We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge des Seguins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buoux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

There doesn't seem anything to add. Everythings already been said. Beautful auberge set into the Cliffs of Buoux. Huge room with mezannine and food was excellent. Staff were very helpful. Great place to meet other walkers and compare notes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyJ186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Auberge des Seguins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

I read the 'excellent' ratings and felt I must be missing something, maybe for some reason we were in a basic room (although the tariff said €150 for two people). We are on a walking holiday so not looking for luxury but clean and in good condition would be a basic and as this was included in our trip price maybe we got a raw deal? The setting is fantastic and a great base for the walkers and cyclists who seem to make up most of the clientele, and it could be superb with some investment and a good tidy up, but our bedroom was beyond rustic with dirt and grime in the shower (you could have written your name in it), broken wash basin pedestal (photos attached) broken tiles, a mattress with a hump in the middle which was really uncomfortable.
On the positive side, it is peaceful and good to get away from the norm and the food was very good in the evening although breakfast very basic and no fruit available. The staff were pleasant and helped of you struggled with French and the swimming pool is a great addition for a cool down. It's also a very short walk from Le Fort de Buoux which is a really interesting visit.
Many of the reviews are very good so I am putting our experience down to bad luck and getting the worst room in the house, but I suggest you may be check this out when booking

Room Tip: Check out which room you are in, it's condition and where located
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

A wonderful, beautifully authentic place surrounded by an astonishing view of the cliffs. The auberge is a nice, comfortable accommodation, with blocks of genuine stone architecture, and it has a gorgeous swimming pool to freshen up in the hot days of the summer. The food is very good and you have the possibility to do great walkings in the surrounding area. I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

If a hotel this beautiful, remote, and pristine were in the US, it would be $400 per night. You'd have satellite TV, hot tubs, and plenty of other pointless stuff that keeps out budget travelers. The owner of this hotel (who speaks perfect English) bought the place from her parents and runs it with her brother. She told me she wants to protect its simplicity, and she's done a great job. The rooms are simple and clean, there are no TVs and you can only get WiFi on a patio outside the restaurant.

What you do get is undisturbed peace and tranquility. There were five or six hikes that begin within 50 feet of the hotel. No driving to a trail head here. Just enjoy buttered bread and coffee as the sun rises over the cliffs, then grab your bag and start walking through the forest. Stop in one of the nearby towns for lunch, or just pack it like we did, and be back in time for dinner at the hotel.

We stayed for four nights, and were going to spend the rest of our vacation in the Alps. The Alps were much prettier, and generally better hiking, we missed the hotel so much we came back after a few days. Like some of the reviewers said, it's hard to explain the appeal of the place. It just very simple, beautiful, and deeply relaxing. As long as you're not expecting a luxury hotel, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: There's a room above the breakfast dining room. Ask for it. It's much larger, quieter, and h...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njg2q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A gem of a place, we stayed for 8 nights in June and loved the place. The staff were friendly and helpful, ably led by Amelie whose father built the place . We ate very well, there is a set menu each evening but they are happy to offer an alternative if there's anything that you don't like. We had something different every night and enjoyed it all.

The setting at the end of a gorge is stunning, it feels very isolated but villages like Apt and Bonnieux are only a short drive away.

The buildings of the auberge are set out like a little hamlet, the place is full of character; one of the walls of our room was built into the rock. There are plenty of hiking trails, some of them passing through the property, the fort de Buoux is well worth a visit.

There's a great 20m swimming pool and a little cafe open all day for lunch, ice creams or a beer.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Me and my friends really loved this place, Ím definitelly gonna come back.We enjoyed our holiday on bikes and surrounding villages with old time fountains, lavenders fields and friendly people around made the feeling very special.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ondra Ž
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Couldn't be more excited about this place at (literally) the end of the road in the Luberon Valley. You come here to take long walks on the many trails, enjoy the quality food on one of the terraces and relax with a good book at the huge pool. Since it used to be a farm a long time ago, a lot of the rooms are very special, so ask to see a couple of different ones if they have more than one available.

Also there are plenty of small markets at the nearby villages and if you need some serious shopping as well – Aix-en-Provence is less than an hour away by car. The place is family owned and has been there for more than 50 years, but be aware that it’s not a spa or a deluxe hotel. If you need that, then please don’t come here. Having said that the rooms are cleaned carefully every day and the food is rustic and authentic. Please note that this place is a lot cheaper than many of the nearby options.

It’s hard to describe the feeling of the place – you need to experience it for yourself, but it is so relaxing and also great for bringing kids along.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buoux
3.4 mi away
Domaine de Capelongue
Domaine de Capelongue
#2 of 5 in Bonnieux
357 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin
4.2 mi away
Moulin de Lourmarin
Moulin de Lourmarin
#1 of 3 in Lourmarin
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
4.0 mi away
Luberon L'hotel
Luberon L'hotel
#13 of 13 in Apt
67 reviews
5.3 mi away
Coquillade Village
Coquillade Village
#1 of 1 in Gargas
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Seguins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Seguins

Address: 84480 Buoux, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Buoux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buoux
Price Range: £23 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge des Seguins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Seguins Hotel Buoux
Auberge Des Seguins Buoux, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing