We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best adventure so far”
other travellers have booked this property
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
in the heart of the Wadi Rum protected area family meals, outdoors, round the camp-fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
129 reviews
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
in the heart of the Wadi Rum protected area
family meals, outdoors, round the camp-fire
trekking and camel-riding are easy options from the camp
the setting is as natural and tranquil and protected as you can imagine
the bedouin symbol of hospitality is the coffee pot
We have just (late 2013) installed new showers and wash basins, at the desert camp
Wadi Rum is famous for its spectacular rock bridges
there's 4x4 transport from the camp in Rum village to the camp in the heart of the desert
Lawrence's spring where he washed and rested after the capture of Aqaba
And we're keen to introduce new ideas, when they can blend in without doing damage!!
Saleh Musa, his wife and family run the bedouin tent like a special guest house, plus they run tours
to the south of Rum, on the Saudi border is Jordan's highest mountain
preparing for a day's safari -- safe adventure for all ages
we have developed a unique 'behind the veil' tour for women only, to learn bedouin skills
a branch of the Hijaz railway runs close to Wadi Rum, cutting through virgin desert
climb up then roll down the blood orange sand-dunes of Rum
ancient inscriptions in many caves and canyons, believed to date from the Nabateans who build Petra
imagine waking up to this view
or settling down to sleep after the perfect, peaceful sunset
and, most important!!, two new, European-style loo/WC/toilet/lavatory, in a nearby stone building
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Wadi Rum Village, Wadi Rum, Al Aqabah Governorate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 129 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Andrzej K
Gorzow Wielkopolski, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best adventure so far”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Planning our trip to Jordan we mainly wanted to see Petra, but by accident we found Saleh's website - it was so interesting and trustful that we decided to visit him for one day and night. And it appeared that the website was 100% truth. Saleh welcomed us in his tent office, let us leave our rented car in front of his house in the village and together with his family took us for the best desert adventure (day + night) ever. All the food they prepared themselves was delicious, the whole camp was woderful and we managed to visit basically all the most interesting things that can be seen in Wadi Rum within the day (of course it is better to have more time).
In the evening Saleh with his family prepared delicious food and we had a lot of fun singing and dancing with them.
One more very important thing - not only the website was trustful, but it appeared that also in real life Saleh and his family are trustful, very hospitable and very honest people and staying with them is very safe and delightful experience.
(A family 2 + 2 - boys aged 8 & 12)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifulness of nature, great hospitality of the host
Liked least: Not applicable - there were no such things
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nayomi K
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most incredible day”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family had one of our best holiday experiences ever at Saleh's Wadi Rum desert camp. We almost didn't come to Wadi Rum at all as we hadn't really given it much thought and had only intended to visit Petra but after finding Saleh's website by chance through a Google search, I became hooked and knew that I wanted my family to experience Wadi Rum on one of Saleh's tours. Booking was so quick and easy via Tudor, who was on hand to answer all of my questions and give me plenty of guidance. The price for our family of four was the same as what many of the other Wadi Rum tour operators charge for one person so I consider our experience to have been very good value for money on top of everything else.

I was worried as to what my parents (both in their 70s) would make of the whole experience and the desert lodgings but Tudor kindly sent me photos of the (extremely civilised) camp, which allayed my fears. It turns out that I needn't have worried about my parents: they had the best time of all of us and they loved their overnight stay in the desert. I think that they'll be taking about their time in Wadi Rum for many years to come.

Saleh is very much the consummate tour organiser and was in touch with me via text several days before I was due to arrive so that we could finalise arrangements so I knew exactly where I had to be and at what time. We had a rental car and drove to ourselves to Wadi Rum from Petra. For anyone thinking of doing the same thing, allow at least 90 minutes to get there. We ended up taking just under 2 hours (we were slightly delayed because we got lost looking for a petrol station). I would say that the drive itself is very straight forward once you get out of the Wadi Musa area - follow the signs to Aqaba and turn off once you see the sign for Wadi Rum, then it's just a straight road right down to the visitor centre and approximately another 6km to Rum village where Saleh lives.

Many of the other reviewers have commented on Saleh's wife, Alia's, amazing cooking. I have to say that not only is Alia a brilliant cook, she is also an incredible hostess with an ebullient personality, infectious laugh, great sense of humour and lots of stories to tell about family life and the experiences of the many tourists that have come and gone. We were made to feel welcome from the moment that we arrived at the family home - delicious Bedouin tea was on tap and everyone was so friendly. Even Saleh's mother and Saleh and Alia's kids took time to chat to us.

We spent an afternoon exploring the desert with Saleh's nephew, Musa, who also has a great personality and wicked sense of humour. He had my Dad trying out the sand board and jumping off rocks onto the sand below before the afternoon was up! We then retired to the desert camp to watch the sun going down, eat a delicious dinner cooked by Alia and watch the stars come out all across the desert sky before retiring to our very comfortable camp beds. It was definitely a whole day full of incredible memories.

Thank you Saleh, Alia, Musa and all the family for giving us a truly special experience that we will never forget.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reut_and...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adventure in the desert with Saleh and his family”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Before our arrival in Jordan, Saleh had organised transport to Petra and the camp so we were never worried how we were going to get to places safely. we spoke about everything over the phone and email and everything went very smoothly.
After meeting with Saleh and his family at his house in town we were welcomed by Alia and some of his children for henna painting and to get to understand some of the Bedouin traditions.
The 4x4 Jeep tour felt a bit dangerous but amazing. We were driven around by Saleh's brother, a jovial character who made us a traditional lunch and showed us secret spots, keeping us entertained with his fun spirit and knowledge about the desert.
That evening we spent time with Alia talking about her life in the desert while she showed us how to cook some of the traditional Middle Eastern dishes. Dinner was shared with other guests around the campfire where the Bedouin men sang and danced the night away.
We spent the night sleeping in our own small tent, with views overlooking the spectacular desert.
The following day started with a basic traditional breakfast before grabbing our 'taxi', a local camel back to the town.

Saleh and his family were amazing hosts and showed us the best the desert has to offer. We leave here with the fondest memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Spending time with Alia, connecting through language and culture differences
Liked least: mattresses - very used
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue T
Bradford on avon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go nowhere else in Wadi Rum but here!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this over the Internet after comparing many sites in Wadi Rum and I'm so glad I did. Saleh and Alia looked after us wonderfully well and everything ran like clockwork. We had a camel safari followed by a 5 hour jeep safari including tea over a camp fire in a canyon and another in a genuine Bedouin tent with Attic's family who were very welcoming. The camp itself was charming. Clean,warm bedding on proper beds and western loos with paper and a flush! There's even a hot shower. Having said this, absolutely nothing is lost in terms of the "Bedouin Experience" and Alia cooked the best meal we had whilst in Jordan. She is warm and welcoming and together they make the experience unforgettable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicewhit...
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic highlight of the holiday”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My family(husband and two daughters) stayed with Saleh Mosa and his family for one night on our one week trip to Jordan. When I asked my daughters what they both liked best about Jordan, their response was, "Staying in the Bedouin tent with Saleh and his family. From the moment we spoke to Saleh on the phone we felt welcome and confident that we were going to have a great time in Wadi Rum. Saleh welcomed us at the visitor center and we proceeded to his home to be welcomed by his lovely family. Throughout the day Saleh took us to areas of interest for both us and our children. The camp was amazing and was a relaxing and comfortable place to stay under an amazing night sky. Aliya (Saleh's wife) was willing to share and teach me different delicious Arabic dishes and spent time with my children showing them how the Bedouin women plait their hair. We also had a great evening beside the fire playing the drum and singing. If you're looking for a family friendly stay in Wadi Rum, I would highly recommend Saleh Mosa's boutique safari camp. We felt that we got value for the money that we paid and now have wonderful memoires of Wadi Rum.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: People and landscape
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluegalgi...
Durham, NC
1 review
“Amazing experience with Saleh and his family”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Saleh is authentic, honest, and cares about his guests. He offered to organize our transport from Petra to Wadi Rum, and when I told him I'd already booked with the van, Saleh called the van driver to make sure he knew where to take us. Saleh also got our Wadi Rum entry tickets in advance so we didn't have to, because all the tour guides trying for your business there can be a bit pushy. We were taken by the van directly to Saleh's house, where we drank tea and talked about our day. We were taken on our tour by Mousa, Saleh's nephew, who was great and took us to more sites then we can remember. We rode in the back of a pickup truck that had benches built in, which for us was more desirable then sitting in the backseat of a suv. Dinner that evening in the camp, cooked by Saleh's lovely wife Alia, was easily the most delicious meal we had on our entire Jordan trip. The camp is smaller and more intimate. I originally chose it because I'd read about large, impersonal camps, and we wanted to be able to choose our experiences for the day, as well as interact with the family. We would like to return and have a longer stay, and we would DEFINITELY recommend Saleh and his tours to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience was even better then described and easy, Saleh handled everything for us very well.
Liked least: It was really all wonderful!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y0sik0
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bedouin life experience”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed 3 nights and 4 days at the Saleh's Camp and it became the most memorable part of our visit of Jordan.

We had a brief experience of the Bedouin's life of not so long time ago.

Saleh's camp is a small family operated camp. Our visit was the end of the off season (The end of Feb.) so for 2days, we are the only the gusts, we had a lot of time to talk and ask questions about the Bedouin's life.

Sale's wife Alia, cooks dinner for us every day! She is a great cook, of course.
I got a chance to help her in the kitchen and learnt some of the Bedoin's dishes.
Alia is the wonderful part of this camp experience. She is a kind and warm-hearted lady. She braided my hair with the Bedouin way and played the drum for us in the night.

In the day time, Saleh took us to the scenic places of Wadi Rum by his truck and show us the places he played when he was a child. (His truck have a roof top so it made a nice shade from the desert sun.)

We got a Camel ride. Saleh's cousin took us more than an hour of the Camel ride to the dunes. It was the first Camel ride for us and was very enjoyable.

In the night, we gathered around the fire with a lot of tea.
Enjoyed stars.

I took a lot of pictures but Alia's picture. Just to respect the Bedouin women's way. I got a lot of memories of her without any pictures.

Bring the flash light and binocular.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Saleh and his wife Alia's personal care.
Liked least: Good-bye was sad...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing