We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Saleh's tour was fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
in the heart of the Wadi Rum protected area family meals, outdoors, round the camp-fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
135 reviews
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
in the heart of the Wadi Rum protected area
family meals, outdoors, round the camp-fire
trekking and camel-riding are easy options from the camp
the setting is as natural and tranquil and protected as you can imagine
the bedouin symbol of hospitality is the coffee pot
We have just (late 2013) installed new showers and wash basins, at the desert camp
Wadi Rum is famous for its spectacular rock bridges
there's 4x4 transport from the camp in Rum village to the camp in the heart of the desert
Lawrence's spring where he washed and rested after the capture of Aqaba
And we're keen to introduce new ideas, when they can blend in without doing damage!!
Saleh Musa, his wife and family run the bedouin tent like a special guest house, plus they run tours
to the south of Rum, on the Saudi border is Jordan's highest mountain
preparing for a day's safari -- safe adventure for all ages
we have developed a unique 'behind the veil' tour for women only, to learn bedouin skills
a branch of the Hijaz railway runs close to Wadi Rum, cutting through virgin desert
climb up then roll down the blood orange sand-dunes of Rum
ancient inscriptions in many caves and canyons, believed to date from the Nabateans who build Petra
imagine waking up to this view
or settling down to sleep after the perfect, peaceful sunset
and, most important!!, two new, European-style loo/WC/toilet/lavatory, in a nearby stone building
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Wadi Rum Village, Wadi Rum, Al Aqabah Governorate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 135 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
John G
Munich, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Saleh's tour was fantastic!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We spent a day at Wadi Rum traveling down from Petra by car. The journey is just under two hours. Due to a problem with our rental car, we arrived a couple of hours late, but Saleh waited for us, met us at the gate to Wadi Rum, and even organised a supply of patrol, as we were running low and petrol stations are few and far between...

The trip was well worth it! First, Saleh had prepared a light lunch and then we set off into the desert with another couple on the back of an open-top 4x4 driven by Saleh's nephew. We made a few stops on the tour; photographing camels, climbing sand dunes and sand-boarding down, climbing up rocks for some fantastic views, and having a rest and some Bedouin tea at a camp where T.E. Lawrence (of Arabia) once lived.

In the late afternoon we ended up at Saleh's camp, which is now equipped with modern bathroom facilities and showers. After a beautiful sunset viewed from a vantage point in the rocks above the camp, Saleh's wife had prepared a wonderful Bedouin evening meal, which we ate around a campfire. The live drum-music which echoed around the surrounding rock faces created an unforgettable atmosphere.

The trip was absolutely worthwhile, and the only shame was not being able to stay overnight due to our tight schedule. The 4x4 drive back to Rum village with Saleh in the desert darkness was something else... :-)

This tour was made all the more authentic as it was organised by Saleh and his immediate family, and was a completely traditional Bedouin experience - highly appreciated and recommended!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pablojaci...
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Best and Reliable Bedoiun Camp in Wadi Rum”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My wife and I arrived in Wadi Rum, without reservation, on 26/10/03 . We stopped at the Visitor Center, where I supposed to be a reliable place. But, there we were deceived by some people and we ended up hiring a terrible guide who charged us double of the official price. We had to report to the tourist police.
Fortunately, we met Saleh and his family which welcomed us and helped us solve the problems with police assistance .
We stayed at Saleh’s Camp in the desert, where we had fun and a pleasant experience with bedouin style .
Saleh’s wife , Alia , is a lovely person and very fine cooker. The meals are very well served.
The brother of Saleh , Atie, is very friendly and fun .
We didn’t do a tour with Saleh because we had already closed the tour with the guide with whom we had problems. However, the people we talked about Saleh’s tour told that it was great. Aparently, Saleh organizes personalized tours, unlike the standard package offered by others.
If we go back to Wadi Rum someday, definilly we will look for this lovely family, which strove to help us and welcomed us into their home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kind and reliable people
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise095
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Best experience at Wadi Rum”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We recommend Saleh's Boutique camp because he takes care of everything - a car at the airport to pick you up, a full day's outing on a jeep/truck to see all the sites (not just 3 hours as in other places), good picnic lunch with campfire tea, sunset on the rocks, good healthy dinner cooked by his wife Alia, and overall a lovely experience - Saleh is a seriously good business person, low key but super efficient. His brother A-tiq is a great guide, good sense of humour and responds to the wishes of the customer. We suggest you ask for sheets and towels to be provided just to be sure. Don't miss this experience, it is very special and memorable.

Suggest Saleh make sure his camp is on the general tripadvisor site not just the UK one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Efficiency of the operation yet with low-key quiet local hospitality
Liked least: noticed others didn't have sheets supplied, glad we had asked
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2013
thanks for the lovely review Denise. . .
it's great that all the details we work on are being appreciated . . .
what else do we have to do for you to give us a 5-star review, like nearly everyone else has done? we are always looking to improve and would be grateful for your thoughts and suggestions. . .
perhaps emailed if you'd rather do that. . .
did you receive our additional notes, that we send to everyone who books via the web-site; these clarify in advance a couple of the points you're making. . .
thanks again and warm wishes from us all . . .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane D
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our family spent two weeks in Jordan visiting all the key sites. Our two girls, age 10 and 12, were most impressed with the day we spent in the Wadi Rum desert and the experience of spending the night in a tent. Saleh and his wife Alia are very warm and welcoming. One of the family members took us around the major sites and the girls had a chance to "sand surf" in the dunes. Then you go to the camp and enjoy a meal and campfire with the other guests. The bathroom facilities are clean, but basic as you would expect given the location.

Alia does the cooking for the camp. We stayed mainly in 5 star hotels during our trip, but I have to say that Alia's cooking outdid anything else we ate on the trip. Overall, I found Jordanian food to be relatively bland, but Alia took things to another level. As someone who really enjoys cooking and many different cuisines - I wish I had spent some time in the kitchen with her rather than visiting the dunes! If she writes a cookbook, I would gladly buy it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Alia's cooking
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancesJo...
Jordan
2 reviews
“Ultimate Bedouin Wadi Rum Experience with fabulous Saleh Mosa family hosts.”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We lived in Jordan for two years and spent many weekends with the wonderful Saleh and his family (Alia, Saleh's wife and most magnificent cook with an incredible smile and generosity of spirit to match, and Atik, Saleh's brother and a most amusing and magnificent guide) at Saleh's camp in the Wadi Rum.

We love it, as have all our guests, and would recommend it to everyone. Saleh is the best Bedouin host we could ever know and his hospitality is unsurpassed in our experience.

The only thing left to say is that I can't wait to go back, which is the highest recommendation I can give!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REsurfer
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wadi Rum Magical Desert Adventure”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four with two well-traveled teenage daughters (ages 16 & 19) ventured through Wadi Rum for two days and one night in August 2013. Saleh and his wife Alia, mother and two younger children Mohammad and Sarar, shared their genuine Bedouin hospitality from greeting us at their home in Rum Village with tea, chatting about our visit to Jordan, to help us plan our jeep tour though Wadi Rum. We were surprised to discover the ease of riding a camel to camp compared to the horses and donkey rides of Petra. This late afternoon ride among the shadow of Jebel Rum introduced us to beautiful Wadi Rum vistas and a desert pace of life. We marveled at the orange hues of the desert sunset and the soft morning sunlight blanketing the desert floor from the bluffs above Saleh’s Jebal Khazali campsite. Once inside our secured tent compound, we optioned to sleep outside on mats and mattresses while gazing at the Milky Way and sea of stars dancing above our heads in the midnight skies, as our daughters slept inside the tent. Eleven shooting stars streaked across the galaxy night. Our daughters still rave about the dinner (best meal in Jordan!!) prepared at the camp by Alia and her post dinner singing and drumming entertainment.

In the morning a first stop on our jeep tour was a thrilling sand boarding ride down the red desert dunes. Later, after a stop to see Lawrence’s House, we experienced cliff jumping and captured our free fall action photos with amazing desert backgrounds. Our footing and balance was tested as we scrambled up and down the rock face to walk across the majestic Umm Fruth Rock Bridge.

Saleh customized our jeep tour to those sites we selected and his brother Attiyak drove us though the desert and explained each destination. Socializing with Saleh and his warm Bedouin family is an intimate and unique experience, leaving our family with everlasting Wadi Rum memories of a magical desert adventure.

We recommend this camp to travelers who wish to experience a Bedouin family, the traditional desert culture of warm hospitality and the adventures of Wadi Rum.

GG, San Francisco, USA, August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm Bedouin family hospitality and breath taking desert vistas
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familie v
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An unforgettable experience!”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We spent 2 nights in Wadi Rum with Saleh and his lovely family. We felt welcome the moment we stepped out of the car. The scenery is breath-taking and we chose to get to the camp by camel (extra cost but very reasonable). The itinerary was perfect for the amount of time we had and for our teenage sons (sand boarding was a highlight for them!) The food prepared by Saleh's wife in the evenings was delicious and there was plenty of it. The sunsets against the red sand were unforgettable. Thank you Saleh and Alia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: We really appreciated the friendly and relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: Not so much 'liked least', but remember you are in the middle of the desert so bathroom is basic. Also there are no sheets/pillow cases provided; we took sheet-sleepingbags
Travelling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing