We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Mayfield Cottage is set in an area of outstanding natural beauty.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mayfield Cottage is set in an area of outstanding natural beauty.
On the Durham Dales with easy access to Lake District, Cumbria, Northumberland and Scottish Boarder
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Mayfield Cottage is set in an area of outstanding natural beauty.
On the Durham Dales with easy access to Lake District, Cumbria, Northumberland and Scottish Boarder
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ireshopeburn, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael R
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a great few days in this lovely cottage. Really well equipped and comfortable, and the wood burning fireplace was a real plus. The cottage is in a great spot with many walks right out of the front door. Nearby are several good pubs for beer and food and local shops are handy. I'd go back again with no doubt, it's a great cottage and in an ideal spot

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thanks for your comments Michael. Much appreciated. Really pleased you enjoyed your time at the cottage and were able to sample some of the local hospitality. Thanks for leaving the cottage clean and tidy and hopefully will hear from you in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickt57
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely,luxurious property,revovated to a very high standard.”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed for 4 nights ,Mayfield cottage served as a great location for discovering,weardale,and surrounding counties.The Cottage is excellent ,renovated to high spec.We had the log fires lit every night ,central heating provided for whole house,alongside log fires .Warm as toast we were.The property has all mod cons ,fully fitted bathroom and power shower aswell as a large bath,big kitchen with fitted appliances.Also a plus plenty of places to eat locally.It is possible to get to the lake district for a day excursion as we did one day.I would recommend this cottage ,we enjoyed so much we have booked to go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location and high standard of accommodation
Liked least: Nothing really ,all good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Thanks Michael for you kind review. Thanks for looking after the place during your stay. Really pleased you enjoyed the cottage and surrounding area. Looking forward to hosting you next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loushiers
1 review
“Beautiful place, amazing cottage!”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here as 3 adults, our 8 year old daughter,and our dog, and there was more than enough room for us in this lovely cottage.
The cottage itself is beautifully decorated - and the wood burners are lovely to come back to, after a long day out.
We couldn't believe the amount of shooting stars we saw from the cottage, it was really magical. The cottage is situated in a lovely location surrounded by hills and next to the river.
Dave gave us lots of invaluable information about the area, about things to do and places to eat. There were some lovely walks on the doorstep, and a fabulous base for venturing further afield.
We would defiantly love to come back to Mayfield cottage, and would highly recommend to anyone - a beautiful part of the country.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Thanks Louise for your review and so please you like the cottage and surrounding area. Thanks for leaving the cottage tidy and clean, much appreciated. The star are amazing where we are and next time you should try Burnhope reservoir (just walking distance from the cottage) which is a designated dark skies area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing