We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a dream come true”
other travellers have booked this property
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
in the heart of the Wadi Rum protected area family meals, outdoors, round the camp-fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
127 reviews
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
in the heart of the Wadi Rum protected area
family meals, outdoors, round the camp-fire
trekking and camel-riding are easy options from the camp
the setting is as natural and tranquil and protected as you can imagine
the bedouin symbol of hospitality is the coffee pot
We have just (late 2013) installed new showers and wash basins, at the desert camp
Wadi Rum is famous for its spectacular rock bridges
there's 4x4 transport from the camp in Rum village to the camp in the heart of the desert
Lawrence's spring where he washed and rested after the capture of Aqaba
And we're keen to introduce new ideas, when they can blend in without doing damage!!
Saleh Musa, his wife and family run the bedouin tent like a special guest house, plus they run tours
to the south of Rum, on the Saudi border is Jordan's highest mountain
preparing for a day's safari -- safe adventure for all ages
we have developed a unique 'behind the veil' tour for women only, to learn bedouin skills
a branch of the Hijaz railway runs close to Wadi Rum, cutting through virgin desert
climb up then roll down the blood orange sand-dunes of Rum
ancient inscriptions in many caves and canyons, believed to date from the Nabateans who build Petra
imagine waking up to this view
or settling down to sleep after the perfect, peaceful sunset
and, most important!!, two new, European-style loo/WC/toilet/lavatory, in a nearby stone building
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Wadi Rum Village, Wadi Rum, Al Aqabah Governorate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 127 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
LeonardRO...
Satu Mare, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a dream come true”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in April 2015

For an once in a lifetime experience inside a true bedouin family, look no further! There are many camp sites in Wadi Rum, but I knew what I wanted.. to sense that magical feeling in the desert, to sleep under the stars and get a glimpse of how the locals live. I got more !
Saleh and Alia welcomed us in their family and for a moment I felt like a part of it.. They do know how to make you comfortable and what you get is the real experience. The camp is nice, the food was really great (with traditional food cooked by Alia - his wife) and yes.. you have even a bathroom with shower in the desert !
You can walk outside the camp and wander on your own for an outstanding sunset.
The jeep ride in the desert was full of fun and enjoyment whether you go with Saleh or his brother.. we felt secure and we saw more than we were thinking.. you just have to experience it.. it was my dream... and they helped it make it true.. thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamba1
Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical experience even with a three year old!”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We loved every minute of our stay. Very personal and totally unique. We arrived without having had lunch so Saleh wonderful wife made some food for us before we headed into the dessert with his brother who could not have done more to make our experience interesting. He even helped our little 3 year old get to the top of rocks and he took many of the best photos we have. We surf boarded down a sand dune and after lots of other interesting stops we ended up with a delicious home cooked meal and a very comfortable camp site. the next morning we rode camels out of the dessert en famille. This was a highlight for all the family with memories we will have forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm generosity of a genuine Jordanian family
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggioam
arlington, va
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is the real deal!”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was a highlight of out trip to the Middle East. What our family experienced was an authentic experience. We enjoyed the comfort of a large tent that held our entire family but were offered more than one tent to spread out if needed. Saleh was an excellent guide to show us all the sights of the desert via jeep. We stopped to sand board down a dune and helped to feed his camels at the end of the day. He has a lovely family and his wife served us a delicious evening meal. I liked that Saleh and his wife are running a family business, they have lived here their whole lives and are the "real deal". It is best to call Saleh direct on his cell phone to arrange visit dates and plans. He was helpful in arranging transportation from Amman to Petra and Wadi Rum and then on to Allenby Bridge at the end. The driver he arranged was the best we had during our 2 weeks in the East. This is a unique experience that we will not soon forget. Thank you Saleh and Alia and family. You were so gracious to us.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeroen B
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yes, you do with the bedouin family in this camp”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Alia and Saleh work side by side to make everyone's stay a special one. This is a well organised camp with basic accommodation, decent bathrooms, solar lights, and the whole nine yard dessert under the stars experience. And what a spectacular traditional home cooked meal!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimVdHerr...
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
“Unique experience & wonderful family business”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Saleh and Alia run a superb authentic family business.

Saleh put together a great tour for us in Wadi Rum, with a 3 hour jeep tour in the desert to show the highlights, a great overnight stay in their desert based bedouin camp and a camel ride back to the Rum village. Wadi Rum was definitely one of the most unique experiences for us.

Saleh's wife, Alia made us excellent bedouin food for dinner and breakfast in their desert camp which very comfortable (excellent beds, running water, toilets and you could even take a shower)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“wonderful place to be with great hospitality”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

It was a great pleasure für us to spend two night in Saleh's Camp. In this time we meet the whole family und were overwhelmed of the great hospitality and furthermore the cooking skills of Saleh's wife Alia. Breakfast and dinner, when dreams come true. A jeep-tour through the desert was included and there we had all the time to know the desert. Thank you very much for this special experience. We absolutely recommend this camp and were so lucky to stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“A special time, in a special place, with special a tour guide and his family”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Saleh and his wife were fabulous hosts. The tour was excellent, and the food was delicious. The amenities were really good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosts great attitudes, the tour and the food.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing