We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Val de Vienne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Vigeant
South Devon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing haven”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Delightful hotel in stunning location on banks of River Vienne. Spacious, clean rooms (all at ground level) opening onto private patio area and open lawns running down to the river. Extremely helpful and friendly owners. Delicious evening meals (upon prior request). Outdoor pool open in season. Lovely quiet area interrupted only by the sound of birdsong and cicadas. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingsbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    24
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
18
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We arrived in mid-May 2013 to one of the coldest Springs France had ever had. However the welcome we received from the owners was superb. Kindness itself. Nothing too much trouble. The room was cleaned to a high standard, private patio with superb view of the grounds & wonderful river, the beds were almost superking size, lovely bathroom, fridge etc. Plus lots of little touches such as a Kettle & coffee etc. Rarely found in hotels in France! At first we could hear the Racing Circuit - but we were not put off by it - and loved the Hotel and its owners so much we came back again 3 weeks later for another stay. The area is outstandingly beautiful, peaceful and NO traffic. what bliss. We were doing a search for my daughter and her husband to come & live there - and it got top marks all around. Do take the trouble to find it - it will be well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyC736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Aubin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The Hotel Val de Vienne near Le Vigeant, 86150 is a wonderful little place. It is extremely convenient for the nearby car racing circuit, but at the same time very quiet and peaceful. It is operated by its owners, a charming couple for whom nothing was too much trouble. There is no restaurant, but they will lay on an excellent snack in the evening for a small charge. Breakfast is very good in a large, airy dining room that also houses the bar. The whole place is very well designed and there is ample parking. There is a swimming pool - a bit disconcerting with its black lining, but never mind - and a big outdoor sitting area next to the well-stocked bar. The rooms are all at ground floor level, in a line and each has its own front door and small patio facing the lazily-flowing River Vienne across the parkland. One of the best three stars we've ever stayed in. Unhesitatingly recommended.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is the furthest from the main part of the hotel and therefore the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aubinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Just lovely. As a disabled person I found it very easy to stay here as the car could be parked directly at the back door to the room, and this is the same for all the rooms. The rooms are all at ground level with a lovely big patio door, with private patio and furniture overlooking the lovely grounds and river. We had brilliant air conditioning in our room, a lovely large size bed which was really comfy and a modern flat screen tv. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the bathroom was very clean and modern, with really nicely presented toiletries and good attention to detail. The room also had a fridge and mini bar which was handy. The swimming pool and area around it was very relaxing. The meal we had in the evening was Lamb and was a beautiful meal, an excellent chef. Breakfast was equally enjoyable. The owners are very warm and welcoming, and very helpful with there knowledge of the area. We shall be retuning, this was a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. I would very much recommend this hotel. We stayed at the end of September, it was still lovely and warm. L'isle jourdain, nearby is very picturesque, the viaduct and river are just fabulous. we also visited the Martyr Village, Oradour-sur-glane, which is left as it stood form the 10th June 1944 after the Nazi's attacked it and murdered all the inhabitants, the is a memorial centre and visitors can walk around the village. It is very interesting and poignant.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crapfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

lovely comfortable chalet type rooms with individual terraces. Beautiful gardens surrounding the pool and terrace, Friendly owners and staff. Continental buffet breakfast and a pleasant bar area. The best thing about the hotel is the lovely view of the river
It is a pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrasMinibuses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Vigeant
15.0 mi away
Les Orangeries
Les Orangeries
#1 of 2 in Lussac les Chateaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Chatellenie
Hotel La Chatellenie
#1 of 1 in Availles-Limouzine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel Le Montespan
Hotel Le Montespan
#2 of 2 in Lussac les Chateaux
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel Mere Michelet
Hotel Mere Michelet
#1 of 1 in Confolens
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#1 of 1 in Chaunay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
18.0 mi away
La Roseraie
La Roseraie
#1 of 1 in Romagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Val de Vienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Val de Vienne

Property: Hotel Val de Vienne
Address: Port de Salles, 86150 Le Vigeant, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Le Vigeant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Vigeant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Val de Vienne 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Val de Vienne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Val De Vienne France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing