We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stopover”
Review of La Braisiere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Braisiere
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Romain
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Logis hotels have long been our favourite stopovers when travelling through France. Often family run they provide a guaranteed level of hygiene and provision alongside a more personalised and individually operated concern. La Brasiere Hôtel-restaurant is no exception to that rule.
Set in a quiet small village location the general standard is good enough, as is the service (not to forget the swimming pool). But it is the cuisine that excels. Monsieur when asked next day, said that, yes, there were English living round about, but they did come to his restaurant. Shame on them! One of the finest meals we experienced this year in France (not surprising, as I discover later on finding his experience includes the Savoy in London and top restaurants in Paris and Lausanne).
And should you be wheelchair bound this would be heavenly. Drive up to the forecourt open up the French windows and enter the bedroom. Not a step or even a slope in sight. And in here on the farther side of the room is a fully equipped wet room to shower in.

Room Tip: For wheelchair users choose the adapted facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seligr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

Quite dated place, with thin walls and a humid smell in the room during our stay. Haven't seen much of the not-too-friendly staff. The location is nice (quiet little village), but would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mg-bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Having booked through the Logis web site, we arrived only to be greeted by shrugged shoulders. Fortunately I had a printed copy of the booking.
We subsequently offered a ground floor room with no windows, just a French door opening directly onto the street.
There was a very large fan on top of the wardrobe which provided the only air movement. We were also told the shower was broken, which it was.
Having 'moved in' we then discovered that the bed linen was very damp, due to the humidity of the room and the fact there was no ventilation.
We decided not to stay, which was unfortunate as we had been driving for over 6 hours at this stage.
We chose this hotel as "English" is listed as one of the languages spoken (my French is fair, but I like to have a backup). Neither of the staff on duty spoke anything but French.
A poor result for a Logis hotel, several of which we have used in the past.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jack_and_Amber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I have been coming to La Braisiere for over 25 years now and have watched this fine Logis evolve under the careful stewardship of Alain and Maguy Jozeleau. you will enjoy a gastronomic treat in the Restuarant and can relax by the pool. The rooms are very cosy and the decor is sympathetic. A real Gem, sadly these hotels are getting harder to find whilst touring France.

Enjoy the delights of pituresque Aubeterre sur Dronne [-]

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Otterail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

We love La Braisiere and plan to go back and stay there every time we're in that beautiful part of France (Charente - great for walking and riding).

The hotel wouldn't win any awards for decor - in fact its quite sweet and dated in terms of its furnishings and look - but the staff, the atmosphere and the food make it a very special place indeed.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome by the proprietor and his wife. It's a small and family run establishment which means that they can dedicate individual time and attention to their guests. Our french is pretty appalling but they spoke quite good english and we were able to have lots of friendly chats and jokes with them as they insisted on giving us refreshments after our long journey.

Our room was very clean and cosy and featured some lovely retro print curtains and covers - i don't think the retro look was intended but we appreciated it anyway! It also had a small but very clean bathroom with a great shower.

We'd elected to eat in the hotel restaurant that night because we'd read that it offered excellent local cuisine. It was one of the most fantastic meals that we'd ever had. For a brilliant price we were served 5 courses of exquisitely prepared local food - all made on the premises by the family. I can't recommend it highly enough. We feasted on local pates, beef, pork, snails, wonderfully fresh vegetables and melt in the mouth puddings. When it came to the cheese course we could scarcely eat another bite.

It's a shame that more hotels in the UK don't offer old fashioned home cooking like this. We went to bed utterly full and completely happy.

Thank you La Braisiere!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellyoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Corinne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: peu importe la chambre, les nuits sont calmes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vivinetphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Braisiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Braisiere

Address: le Bourg, 16210 Saint-Romain, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Saint-Romain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Romain
Price Range: £49 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Braisiere 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your La Braisiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing