We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amailloux
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Tennessus
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Tennessus Castle was the first stop for my two sons (ages 7 & 11) and I on what was to be an almost 3-month European trip. There really could not have been a better way to begin this journey. Lovingly and meticulously restored and maintained, it's a marvel. The room was comfortable and, of course, quite spacious. The facilities are modern and clean. Breakfast was lovely French pastries and breads.

The grounds are really something. First, the moat - yes, a moat! Complete with a rowboat for your use. Tennessus is located on a working farm, so cattle make their appearance in the nearby yard in the early morning and late afternoon. Sheep stream across pastures, pigs are kept nearby, and a lovely medieval garden and small orchard is there for exploring.

The hosts are quite helpful in every respect, and respectful of a traveler's needs - both for information and for privacy. They balance the two perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaFlannery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessus, Owner at Chateau de Tennessus, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and encouraging response, it was much appreciated. Philippa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    15
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
98
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Why the average score when it is an exquisite castle, in pretty grounds,with immaculate and tasteful rooms, a pleasant breakfast and a charming host? However, in the first hour, the chatelaine managed to offend both my wife and myself. By the next morning she upset our seven year old son, and by the evening our daughter (almost six) was in tears. It was not so much what was said, but how it was said that we found inhospitable. We would recommend this place to anyone except those with children under 10, and suggest you read the french reviews too.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank DoddyHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessus, Propriétaire at Chateau de Tennessus, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
We are grateful for this review, not just because it recognises the many qualities of Tennessus, but also because it gives us the opportunity to make clear our policy on having children to stay. We love children, and are thrilled to be able to offer them the opportunity to enjoy the castle, its many facilities and its medieval surroundings. As we make plain on our website, the rooms in the donjon are unsuitable for children under the age of six, which is one of the reasons we have created a new B&B room in the west tower (the Lady’s Suite) to cater specifically for families.
We do not, however, welcome ill-disciplined children whose lack of respect for our home risks spoiling its attractions for other guests or – in the absence of proper parental supervision – might put them in danger. That said, we are keen to encourage, rather than deter, families with children under ten to come and experience for themselves all that Tennessus has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

What can I say that is better than "you are sleeping in a real castle!" Once in a lifetime (although I hope to return someday) experience.

While it is very authentic as a castle and decor, it isn't rustic. We stayed in the sentinel's room at the top of the tower, which includes a small kitchenette in it for your breakfast. For those wondering, the kitchenette and modern bathrooms are hidden in the corner turrets and this room includes a full bath. The room also has some hidden heating elements, so it was surprising warm on a cold night. There is a hidden trundle bed under the main bed, so our daughter enjoyed sleeping in "her drawer".

We toured all the rooms and would have loved to stay in any of them (but Sentinel was our favorite). The new apartment that opens later this year is phenominal and will be loved by all who stay there.

Be ready to have a hike up a narrow, winding staircase (it's in your best interest to travel lite), but that was really part of the fun for us. As you climb the staircase you really realize you are in a castle!

Everything is top of the line and meets or exceeds expectations here. The family is so friendly, the dogs and cats will greet you at the drawbridge (or they are put away if you aren't into pets), and the gardens and grounds are wonderful too. Our daughter loved seeing "real" piglets and sheep.

If you are here, be sure and visit Puy du Fou, it's about a 45 minute drive away and well worth spending a day at to really get your medieval experience completed.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for restoring, maintaining and sharing your home with us!

Room Tip: We loved the Senitel's room at the very top of the tower, but they really are all very nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgmcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessus, Owner at Chateau de Tennessus, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
I really appreciated your enthusuastic comment, thank you so much.
Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

While we all looked forward to this castle stay for a few months before our trip, my teenage daughter in particular was extremely excited by the idea. And she wasn't let down at all!
Our first view of the castle while driving up the road brought home the reality, we were spending a night in a genuine medieval castle, rare for Europeans but almost impossible to imagine for an Aussie.
Our hosts could not have been more friendly and helpful and the room was beyond belief. We had the top room in the Keep, the Sentinel's Chamber, which was not only enormous but decorated with weapons, armour and other period pieces to complete the fantasy.
We took the opportunity to take the obligatory silly photos and then relaxed around the grounds and in our room.
Our only regret was being limited to one night, but it's a night we will never forget.

Room Tip: All of the Keep rooms are very large but the Sentinel's Chamber is at the top. Limit luggage bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVidaGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessus, Owner at Chateau de Tennessus, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
It is always encouraging tto know that people who stay here love this place as much as I do! Thank you so much for your comment.
Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

What an adventure! My family and I stayed at this authentic, ancient castle back in July 2010 (sorry, slow on the review!). It was an incredible stay and is a cherished memory. Who would have thought - a real castle! We stayed for two nights. Philippa was wonderful host. We took one level and our four children stayed on the level above us. Breakfast was perfect. The pool was lovely, as were the gardens. I even took the rowboat out and "had a float in a boat in the moat." It wasn't expensive, either. The little village of Parthenay is a short drive away. Everything about our stay was wonderful. Next time I'm going to be skipping Paris and will be spending a whole lot more time in beautiful spots like this.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxnhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessus, Owner at Chateau de Tennessus, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you very much for writing such a nice piece about your stay here, it was really motivating.
Philippa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALIFORNIA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Actually my husband and I stayed at this incredible castle at least 7 years ago......I have just now signed myself up for Trip Advisor....so here is my review of the castle.
Although it's been about 7 years ago we stayed there... we still talk about our 2 night stay. It is a memory we shall have forever....and a memory we shall never forget. A medieval castle.....moat and draw bridge to boot! Absolutely stunning! We stayed at the very top...the Lord's Chamber. It was an experience we will never forget. And because it's been some years now..... I have to say I forget the owner's name. She was a lovely British woman though...that we do remember.....and had the most wonderful home made plum jam she would serve us with breakfast. We still talk to all of our friends about those memorable two nights. We will never for get it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIPSTICKLOULI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessus, Owner at Chateau de Tennessus, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you for this positive review ,it inspires me to work harder and make Tennessus even better!
Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed one night in the Sentinel's Chamber and loved it! The property and our room were exactly as shown online. We arrived at dusk, which was spooky and atmospheric. We sat in our room enjoying some wine and watched bats hunting bugs by the spotlights on the front of the castle! Off the beaten path for us but as the guidebooks say, was worth the detour. All of the medieval decor showed the owners attention to detail. We don't have cool 600 year-old castles as B&Bs in Canada, to say the least. Breakfast was delicious. We chose to have it in the vault. Phillippa was great throughout our booking process and short stay. She let us tour all of the other rooms, including some fab rooms under development. Comfortable bed, good water pressure in tiny bathroom. Boating in the moat was the icing on the cake. Advise you use a GPS to help find the spot, and watch your head going into bathroom. Also due to tower stair, take small bags only, leave big luggage in the car.

Room Tip: Until new rooms are ready, Sentinel's Chamer has biggest bathroom, albeit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyclimesCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessus, Owner at Chateau de Tennessus, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
It is always great to have positive feedback, thankyou so much .Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amailloux
7.5 mi away
Chateau de Saint-Loup
Chateau de Saint-Loup
#1 of 2 in Saint-Loup-Lamaire
78 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Ayrault
Villa Ayrault
#1 of 1 in Chatillon-sur-Thouet
16 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Grand Logis
Le Grand Logis
#1 of 5 in Parthenay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Tennessus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Tennessus

Property: Chateau de Tennessus
Address: 79350 Amailloux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Deux-Sevres > Amailloux
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Amailloux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château de Tennessus is a remarkably authentic fourteenth-century castle complete with moat, working drawbridge, arrow-slits and battlements. Privately-owned by an English family, the castle is decorated in true medieval style; yet its lodgings offer accommodation with all the modern comforts and facilities to create a thoroughly enjoyable vacation and relaxing holiday. The Château is surrounded by extensive and tranquil grounds, including a large front lawn, rose-beds and flower-gardens, a potager in the medieval style, and recreational areas around the pool for croquet, badminton, etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Tennessus France/Amailloux, Poitou-Charentes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing