We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home - but better!”
Review of La Maison Verte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison Verte
Ranked #1 of 4 Montmorillon B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home - but better!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our first ever B and B in France - but I can't imagine a better one! The personal welcome we received started with drinks and homemade cakes as soon as we drove up, and included thoughtful extras like an afternoon beer in the sunny garden or some towels for swimming in the nearby river. Mon and Mark have created a stunning home with beautiful, individual rooms and pretty gardens which you are invited to relax and feel totally at home in. Mon's cooking is fabulous - don't miss out on the chance of a meal on their veranda. Our 8-year-old even helped pick the produce from the kitchen garden!
We've been back for a return visit - and are planning our next trip already. I can't rate La Maison Verte and its great hosts high enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and spacious - but the two in the barn also have their own comfortable s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

After leaving La Maison Verte we deliberately waited a week before writing this review to see if our opinions changed - they didn't.
If you're going to stay at only one B+B in your life, stay at this one. You walk in as guests and leave as friends. Mark and Monica are hospitable, friendly and great company. Monica's cooking is fabulous and both Mark and Monica can't do enough for you. The house itself is lovely, the big garden is relaxing and the rooms are superb, being furnished by Monica with her impeccable taste. One afternoon they left us in charge of the house and Spot the dog. In reality it was Spot who was in charge of us!
There is much to explore in the region and both Mark and Monica can suggest some wonderful places to visit.
Would we go back? Without a doubt, we'd go back tomorrow if we could.
Will we go back? Try and stop us!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesnyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhydaman
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A very warm welcome by two fabulous hosts, Mark and Monica - not forgetting Spot the dog! We felt as though we were being welcomed by two old friends; we stayed for three nights at La Maison Verte, if we could have stayed for longer we would have - nothing was too much trouble.

Having stayed in various French B&B over the last 16 years, we know that the quality can vary enormously, but we hit the jackpot here. The house is set in a beautiful and peaceful environment, were you are welcome to relax in the garden, or sit in the luxurious gallery. Our room was luxurious, spacious and very comfortable - to the point we almost slept through breakfast!

Monica is a fantastic cook! Once you have sampled her food you will not want to leave. We dinned for two nights and on both occasions had a beautiful meal. Being a vegetarian in France is not always easy, but Monica went out of her way to prepare separate dishes on both evening . Dinning at La Maison Verte is highly recommended and fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aled H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The stunning countryside of the region in which "La Maison Verte" nestles is not the only reason to visit this part of France. More significant by far is the beautifully and thoughtfully renovated Bed and Breakfast run by the lovely Monica and Mark Green assisted so well by Spot the dog. The standard of the room in which we stayed for nearly 3 weeks is exceptional; thoughtful touches are present everywhere and the owners go "the extra mile" to ensure that maximum comfort and a stress free environment is maintained. Monica is a great cook and staying in for an evening meal is highly recommended - fresh ingredients abound, wine flows freely - somehow magic happens in the galley!

A warm welcome to a truly beautiful B&B, owned by FABULOUS people. Five Stars from us!!

Room Tip: 3 rooms. One of which overlooks heaven at the front, the other 2 rooms overlook heaven at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnKeegan331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Getting to La Maison Verte is an experience in itself - stunning French countryside and deserted winding lanes lead to a tiny hamlet (on the way we saw chickens, frogs, birds and a shetland horse, but no cars!). An extremely warm welcome from Monica, Mark and Spot the dog ensued and we knew we'd found somewhere really special. We got there about 6 hours earlier than we had planned but it was no problem at all - after showing us to our beautifully appointed room, Monica rustled up a deli lunch of epic proportions, a crisp glass of wine and a cold beer and we browsed through their wall of DVDs and books, with Spot the dog popping in and out - bliss!

We had so many lovely experiences whilst at LMV and were totally spoiled - nothing was too much trouble. Our hosts even staged a surprise camp fire dinner at the bottom of their expansive gardens for my partner's birthday, with a bottle of fizz, BBQ and a tarte tatin baked by their neighbour. We sat by the fire, chatting, eating amazing food and listening to the frogs and the crickets, it was truly unforgettable. And when you go to bed and turn out the lights, it is so dark and so quiet - and the bed is so comfortable and soft - we slept extremely well.

The area is fantastic, with lots of historic and interesting places to visit and great food to be had. We particularly enjoyed visiting Oradour-Sur-Glane, a preserved village from the time of the occupation in France in WW2, and also the tiny French restaurant Le Marmite in Le Dorat. We also borrowed bikes and cycled along the river close by on a day when we didn't fancy getting in the car. Highly recommended! The best food of all however was at the B&B - of all the fantastic restaurants we visited whilst in France, Monica's cooking was the best hands down.

We are very much looking forward to returning to La Maison Verte soon!

Room Tip: Both the rooms are beautiful and have a view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Monica and Mark are the most welcoming of hosts offering an exceptional package. Their house is in the middle of lovely countryside in rural France. The bedroom is very comfortable with a lovely bed and good ensuite shower. Monica cooked us a gorgeous dinner with wine which was really good value at 25 Euros. The breakfast was tasty too with everything we wanted. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We have now stayed with Monica and mark 3 times - one always worries that when one returns it won't be as good, but this does not apply here. I think the previous reviews have said it all. An outstanding restoration of the house with attention to detail in all home comforts plus more - lovely bedding, soft and large bath towels, heated blanket and comfy beds to snuggle into after one of Monica's outstanding meals. Somehow she manages to create tasty and appetising looking food which is eaten in a relaxed and cosy environment. Candles, flowers and lovely touches - even had breakfast outside in warmer weather with fresh roses on the table.. And yes, she cooks a sublime breakfast to order. They create such a welcoming environment, whether one is curled up by a blazing fire watching films or listening to music, or sitting by the camp fire BBQ at the bottom of their garden, complete with burning torches and table linen. It is unique.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VERONICAtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montmorillon
10.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#1 of 1 in Montmorillon
49 reviews
13.7 mi away
Les Orangeries
Les Orangeries
#1 of 2 in Lussac les Chateaux
200 reviews
15.1 mi away
Le Petit Cochon Chambre d'Hotes
Le Petit Cochon Chambre d'Hotes
#1 of 1 in Montmorillon
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
No photo provided
L'Arbre D'Ange
#3 of 4 in Montmorillon
4 reviews
11.3 mi away
Les Chambres de la Loge
Les Chambres de la Loge
#2 of 4 in Montmorillon
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Verte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Verte

Property: La Maison Verte
Address: 2 Chemin des Vallees | Lathus St Remy, 86390 Montmorillon, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Montmorillon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montmorillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Maison Verte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing