We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Chateau de Taulane
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Martre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Golfing in Chateau de Taulane, surrounded by the mountains of the Apls of Haute Provence and only one hour away from Cannes and Antibes, is a unique experience. The 18th century chateau has been nicely rehabilitated with large bedrooms nicely furnished. I would recommend to book a room facing the 18th hole of the golf course. The view is heavenly. The other rooms have less charm and some are far away from the chateau. The staff at the reception and in the restaurant was very nice and quite efficient. The food was mediocre, at best. Most of the entrees were frozen and unappealing. This was a turn off experience for an otherwise marvelous stay. The golf is very well designed and maintained but it can be hot in Provence in June. It is preferable to tee off around 9 am so that you can relax in the shade on the terrace when you are done, just before lunch. We will return probably in the fall to avoid the heat.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms in the Chateau facing the 18th hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Reimmop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent chateau with modern comfort introduced without harming its charm. Stay was too short to fully enjoy all the facilities, so will definitely put it on the list to return. Great course, greenkeepers know their job!

Room Tip: we stayed in the chateau and liked it a lot. There are also other rooms, not sure how good those are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have been coming here the last 4 years to play golf, every year we have been very positive and happy for the stay.
Very good service staff from the booking to reception - restaurant and pro shop.
Rooms are big and nice decor, we had a wonderful dinner, and the golf course is one of the best on the cost.
We discussed trying a new place NeXT year, but after our stay, we are so positive that we will defenately be back.
Staff very profesional and friendly. Can really recomen the place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madsb675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have been before to this hotel and will most certainly return again.
The golf is amazing, very well kept.
Rooms nice, a little on the small side, but clean and nicely decorated.
Food has been better the previous times so I hope it is a one time downer.
Can really recommend it if you want a great golf round and nice stay.
The pool and spa is also a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgitta v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent 2 nights in this great resort and had the privilege to occupy the Tower suite, which
has a nice salon, a very large and beautiful bathroom and on the 2nd floor is the bedroom with
a stunning view on the greens hole 9 and 18. The golfcourse must be one of the best in France
or even Europe and is in excellent condition. We had 2 dinners at the Restaurants and the meals
were outstanding, the italian chef Mr. Carmelo desserves at least one Michelin Star. The staff
of the hotel (Restaurant and Reception) are efficient and very friendly. This place is a must
when planning a Golftrip to South of France.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

:I haven't slept here, because the hotel was closed, so bear this in mind: this is just a review of the grounds and restaurant! Also, I'm not a golfer. So no word on the golf course.

If you like shopping, busy markets, traffic, clubbing or any aspect of urban life, then stop reading. This is a quiet getaway. And also a castle. In a valley. Surrounded by the Alps.

The buildings are wonderfully restored and everything looks great. You can have your lunch out on the terrace and just let the amazing scenery sink in... you're having lunch in a french castle, between the Alps, overlooking a forest and golf course. Need I say more?

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank omieosutaunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Didn't stay at the hotel but went there to play golf. Of all the courses we played in Provence, it was by far the most expensive but we thought we would treat ourselves. Initial impression was that the view of the course and the surrounding scenery from the snack bar terrace was fantastic and the course looked great. However, when we went out to play, nearly every bunker had more or less been washed away by heavy rain from the previous week and were unplayable. Rest of the course was in good condition.
When we complained that we had not been made aware of the problem upon our arrival, the response was the Gallic shrug of the shoulder and that nothing could be done. Remonstrated for a partial refund but with no success. Spoilt what should have been a great day and left not only a deep hole in my pocket but a very bad taste in my mouth.
Snack bar is expensive for what it delivers.
It would take a lot for me to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Golfer016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Martre
21.0 mi away
La Bastide de Tourtour
La Bastide de Tourtour
#1 of 4 in Tourtour
321 reviews
24.7 mi away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
512 reviews
9.4 mi away
Chateau de Trigance
Chateau de Trigance
#1 of 2 in Trigance
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel & Spa des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
235 reviews
22.6 mi away
Chateau de Berne
Chateau de Berne
#1 of 1 in Lorgues
479 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hostellerie Des Gorges De Pennafort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Taulane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Taulane

Address: D6085, Route Napoleon | Le Logis du Pin, 83840 La Martre, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > La Martre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Martre
Price Range: £121 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau de Taulane 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE DOMAIN WELCOMES YOU FROM APRIL TILL OCTOBERSettled in the heart of a domain of 340 hectares, the Château de Taulane welcomes you in a charming setting. Splendid home of the XVIIIe century transformed in a four stars Hotel, it allies charm of the old and comfort of today with success. Its prestigious golf course signed Gary Player, an exceptional setting at 1000 m of altitude is an invitation to revitalize themselves in a convivial and relaxing ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Chateau de Taulane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Taulane France/La Martre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing