so unbelievably quiet - though I imagine it could get busy with day visitors in the peak times.
We were warmly welcomed by Andrew, who was always available for information/assistance. All the staff we encountered, without exception, were friendly, helpful and "focussed". And all the bar/restaurant areas had a number of staff on duty at any time.
We spent our first night in a room in the newer Henry Adams block. Very convenient to the car park and linked to the main building by a covered walkway. The room was compact but comfortable, with a lovely touch of Classic FM playing on the Roberts radio on arrival. Also welcomed was the coffee machine, with fresh milk in the fridge, wonderfully soft fluffy towels, great pillows and comfy bed. It was quite warm so we needed the window open and found the noise from the boiler adjacent was quite a nuisance through the night.
But we had booked a room in the main house for our second two nights, and our belongings were moved whilst we were out for the day. It was slightly more challenging for my husband who has mobility issues, but not unexpected and well worth it for the beautiful room, fabulous view of the estuary . . . And the feel of sleeping in history! Also very welcome here was the decanter of gin and chilled tonics, as well as the coffee/tea making facilities. The bathroom was somewhat smaller than in the Henry Adams block, but considering its been added to a very old room, it was to be expected. We loved the antiques, but another chair would have been appreciated. Expect a huge, fabulously comfy bed with dreamy duvet & pillows, but very creaky!!
We ate at both the pub and restaurant, on the Beaulieu break deal, and had excellent food - especially the venison, plaice and Sunday roast beef (one of the best we've ever had).
The charge point for our electric car was very easy to operate and there was always one of the two available when we needed a top up.
Do go to the Bucklers Hard museum, which is a real step back in time and makes the stay much.more meaningful.
It was my husbands birthday while we were there and we spent a fabulous day at the motor museum and Beaulieu estate.
Lots to do if you are a walker or cyclist too.
A wonderful short break - we will very much hope to return and wilk most certainly recommend the Master Builders Hotel
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Brown, Owner at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 14 May 2024
What a wonderful, comprehensive review. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £146
  • Hotels.com
0.0 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £170
  • Algotels
1.9 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £155
  • Hotels.com
5.0 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £135
  • Hotels.com
5.3 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £134
  • Hotels.com
5.3 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £128
  • Hotels.com
5.2 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £166
  • Hotels.com
5.4 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £167
  • Hotels.com
5.7 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £145
  • Hotels.com
5.7 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
6.4 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bucklers Hard
Reviews (1,654)
Filter reviews
1,654 results
Traveller rating
759
444
273
121
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
759
444
273
121
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river new forest henry adams wing the pub beautiful location main building master builder full english steak evening meal short break classic room lovely room riverview restaurant two night stay wedding venue motor museum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,654 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2024

The setting of the hotel is really lovely, and the room was perfectly decent. But it was very expensive for what it was, and the food offer was very disappointing. Having sat down in the restaurant we were told that three of the items from the already short menu were not available, so I asked for a cheeseboard and bread with a house salad. The house salad was off too. How? So I had bread and cheese.
My companion had a burger and chips - no salad offered or provided with that either.
No condiments offered, and little attention paid from lackadaisical waiting staff.
These two modest meals , plus one shared dessert and two glasses of beer, cost £82.
Breakfast was also underwhelming.
The hotel wasn't bad just not good enough.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinbX9628LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Brown, Owner at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

Thank you for your honest review - we welcome the feedback. We definitely got things wrong on this occasion for which I apologise. There is no excuse for running out of so many items.

Sadly, it will be a surprise to no-one that inflation has hit hospitality like all businesses. I'm regretful at the prices we have to charge but I assure you it is necessary to protect the small margins that we make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2024

It’s such a lovely setting and full of history. However the last couple of visits we’ve made have let it down. The first was in April.. Nice breakfast but having to eat it on a very low table the size of a chess board does nothing for comfortable digestion. Having paid the extra £25 for accommodating our dog we were asked to eat in the conservatory and weren’t even given a suitable table to eat a full English. On this last visit I ordered the chicken schnitzel. It arrived and was a sad burnt offering. I pointed this out to the waitress who offered to take it away. It was late and I was hungry and I paused but so said I’d cope. Wish I hadn’t. Of course it could have been replaced but quite frankly why can’t the. He’d get it right the first time. When you’re sat as a couple why would you want to end up eating alone? Surely it’s not that hard to cook an escalope? Not a cheap meal and very disappointing.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Brown, Owner at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

Thanks for your review. I'm sorry you had a few issues on your last couple of visits. I agree with your comments regarding breakfast with your dog. We got this wrong and I do apologise. We have since amended this approach and I'm pleased to say this shouldn't be an issue anymore.

I'm also sorry we didn't get the schnitzel right on your last visit. Sadly, from time to time we do make mistakes but I'm glad we offered to rectify it.

We do hope you'll give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2024

"Great location", "great front of house staff", "Great food" In a very relaxing setting.
We will be back, hopefully later in the year.

Lynn and Lyndon Shaw-Mellors.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Brown, Owner at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

Thanks so much for the lovely review. We'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2024

Enjoyed visiting this lovely part of the country and the Hotel is in a charming location with delightful grounds. However we were disappointed that we were in a modern annexe with modern furniture, that could have been anywhere. We hadn't appreciated we would not be in the old hotel building with old furniture. We did know that we would not have a room overlooking The Hard. A further disappointment was the menu, which sounded great, but offered rather small portions when we had dinner.

Perhaps we shouldn't have been surprised by the small portions as, when we asked at Reception for more milk after using that provided for 2 cups of tea on arrival, were told we had had "our quota" of milk. Repeating our request more milk was then grudgingly given.

Room tip: Ask for a room in the old building Modern annexe has modern furniture. Menu looks great but portions quite small. Very comfortable beds.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journey250423
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Brown, Owner at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2024

I'm very sorry to read that your stay did not live up to expectations. We do our very best to be clear that our Henry Adam's bedrooms are not situated in the main house and make this abundantly clear on our website and in all our literature. Whilst I accept that the rooms are not as characterful as the main house, they are still very lovely!

We offer two options for dining at the Master Builders - Riverview, our fine dining restaurant which focuses on seasonal and hyper local ingredients or Henry's, our pub which serves hearty classics.

I'm very disappointed to read about our response to your request for extra milk. I'll do some further investigation but it is unacceptable and I apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2024

The hotel is situated in a great place, close to Beaulieu motor museum, Beaulieu village. Great museum on site. Bed was comfortable. Good pub with very friendly staff. A pleasant stay all round.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmMc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Brown, Owner at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2024

Thank you for your very kind review. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews