We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de Tennessus
Nearby Hotels
Plume Hotel(Bressuire)
US$79
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Domaine de Chantemerle(Moutiers-sous-Chantemerle)
US$102
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
    US$85
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel le Bois Joli(Thouars)(Great Value!)
    US$68
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Le Cheval Blanc et Le Clovis(Vouille)(Great Value!)
    US$77
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (150)
    Filter reviews
    150 results
    Traveller rating
    128
    16
    5
    1
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    128
    16
    5
    1
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    20 - 25 of 150 reviews
    Reviewed 10 November 2011

    Actually my husband and I stayed at this incredible castle at least 7 years ago......I have just now signed myself up for Trip Advisor....so here is my review of the castle.
    Although it's been about 7 years ago we stayed there... we still talk about our 2 night stay. It is a memory we shall have forever....and a memory we shall never forget. A medieval castle.....moat and draw bridge to boot! Absolutely stunning! We stayed at the very top...the Lord's Chamber. It was an experience we will never forget. And because it's been some years now..... I have to say I forget the owner's name. She was a lovely British woman though...that we do remember.....and had the most wonderful home made plum jam she would serve us with breakfast. We still talk to all of our friends about those memorable two nights. We will never for get it!

    • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank LIPSTICKLOULI
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    tennessus, Owner at Chateau de Tennessus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

    Thank you for this positive review ,it inspires me to work harder and make Tennessus even better!
    Philippa

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 October 2011

    We stayed one night in the Sentinel's Chamber and loved it! The property and our room were exactly as shown online. We arrived at dusk, which was spooky and atmospheric. We sat in our room enjoying some wine and watched bats hunting bugs by the spotlights on the front of the castle! Off the beaten path for us but as the guidebooks say, was worth the detour. All of the medieval decor showed the owners attention to detail. We don't have cool 600 year-old castles as B&Bs in Canada, to say the least. Breakfast was delicious. We chose to have it in the vault. Phillippa was great throughout our booking process and short stay. She let us tour all of the other rooms, including some fab rooms under development. Comfortable bed, good water pressure in tiny bathroom. Boating in the moat was the icing on the cake. Advise you use a GPS to help find the spot, and watch your head going into bathroom. Also due to tower stair, take small bags only, leave big luggage in the car.

    Room Tip: Until new rooms are ready, Sentinel's Chamer has biggest bathroom, albeit small.
    • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank sunnyclimesCalgary
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    tennessus, Owner at Chateau de Tennessus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

    It is always great to have positive feedback, thankyou so much .Philippa

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 August 2011

    We stayed as two couples. My husband and I were travelling in France with our Australian cousins and spending one night at Chateau de Tennessus. This visit was to be one of the highlights and it certainly lived up to our expectations. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival and nothing was too much trouble. Philippa is a kind caring host who is absolutely devoted to her home. She shared her passion for the Chateau with us. The rooms were magnificent and the atmosphere echoed the medieval era. Breakfast was excellent with home made preserves, excellent yoghurt and of course fresh croissants, bread and good coffee. We will return with other visitors from abroad first chance we get!

    • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ChristineZUK
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    tennessus, Owner at Chateau de Tennessus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

    I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here. Many thanks for this positive review.
    Philippa

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 March 2010

    Stayed here for only one night in September.....a really incredible place. Beautifully restored by an English couple, who unfortunately were travelling when we were there. However we were greeted by their charming daughter who made us feel totally at home. I had promised my 10 year old son a night in a 'real' castle and this was exactly what he wanted. The highlight of the visit was their very friendly golden retriever 'Cappa" who made instant friends with my son and the fact that there was a bat in a glassed in window slot in our room........don't worry ,it can't get into the room.....only out to the outside. He was able to raise and lower the drawbrige and we took a rowboat around the moat!! By the way the sewage does NOT NOT go into the moat as someone said.....only the 'grey' water...washing up and bath water. A really memorable stay and I'd love to go back for longer. Also if you have time,visit Europes best theme park, Puy du Fou about an hours drive away. This is NOT a park with rides (a la Disney) but rather a park with very elaborate and spectacular theatrical scenarios.....Viking battles, a Roman arena, siege of a castle, 3 Musketeers and a hugely spectacular finale with incredible fireworks. Also lots of smaller shows all around. My 10 year old loved it!!! For more info check out their website Puy du Fou. But the best of everything was Tennessus Castle..really fabulous!! If you want any info. please don't hesitate to message me.......I lived and worked in France for 15 years and have travelled all over the country. Enjoy your trip!!

    • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank paddyfrance
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    tennessus, Owner at Chateau de Tennessus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

    Thank you very much for your inspiring words . They make you want to live up to future expectations.
    Philippa

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 July 2009

    Loved our stay here....We stayed in the Sentinel's Chamber. The floors are beautiful. The castle has a moat and drawbridge and a pool and vegetable/fruit garden. Wish we had been able to stay more than 1 night. Really awesome place.
    My only minor complaint is all the cobwebs that are way up high....with the lights on, lying in bed they are noticable.
    Incredibly quiet. Quiet like I've never heard before, actually.

    • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Traveller111Usa
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    tennessus, Propriétaire at Chateau de Tennessus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2015
    Google Translation

    Je vous remercie beaucoup d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire ce commentaire très détaillé sur votre séjour à Tennessus.
    Je suis sur que les gens vont beaucoup apprécié le temps que vous avez consacré pour donner tous ces renseignements sur le chateau et ses chambres.
    J'éspère pouvoir vous accueillir moi meme la prochaine fois!
    Cordialement,
    Philippa

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews