We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,331)
Filter reviews
1,331 results
Traveller rating
932
273
77
26
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
932
273
77
26
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amelia's pantry indoor pool on site dawlish warren well stocked shop woodland walk touring caravan golf buggy cofton farm fish and chip shop large site great facilities grass pitch great site super pitch zip wire soft play area
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,331 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

I've been to Coften a few times with the family when we were younger, loved every year. This time returning with my sister and best friend, in the recent storm! oops. I paid for pitch with electric up to 8 people. Last min we wanted to add a friend but was told it would cost the same price again because we had 2 tents (1 three man and 1 four man). When I went through the website there was nothing about '1 sleeping unit per pitch'. Eventually we decided to stay in the same tent which we later found out, upon arriving, it was extra to add another person to the same tent... again i went to the site and for the same day and pitch, no price difference so why did we pay more?

we settled up and were ready to be shown our pitch. around by the play park by the donkeys. We started to pitch the tent but the ground is make of steel it would seem, nothing would allow us to get our pegs into the ground, thinking it was us we just left it... then the wind get to us. I don't sleep much so I saw the night through till 4AM where the wind was horrific... and our tent unpegged exposing the inner layers and letting the rain through. after a 3AM repitch, it seemed to hold untill the morning, where we woke up under the tent... collapsed and soaked - the guy checking the tickets didnt even check ours! maybe because he didn't want to have to help? I phoned reception and asked if there was anything they would do to help or even supply a better mallet to help keep the tent pegs in. They sent one of their boys on the buggies to the 'Rescue' with a new mallet (which failed to penetrate the soil/stone/steel. one of our party left, but being stubborn we stayed for the worst night of the storm...

One lovely lady came to us and asked if we were ok and actually staying 'you shouldn't be up here you should be with the other campers'. Other campers? we strolled to the lakes because they're my fave! where we found every other person in a tent... why weren't we down there? we wanted to ask to move but thought, if you have to pay extra for a person surly you'd have to pay more or they would have offered when we asked for help... night came, so did the wind & rain – it was like 'Twister' meets 'The wizard of Oz'. granted it was our own choice to stay but your choice as to where we were positioned. We stayed in the car...

My holiday was excellent – my stay was shocking. The sheer lack of help or consideration from the team was really disappointing. I don't know where we went wrong or why nobody offered to help our situation, our age? looks? or because we weren't like the other campers.

From a long time customer, and a camping lover.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollieP158, Guest Relations at Cofton Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

We’re disappointed to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, especially as you’ve had such marvellous holidays with us previously. For the enjoyment and safety of our guests we enforce the 1 tent per pitch policy, this is due to fire regulations. The price per night is based on two people staying and each extra person after this is charged per night with rates depending on the season. If you have a preference on where you’d like to pitch up, our guest services team will always do their utmost to ensure you are happy with your location. This goodwill extends throughout the duration of your stay, and if you’re ever unhappy with your pitch, we’ll do our best to change this.
When we experience less than great weather, this makes the ground a little softer, and when we have a gloriously hot summer it can have the opposite effect. Many of our customers find using sturdier ground pegs more beneficial, our onsite shop stocks these along with many other camping accessories in case you find yourself without.
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, but we always urge our customers to talk us during their stay, so we can best alleviate any issues they may have at the time. We hope that you’ll consider Cofton again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Yet again a wonderful holiday was had by us all.
Already booked for next year.
Lovely accommodation very clean and well equipped.
Friendly staff always willing to help.
Excellent facilities.
Great fishing.
Well worth a visit.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank malcolm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollieP158, Guest Relations at Cofton Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

We're thrilled you had another lovely stay with us, and have already booked to stay again next year. If you like the fishing here, keep an eye out for our Cofton Cup fishing competitions, which run in May and September. See you in 2019, if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed a week 17/09 not at all impressed showers and toilets dated and not very clean black mould in shower cubicle. Pitches very tight and awkward to get caravan in and out. tip make sure you’ve got a motor mover. I’ve been in the fish and chip trade for 12 years and was not impressed by fish and chips not good quality and small portions. But worse than that the pub the swan inn I felt I had been violated. £7.80 for a pint and a half. Although the area is great and we were from the area a few years ago we won’t be visiting cofton caravan park again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank colin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollieP158, Guest Relations at Cofton Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

We're disappointed that your recent experience with us was not as expected. We're always on hand and happy to help if you need anything whilst staying with us. We are constantly upgrading our park to make improvements and take our guests' comments on board.
We would love for you to give us another opportunity to show you our high standards, so we really hope you will reconsider visiting us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

Loved the tiered pitches with excellent views and feeling of open space. Super value for money out of high season. Very well stocked shop -- almost any spares one needs for caravanning there plus the usual daily requirements like bread and newspapers.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DavidL10541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollieP158, Guest Relations at Cofton Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

Thank you for a five star review, we are delighted that you found us value for money and enjoyed our pitch setup. We are lucky to be situated in such a lovely part of Devon! Our onsite shop is stocked with everything you need from caravan/camping supplies, to souvenirs, to local food. We are also happy to take orders for newspapers and baked goods for the following day. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Perfect setting with excellent accommodation. Clean, spacious, comfortable with everything you would want to help make our stay enjoyable. Set in a peaceful area but within walking distance of the train station and Dawlish Warren and the beach. Would highly recommend

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Flyer5332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollieP158, Guest Relations at Cofton Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2018

We are glad that we had everything here at Cofton to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. Thank you for your five star review and high recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you back to us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews