We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming chateau and hosts”
Review of Chateau de Ternay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Ternay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ternay
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Traveling with our 8-year-old grandaughter, we had 4 wonderful days at Chateau de Ternay. Our grandaughter loved the resident animals and had fun wandering the estate. We loved our lovely huge rooms and the warmth and humor of our hosts, Loic and Caroline de Ternay, as well as their cooking for two (pre-booked) dinners. We would definitely stay at this special and beautiful chateau again. Be prepared to pay cash.

Room Tip: The only suite is on the ground floor, has good heaters and view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

I used booking.com to make a reservation for two nights. In the reservation I added a question, if it was possible to get two separate beds instead of 1. The answer to that question was that it was not possible.
If I wanted this, I should upgrade the reservation. So no problem so far.
2 weeks before the trip I got an email that the booking could not be confirmed and that it was not possible to make a reservation for my second night. Sorry for the inconvenience . Eh, what?
End of story, I had to make a reservation for another hotel.
Very poor communication of their part. I would have loved to stay. They overbooked.
I made a complaint at booking.com too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank rolfmaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Sir,

It is true that there was a problem with your reservation with us but your request was a bit special because you are booking a room with a king size bed and asked me to divide it into two, so I had to cancel your reservation because it was not possible to give you what you asked. So we took ​​another reservation for this room.

To get you out a difficult situation, I sent you an email saying that I found for you in another castle in the Loire Valley with the same characteristics a room which corresponded to your needs. You do not accept this proposal because you had found alternative accommodation.

In a spirit of conciliation I invite you to a guided tour of château de Ternay, I will receive you free and with pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

As others have noted, this is not a place for those who must travel haute luxe at all times--and may they stay away. This is a place for those who want to meet warm, genuine, honest people, and stay in their much loved home, which happens to be a weloming, fascinating, very comfortable chateau. Don't miss the tour of the chateau; talk with Caroline and Loic--they are lovely and most gracious with those of us with limited (or even no) French; have dinner at least once at the chateau: in addition to being elegantly served and delicious, it is a great bargain: you can spend 80 euros for two in a heartbeat at a brasserie in Saumur; and take a walk with the dogs--they won't let you go without then anyway. We have been to France about 20 times: this was probably our most memorable visit. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: All rooms seem lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akamother55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My mother and I stayed one evening with Carolin and Loic. We were very pleased with our hosts' friendliness, congeniality and warmth. Loic gave us a tour of the chateau (which has a wonderful history). Although the chateau is older, we were pleased to see that Carolin and Loic love their home and are trying to maintain the upkeep and rennovation of the building. I think it is important to support such efforts, so I would recommend the chateau to anyone who wants a fun and atmospheric place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Be aware, there are 3 places called Ternay within 100 miles of each other and we drove to the wrong one due to the early start and a night on the ferry. We phoned and explained and and were guided to the right one by Carolin who was patient and kind, just be sure to type in post code 86120 into the sat nav. When we got there Loic and Carolin were most welcoming and as the day was hot we jumped straight into their pool. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast good. We got a tour of the Chateau the next morning and Loic tried his best in English which was most appreciated. They also have 2 amazingly sweet dogs who followed us around, great if you're like me and like dogs. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jesspinkfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The whole experience is great at the Chateau de Ternay. If you want to spend 500 euros a night to be pampered in the sumptuous luxury of a fully restored 19th century chateau, this is not for you. If you want to stay with a wonderful warm family in a chateau that dates principally from the 15th century (but has parts from much earlier) and discover what it is to wake up to only the sound of birds and a cheeful countess serving up breakfast with one or two other friendly guests, this place is awesome. Loic's personal tour of the chateau and the history of his family, which has owned it since 1606, is entertaining and informative. The sculpture in the 15th cent. chapel is pristine and better than you will see in almost any cathedral. You feel like you are making a discovery of the past, living in a special place, and enjoying the warm hospitality of owners who love their family's heritage and want to share it with you. They are not folks running a hotel. When we arrived about 9:00pm the first night they were concerned we hadn't eaten yet and shared some salad and cheese with us, just because that is what you do when someone comes to visit you. These are really great hosts and their chateau is a real home, not just a chateau restored as a hotel. The pictures on their website are accurate of what you get. The other guests we had breakfast with also all loved the place. This one is a great find.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank justbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Stayed 3 nights and the room was excellent with modern en suite bath facilities. Being an old cheateau the ceilings were high and the room large. Make sure that you receive a tour of the chateau with an explanation of its history. The Ternay's youmgest son (Louis) did this for us and it was a facinating hour. Caroline, our host, made us dinner reservations as we were late arriving on 03/31. The restaurant was only 10 minutes away and was so good we went there again. The restaurant was Tresor Belge in Pouancay. Caroline's English was very good and she was attentive to our needs and very pleasant.
The view from our room was pastoral and beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnboymadisonct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ternay
9.3 mi away
Domaine de Roiffe
Domaine de Roiffe
#1 of 1 in Roiffe
229 reviews
13.0 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
510 reviews
18.0 mi away
Rocaminori Hotel
Rocaminori Hotel
#1 of 1 in Louresse-Rochemenier
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Du Bellay
Hotel Le Relais Du Bellay
#1 of 1 in Montreuil-Bellay
191 reviews
11.1 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
10.7 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Ternay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Ternay

Address: 9 rue du Chateau, 86120 Ternay, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Ternay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ternay
Price Range: £104 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The de Ternay family have been bringing alive this historic monument, which dates from the 15th and 19th centuries, since 1606. Within the walls of the Château nestles a small chapel which is considered to be a masterpiece of gothic art. The warm and friendly welcome that you will receive in these prestigious surroundings, where strength and elegance join forces, is a promising start to your stay in a haven of peace. From your room, enjoy views over the calm sweep of the Dive valley, or the Château grounds, with trees that have stood for centuries. The authenticity of this historic site is a real pleasure to discover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau de Ternay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing