We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful rainy christmas break”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rosedale Abbey, Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
martin w
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Many Good points but a few negatives also”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was a family holiday with 6 adults and 1 baby. The house is very spacious set in very nice and well maintained grounds with wonderful views over the valley and hills. The property has been very well equipped but some of the items are in need of replacement . in particular the washing machine, fridge and tumble dryer. The house is listed as 4 star but imo falls a little short of this, but could quickly be brought back up to grade with some redecoration, upgrade of items listed above and better cleaning. Most of the house was clean upon our arrival but some of the bedroom floors were quite dirty. The house is listed as suitable for 8 adults. This is possible but at a push. The top floor rooms have very shallow ceilings and whilst ideal for children are very tight for adults and there is little in the way of storage there for clothes etc. The house is about 0.7 miles up a dirt/stone track and there is parking for 3 vehicles. This is on road parking whilst it is advertised as off road. We found it difficult to turn our cars around, it needs a 5 point turn with someone watching you, although if you go a further half mile down the track there is a good though rough turning point there is. The pub nearby is excellent and the track in front of the house leads on a nice walk to the nearby village of Lastingham which is a must. In short a very nice House but due a bit of an upgrade

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Views
Liked least: Rough drive to property and poor car parking/turning
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
Reviewed 17 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wyoming, USA
Reviewed 1 May 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kazzar159
north yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tranquil, Scenic and not far from the pub!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Really lovely, spacious house over 3 floors. The views were just amazing-so tranquil and peaceful.
4 bedrooms, 1 double and 1 twin on the 1st floor and 2 twins on the 2nd floor, with a bathroom on each floor and a downstairs loo.
Pros - Very comfortable, clean and well equipped property. The conservatory and the open fire really enhanced our stay. The housekeeper is a wealth of local knowledge and very friendly indeed. Local pub, The White Horse Inn serves very good food - I would advise booking to ensure a table. The Coach House Inn, in the village of Rosedale itself is very friendly too. Good walks round about.
Cons - none really, just little niggles - dishwasher didn't work, you can't use both showers at the same time, the access road is very bumpy so you must drive extremely slow - but to be fair the website makes not secret of this.

Our party was a group of eight 20 to 40 somethings and we had a fab time, we would definetly consider returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: the location and the cleanliness and the tranquility
Liked least: the bumpy access road
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbriodge Wells
Reviewed 1 February 2011 for a stay in November 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing