We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, friendly hosts”
Review of Chateau de Ternay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Ternay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ternay
Provo, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, friendly hosts”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My mother and I stayed one evening with Carolin and Loic. We were very pleased with our hosts' friendliness, congeniality and warmth. Loic gave us a tour of the chateau (which has a wonderful history). Although the chateau is older, we were pleased to see that Carolin and Loic love their home and are trying to maintain the upkeep and rennovation of the building. I think it is important to support such efforts, so I would recommend the chateau to anyone who wants a fun and atmospheric place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    20
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
76
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Be aware, there are 3 places called Ternay within 100 miles of each other and we drove to the wrong one due to the early start and a night on the ferry. We phoned and explained and and were guided to the right one by Carolin who was patient and kind, just be sure to type in post code 86120 into the sat nav. When we got there Loic and Carolin were most welcoming and as the day was hot we jumped straight into their pool. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast good. We got a tour of the Chateau the next morning and Loic tried his best in English which was most appreciated. They also have 2 amazingly sweet dogs who followed us around, great if you're like me and like dogs. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jesspinkfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The whole experience is great at the Chateau de Ternay. If you want to spend 500 euros a night to be pampered in the sumptuous luxury of a fully restored 19th century chateau, this is not for you. If you want to stay with a wonderful warm family in a chateau that dates principally from the 15th century (but has parts from much earlier) and discover what it is to wake up to only the sound of birds and a cheeful countess serving up breakfast with one or two other friendly guests, this place is awesome. Loic's personal tour of the chateau and the history of his family, which has owned it since 1606, is entertaining and informative. The sculpture in the 15th cent. chapel is pristine and better than you will see in almost any cathedral. You feel like you are making a discovery of the past, living in a special place, and enjoying the warm hospitality of owners who love their family's heritage and want to share it with you. They are not folks running a hotel. When we arrived about 9:00pm the first night they were concerned we hadn't eaten yet and shared some salad and cheese with us, just because that is what you do when someone comes to visit you. These are really great hosts and their chateau is a real home, not just a chateau restored as a hotel. The pictures on their website are accurate of what you get. The other guests we had breakfast with also all loved the place. This one is a great find.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, CT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Stayed 3 nights and the room was excellent with modern en suite bath facilities. Being an old cheateau the ceilings were high and the room large. Make sure that you receive a tour of the chateau with an explanation of its history. The Ternay's youmgest son (Louis) did this for us and it was a facinating hour. Caroline, our host, made us dinner reservations as we were late arriving on 03/31. The restaurant was only 10 minutes away and was so good we went there again. The restaurant was Tresor Belge in Pouancay. Caroline's English was very good and she was attentive to our needs and very pleasant.
The view from our room was pastoral and beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnboymadisonct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puteaux, France
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

very beautiful and romantic castle

the room is huge (more than 40m2) and extremely well decorated

owners are very nice and make you visit the chapel of the castle

price is more than correct (about 100 euros per night) for such a quality and romance atmosphere

  • Liked — well decorated and large room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrenchTrotteuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2007

Chateau de Ternay is one of those great places few people stumble upon when traveling. It has everything- history , great atmosphere and charming host who really enjoy having you share in their surroundings and family history. Loic and Caroline ( a count and countess) are very gracious and laidback. We arrived late afternoon and our room was great. There are only about 4 rooms and we were the only guest which just added to our visit. We were served tea in front of a warm fire with classical music playing and told if we needed anything to just ring the bell right outside in the courtyard. They do not serve dinner unless arrangements are made beforehand but Caroline made dinner reservations in a town nearby that was great and reasonably priced. Our room was cozy and well done. Much of the chateau is slowly being restored ( by them!) and they do actually live in the house. The details and fascinating vibe of the chateau cannot be duplicated ! When you stay at a larger place that is completely restored and not someone's personal home you lose that feeling and that is usually the kind of place I stay! You really feel the history here and that is what makes it so great.
The next morning we had breakfast in the sitting room- coffee,tea,fruit and croissants with assorted jams. We were invited to join a group of their friends visiting that morning for a historical tour (Loic is very funny ) of the chateau and then a truffle hunt. It was all so fascinating and fun. They have a chapel off the courtyard that is so well preserved it is amazing- no restoration to the sculptures-really beautiful. After watching the dog hunt truffles we were invited back to the sitting room with a roaring fire and champagne. So wonderful and personal- and we never felt out of place with all these people.. It is just one of those places you have to visit. The owners are great and you will always remember your time there. Take cash- they are not set up for credit cards! And buy a truffle if you can!

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank larklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ternay
8.3 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Du Bellay
Hotel Le Relais Du Bellay
#1 of 1 in Montreuil-Bellay
172 reviews
6.3 mi away
Le Clos Albert
Le Clos Albert
#1 of 3 in Loudun
11 reviews
13.0 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Domaine de Roiffe
Domaine de Roiffe
#1 of 1 in Roiffe
173 reviews
10.7 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
383 reviews
11.1 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Ternay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Ternay

Property: Chateau de Ternay
Address: 9 rue du Chateau, 86120 Ternay, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Ternay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ternay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The de Ternay family have been bringing alive this historic monument, which dates from the 15th and 19th centuries, since 1606. Within the walls of the Château nestles a small chapel which is considered to be a masterpiece of gothic art. The warm and friendly welcome that you will receive in these prestigious surroundings, where strength and elegance join forces, is a promising start to your stay in a haven of peace. From your room, enjoy views over the calm sweep of the Dive valley, or the Château grounds, with trees that have stood for centuries. The authenticity of this historic site is a real pleasure to discover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Ternay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing