We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Excursion23321142644
Yeovil, United Kingdom

A 50th Reunion

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 May 2024
Organised a Reunion of Friends who had worked together and known each other for 50 years and selected the Master Builders due to its location and nautical connections. We hired the Admirals room for our dinner and we were not disappointed. The planning was fully supported by the on site team and on the night it all ran smoothly. The kitchen and serving staff did us proud with their efficient and friendly operation delivering a wonderful selection of well prepared meals to meet all of our tastes. Wines were similarly enjoyed - perhaps too much - hence no photographs !
Breakfast was busy the next day but the home team again managed the service well and we were sad to finally have to leave.
The facilities at the Master Builder and Henry's Bar are flexible and there were other groups enjoying similar events in parallel with our own. We all chose accommodation in the Main House which has its quirky ups and downs and sloping floors which are a quaint feature of older buildings but not ideal for some perhaps who might prefer the more modern Henry Adams "Annex" situated conveniently alongside. Either way we would all recommend the Master Builders for a similar event or simply enjoy a few nights being looked after well.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you might prefer the Henry Adams annex away from Henry's Bar and with...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Brown, Owner at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
What a tremendous review. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £179
  • Hotels.com
0.0 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£200
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £180
  • Agoda.com
    £158
  • Priceline
    £200
1.9 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £125
  • eDreams
5.0 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£128
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £128
5.3 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £143
  • Hotels.com
5.3 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free parking
Pool
£145
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £117
  • ZenHotels.com
    £104
  • Hotels.com
    £117
5.3 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free parking
Pool
£128
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £128
  • Hotels.com
5.2 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£168
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
5.4 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
£150
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £150
5.4 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£148
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £148
  • Hotels.com
    £144
  • Priceline
    £164
5.7 miles from The Master Builder's House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bucklers Hard
Reviews (1,654)
Filter reviews
1,655 results
Traveller rating
759
445
273
121
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
759
445
273
121
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river new forest henry adams wing the pub beautiful location main building master builder full english steak evening meal short break classic room lovely room riverview restaurant two night stay wedding venue motor museum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,655 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2024 via mobile

You could not wish for a better location.
First impressions were ok, the reception staff are first class and very helpful.
We did have a few issues however the reception staff did what they could to resolve them with very little fuss.
The room had a great view of the river which was a bonus.
The hotel has 2 locations to eat, we decided to use the bar restaurant, but you must book as it is very popular and does run out of menu items.
The breakfasts are very good and cooked to order, one niggle if it states a fried mushroom that is what should be served, not half a serving.
The bedroom was spacious but lacked any bedside 13 amp socket outlets.
A nice touch was the free serving of gin and tonic.
We had a three night stay which was long enough.

Room tip: Make sure you book a table in the restaurants. Book early as the food tuns out. Watch out for the discretionary tips, these are automatically added to your bill.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Brown, Owner at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your honest review. We're delighted you had such a good stay and welcome the helpful feedback. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2024

Mixed bag. On the one hand - stunning location - can't be bettered; very comfortable beds; and good breakfast, served by friendly, helpful staff.

On the other hand - over £200 a night for a room that felt like an army mess/student room, only smaller. Dated bathroom. No power points by the bed: it's 2024 -guests want to charge their phones near their beds. Would have been fine for £100 a night but £200 felt like a rip-off.

Tried to eat in the pub. Not allowed to sit at any of the tables in the main pub dining area because I hadn't booked. Over half the tables were empty, it was 9 pm, so hard to believe they were about to be filled, and I wasn't asking to be served there, only to take the 30 quid's worth of food I was ordering at the bar and eat at an otherwise empty table. Nope - not allowed. I am trying to give you money: why are you making it so hard?

Tried to order a glass of wine and couldn't because they'd run out of wine glasses. My friend suggested the barman wash a used one that was on the bar and the barman asked if he could "Just swill it out". Face palm.

Ordering was chaotic apparently because a new till system had been introduced that day. Obviously the perfect day to choose for a new computer system is a Friday when your hotel is booked to capacity and, not, say, a quiet Monday. And, when you do introduce it, it's important that all your senior staff slope off home, and leave the place staffed by nice but panicking junior staff and a barman who runs out of wine glasses...

Breakfast very good over all, but they make a feature of their Virgin Mary station, yet, on Sunday, they had run out of tomato juice. Does no one check stock?

When you're charging over £200 a night, you just need to do better than this.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lapine006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Brown, Owner at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2024

Thanks for your review Lapine006. I do wish you had mentioned these comments during your stay, so we could have made amends. That said, we got it wrong and we hold our hands up. I'm genuinely very sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2024

Stunning location with lovely walks and views across the lake. You can do a boat trip which lasts about 30 mins and you get a resume of local history. The hotel is classed as 3* and lives up to that rating despite the very high room price. The room was small to medium sized with a comfortable bed and very clean. Good quality beverages and fresh cookies in the room - nice touch. The room and bathroom were very shabby and the bathroom was extremely dated : the hot tap felt like it would fall off and the shower which had a ‘knack’ came out in one solid stream like a tap. The whole concept put me in mind of student accommodation if you get the picture. The restaurant was a joke with chaotic service and everyone around complaining which led to a terrible ambiance. Breakfast the next morning was no better by 08;30 everything had run out!! Day 2 breakfast was much better and actually quite delicious.
Lovely location and really nice friendly staff but I won’t be back or would recommend .

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frant1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Brown, Owner at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2024

Thank you for your review, Frant1967. I really don't agree with your comments about our bedrooms but i guess it's a question of taste.

I am very sorry that your restaurant experience was poor. There is no doubt we had a difficult weekend with a number of issues that we didn't handle well. We made some genuine mistakes which we will not make again.

I do hope you'll change your mind and give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2024

Amazing tranquil experience. Beautiful setting and views. Staff were all very friendly and professional. Booked a river view room and it had a brilliant view. Was very comfortable and spacious and the complimentary gin and tonic was a nice touch.
We ate in the main dining room which was good. Not a huge choice but food was tasty.
Breakfast was so good with plenty of choice and all served hot and fresh.
Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savourite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Brown, Owner at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

What a lovely review! Thank you. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2024 via mobile

Stayed with my Mum after attending an event in Beaulieu. Upon arrival we discovered our room was up several flights of stairs, in the eaves and incredibly small. I am 5ft2 and could touch the ceiling! Luckily I enquired about a room move and the lovely chap on reception arranged for us to stay in one of the newer rooms in the Henry Adam’s block which was far more comfortable and accessible. If you struggle with stairs make sure to check with the hotel where your room is before you book. Another guest had the same issue and struggled with accessing their room.

The setting is beautiful and we really enjoyed sitting out on the terrace with a drink. We had dinner at The Henry, staff very friendly and food was nice. Breakfast was included but slightly disappointing, also noticed the levels of cleanliness weren’t brilliant in the restaurant - dirty cups and side plates, visible dust on windowsill. This was unexpected as the prices to eat lunch and dinner here are very high.

The bed was extremely comfortable and the complimentary tea, coffee, milk and cookies was a nice touch.

Would love to stay again one day ❤️

Room tip: Check with hotel where your room is located.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Teamfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Brown, Owner at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

Thank you for your honest review, which is most helpful. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay but disappointed to note a few niggles. We'll sit down as a team this week and review your comments.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews