We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of St Roch Farmhouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Robion, Luberon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
RJG75
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a great location”
Reviewed 7 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed in many holiday properties in France in recent years and Ferme St Roch is without a doubt one of the best.

The house itself is in a perfect location - it is in a small town therefore very close to all amenities (bakery, bar, small supermarket) but it is also very private and not overlooked. With small children it is perfect being able to walk a few minutes to buy ice creams or drinks (or even pizza) without having to get into the car.

The quality of the accommodation is very high - comfortable and very spacious, with air conditioning in the bedrooms which is essential in hot summer nights. The swimming pool is very good for children with a stepped entrance and there is also a ping pong table and snooker table to keep them entertained. The dining area is very well shaded, and nicely lit in the evening.

The owner lives very nearby in Robion and is incredibly responsive and helpful and clearly wants to ensure his guests have a relaxing stay.

Overall I cannot recommend highly enough if you want to visit this area of France. It is also extremely good value for money in my opinion.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kitzolkue...
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“Again, a wonderful stay in Ferme St. Roch in Luberon.”
Reviewed 31 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

It was our fourth stay in Ferme St. Roch. We, again, enjoyed the wonderful garden, the pool, the silence, the barbecues at night and the fully equipped kitchen. Boulangeries, boucherie, fruit and vegetable market as well as country-specific bars in walking distance and the highlights of Luberon not far away. We have to come back to enjoy these amenities as soon as possible. - And: Sebastian, many heartfelt thanks for your hospitality and support!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2018
Always a pleasure Wilfried. Thank you so much for your kind words and hope to welcome you again in the coming years. My best regards to the whole family :-) Sebastian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janes50
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful farmhouse in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We recently stayed in St Roch farmhouse. We comprised a family of three generations which included three babies. The farmhouse provided ample accommodation for all members of the family - the shared reception area was spacious and the different bedrooms were situated to allow everyone privacy and personal space. The beautiful garden was also perfect for our family. There was an inner courtyard with BBQ area and dining table and a garden/pool area. A gate between the courtyard and pool ensured that children were safe. The whole garden was enclosed and very private even though it was moments from Robion and local shops and restaurants. There was plenty of parking on site too. Robion is a lovely old village and the area the village is situated is beautiful and unspoilt.
Sebastian, the owner, ensured that our stay was perfect, recommending wine-tasting, villages to visit and helping us to organise a chef to come and cook for us one night.
In all we had a fantastic holiday and we would love to return again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davem312
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Owner was very understanding and helpful when we had to cancel”
Reviewed 14 April 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We did not get a chance to visit, because of changes in our plans. Sebastian was very understanding and immediately re-listed the house for rent. He found a new renter quickly and refunded our deposit promptly.

Thank you Sebastian!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naim1979
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, perfect conditions, wonderful location”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The house is amazing, very well equipped, with a wonderful atmosphere. The village is close to a lot of must-go destinations, so it is a very good start point if you want to for trips, however you can easily spend a whole week without going to too many places as the house a really very convenient. For parents with small children: there is a gate that opens to the garden with pool, which can be locked, this way it offers you safety solution that the kids don't get to the pool area without your supervision.
The reviews are 100% correct, it is a perfect place for resting. I would like to emphasize 1 thing: we are quite experienced in renting villas in the summer, however we never experienced such an unbelievable host like Sebastian. We had problems with my bigger child, he had some allergy reaction and we were concerned whether to leave from Nice or not. Sebastian was helpful, he arranged me all the contacts of hospital, doctor etc. in case we need. During the whole stay we could count on him, if we needed any help or suggestion. Anyway he prepared a catalogue, where you can really find literally everything that you might need to know during the whole stay. My perfect spot of the house was a small library room next to the pool, bring a lot of books with and just enjoy!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thank you Mariann,

I really appreciated your kind words and it was a real pleasure to have you at St Roch's farmhouse. I hope to welcome you again for a future holiday in the south of France. All the best, Sebastian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woofy25
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ideal Luberon villa rental for an extended-family vacation”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

i can hardly say enough good things about La Ferme St. Roch.

We visited in early June (2nd and 3rd weeks) which was an excellent season to visit the Luberon, as the lavender was coming into bloom. Also in bloom were the very extensive jasmine vines lining the walls of the house, and the beauty and scent of the jasmine blossoms were a continual pleasure all throughout our stay.

The house has an ideal location for exploring the Luberon, as it is both within the Luberon region and also close enough to other tourist destinations (Avignon, Arles) to permit easy access. Be aware that you do need a car.

In addition to location, the house has an amazingly tranquil sense of peace about it. Although it's convenient to the village, being only a short block off the main street, the house's thick stone walls silence all noise. I never heard a traffic sound at any time during the nights during our two week stay, and sleep was very easy.

The rooms are (mostly) spacious and well appointed. Some smaller rooms are more suited to kids or single adults. The 5 BR home includes two very spacious master suites. One of the smaller BRs is off by itself near the pool and affords more privacy. The BRs do have air conditioning, and we did need to use it during our stay in June, but not all the time.

The photos available online only begin to touch on the visual appeal of the place. From any angle within the courtyard, it is a pleasure to view the house, pool, and environs. From several points in the courtyard, particularly poolside, there is a mountain view. Another thing the photos don't give you is a good idea of the layout, which is quirky - but that is to be expected from a very old stone house in France which apparently had more wings built onto it over time. The only room we didn't really use was the library, since we had great weather the entire two weeks and wanted to be outside. The outside is setup with multiple different sitting areas, many with tables, so it is easy to enjoy the outside while remaining in the shade all throughout the day.

The gravel driveway affords space for parking at least 4 cars, if you have the need. We parked 3 with room to spare. (You cannot park outside of the courtyard as you would block the neighbors.) Although we didn't try it, we think we could also have played boules (bocci) on the drive, but it would have taken some inventive parking arrangements to make enough room.

The house is very, very well set up for groups who want to cook. We cooked multiple meals on the outside (roof covered) barbecue, which required starting charcoal fires. The outdoor seating area was our preferred eating spot as our 8 adults were easily accommodated by the outdoor dining table. Living room and kitchen eating areas are also there, but as I said, we wanted to enjoy the outdoors as much as possible.

If you do cook, be sure to get groceries at the many local farmers' markets. There are farmers' markets every day of the week within about 10-15 minute drive, in different towns.

We were very pleased with the attentiveness and service of Sebastian, the owner/manager, who corresponded with us by email many times in advance of our trip. His English is perfect, BTW. Sebastian was onsite every single day very early to water the plants (and driveway, which kept things neat and kept the dust down, I guess). He never made a sound, so those of us who slept in were never bothered by this. Sebastian and his assistant also came in to houseclean and change the sheets and towels, as I recall, every 3 days.

The village of Robion, which La Ferme St Roch is in, has little in it. There is a charming old church up the hill a couple of blocks, and if you continue walking uphill you eventually reach some trails to climb that "mountain" (actually large hill) that is seen from the house courtyard. In the other direction, a block downhill to the main street and right for a block or so on that main street brings you to an excellent bakery, where daily we bought not only our croissants and baguettes but also desserts, and sometimes pizzas too.

If you plan to visit in peak season, you should plan to book more than a year in advance to get the choice of weeks that you prefer. This was our experience, and even booking a year and a half in advance, the weeks we got were not exactly what we would have preferred. Others have discovered this gem, so you must make your arrangements early.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Dear Evelyne,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you and your kind family to St Roch's farmhouse and I am really happy to read that you enjoyed your holiday in Provence. I hope to welcome you again in the coming years and wish you all the best for for you in the US.

Kind regards,

Sebastian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idit A
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect house and host”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We just ended our week in the house which was perfect. Very spacious and air conditioned rooms, beautiful garden which includes a pool. The house is fully equipted so other than buying some groceries you don't need to bring with you anything.
And our host, Sebastian, was sooo nice and helpful. It was a real treat!! We highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Dear Mariann,

Thank you for your nice review and I am happy to see that you had a great stay at St Roch's farmhouse. I hope to welcome you again someday to Provence. Kind regards to all your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing