We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Nearby Hotels
Villa di Piazzano(Piazzano)
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Oasi Neumann(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Locanda del Molino(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Santa Margherita(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Marsili(Cortona)
US$489
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$462
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Locanda i Grifi(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Luca(Cortona)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Reviews (692)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveller rating
625
38
15
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
38
15
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis motherthe ownersteam roomspecial hotelcycling tripour honeymoonfamily homepersonal servicegrounds are beautifulwine tastingheaven on earthsalamithis wonderful placeamazing hotelmakes you feelmodern amenitiesthe perfect host
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 692 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The owner, David, and his staff are wonderful. Helpful to the max.
On arrival David greeted us and helped us to our rooms. I was, at first, a little disappointed in how dark our room was. However, it did make for a good night's sleep. The bathroom was also dark & that could be brightened up. We had a nice sitting area, comfortable bed, and our own patio.
We took a cooking class with Giuseppe & Carla, along with interpreter Gemma, that was GREAT. I will definitely make pick pasta at home - never would have guessed I'd do that! We loved eating our "lesson" for lunch.
David also arranged a cheese & wine tour with Dejan that was outstanding. We loved seeing Pienza, Montepulciani, etc., and had a great lunch included.
We enjoyed cooling off in the pool after hot days exploring Tuscany.

Room Tip: I'd ask for one of the newer rooms that might be brighter since I like light!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jawms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

wonderful experience. Recommend it highly. Greeted warmly and graciously by David, the proprietor, at this family owned and run Relais. By the time we departed, he had made us feel like family. Relais is absolutely charming -- our room lovely, grounds beautiful and the new spa rooms luxurious. And the restaurant… it's a very elegant and intimate setting and the food really outstanding. Service also impeccable. This was a highlight of trip for us and other tables echoed our sentiment. Relais is well situated for easy treks to Assisi and Arezzo, and of course Cortona, all of which we visited during our 3 days there. Lunched out and dined in at the Relais. So happy we did. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1MapleLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We had only 2 days stay at this beautiful hotel just a short drive from the Cortona township. Our room decorated in traditional style was delightful.Apart from the delicious breakfast, we did not dine at the hotel as we were not terribly hungry. The host and owner David is very hospitable and takes obvious pride in his establishment. When we asked for a recommendation of a winery to visit for a day, he was straight on the phone seeing if we could fit on a winery tour and degustation lunch at Aviognesi. Fortunately they could accommodate us. It was an easy 20 minute drive away and I have to say this is a MUST experience. The cost of 65 Euros per head was well worth it and if in Australia would have cost much more. The tour of the winery was most interesting and the lunch overlooking the vineyards was to die for. Normally degustation meals have one glass of matching wines per course, but here they were topped up and included some very expensive wines. A big thanks to David for organising this day for us. If we are lucky enough to return to Italy, we will definitely return.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We were staying at nearby Casa Bacanella and drove past this beautifully manicured stone facade and decided to turn in to see what was there and we came upon the magical Relais La Corte dei Papi. The beautiful rustic buildings and the well manicured grounds gave a hint
to the pride and care put into this unique retreat in the rolling valley just outside the town of Cortona.
We went in to take a peak and were greeted by owner David Papi who could not have been more friendly and warm. So excited to see a beautiful dining room with the look and feel that you imagine only exists in movies, we made reservations for dinner that evening.
Everything about the meal was just perfect. The service was attentive without being intrusive,
the food was fresh with the simple Tuscan style that makes it so authentically delicious.
But what made this experience even more memorable was the very charm that David Papi exudes---a charm of genuine care about his guests and a pride he has in the beautiful retreat he has created.
If you're looking for a perfect blend of beauty, peace, convenience and a friendly and engaging host, give yourself a treat and book Relais La Corte dei Papi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandbridgeltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My daughter and I spent 6 days at La Corte dei Papi and attended four cooking classes via International Kitchens. David and the staff were all so friendly and delightful. Our suite in the original villa was lovely with a terrific shower. The grounds were gorgeous. Each meal prepared by Giuseppe and Carla was delicious and beautifully presented, their cooking classes were fun and informative - with the help of Gemma translating. I will honestly prepare many of the dishes we made. I loved having our afternoon excursions all planned, simply had to step outside to meet the driver each day. We were taken to Cortona, Montepuliciano, Pienza and Assisi. Each town unique. Loved exploring Rocco Maggiore in Assisi. If you are looking for a Tuscan experience I highly recommend this one!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews