We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau de la Coutanciere
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Coutanciere. Old world charm in quaint surroundings and attentative staff. Particularly enjoyed the surprise offerings on the evening menu. Also conveniently located for local day trips to the surrounding Loire castle corridor! We will return )

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wackthewave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Arriving with expectations - from the website - of a chateau atmosphere with period decoration etc, we were (as the only guests over the first five nights of our stay) allocated a first floor room at the back of the building with bare stone walls from which plaster and/or panelling had been removed. The bathroom was done out like a barn with salvaged wooden beams strung across it at unlikely angles. The bed was adequate and the room spacious but no TV or radio. We had to asks for a hair drier. Towels were hard and small.

The bare stone walls extended down the stairs and the entrance hall as well. More like a building in renovation than chateau-style living.

Dinner, as promised on the website, was never offered. But when three other couples arrived for the last two nights - somehow, they got dinner, but we did not, which was perhaps just as well, but there is no restaurant closer than in Saumur town, some 12km away.

Breakfast was adequate but others' comments about the scrambled eggs and the buffet selection was our experience too.

The owners seem to economise on lighting since it was not easy to see to read in the lounge or in the bedroom unless relying on the bedside light.

There was no indication of fire escapes or procedures.

I would never recommend this 'hotel' to anyone. And the price, was not suggestive of an economy bargain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knighton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at the Chateau for 2 nights on our way to the South of France this July (2013). We were greeted at the door by the lovely Dutch girl who looked after us during our stay. The chateau is absolutely beautiful and the surroundings perfectly tranquil and relaxing. My kids spent a lot of time running around the grounds letting off steam after a fairly long drive.

We elected to have the 'surprise' dinner the first night and the food was very good indeed, particularly the chocolate souffle pudding, which was awesome. The rooms are large and airy, but what was particularly nice (and surprising) was to have such a comfortable bed!

We spent just over two weeks in France in all, staying at various different places - all good - but the best night's sleep was definitely at the Chateau.

I would definitely recommend this place, certainly as a stop-off for a night or two after a long drive to break a journey. Also, it makes such a difference to be so well attended, as we were, without feeling as though we were being watched. The place felt like a bit of a (very luxurious) home for a couple of days.

I should also mention that the breakfast here is good. There isn't a vast choice, but the quality of the food is excellent. We left to continue our journey feeling very refreshed.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms in the tower, connected by a bathroom. This was perfect for us as a family of four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The chateau is located close to Montsoreau, Chinon or Usse so it's a good option to stay and travel around the Loira a couple of days having a different experience than sleeping in a hotel.
The ambience is quite distinct and the owner and the people working there are nice and educated so you feel very comfortable
The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the bathrooms are just great. Huge, recently renovated and with a great shower it's really a pleasure to stay. The pool is small but it's welcomed after the day traveling around
The surprise dinner is expensive for what it offers, but at least one day is worthy just to have dinner in a great environment.
Rooms don't have A/C which is no issue in the lower floors but it is in summer in the top floor. No lift either so better avoid the second floor (although it has the best views)

Overall, with the prices you get through tripadvisor I think this is a great choice to stay in the area

Room Tip: Avoid top floor in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FGE04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I am staggered by the number of good reviews this hotel has. The best thing about it is its location and setting. The "surprise" dinner menu offers no choice (unless you have specific dislikes or allergies) and is very poor value for money - much of it seemed to come from supermarket packets dressed up to look like haute cuisine and the "wine arrangement" was a selection of cheap local wines. We were even served a sparkling wine that had been opened the day before. Breakfast was strange - the "buffet" included stale cereals, supermarket yoghurts, cucumber, tomatoes and sliced carrots along with a poor selection of fresh fruit. My husband's scrambled eggs looked like bits of grey rubber but the bread and croissants etc. were fresh and good. Our room (the so-called Master Suite) was dusty with a lumpy mattress, tatty bed linen, towels that were hard, grey and worn and a curtain hanging off the rail. It was approached via an anteroom containing cots and storage cupboards used by the staff. The wiring on the hairdryer was worn and dangerous and the cover fell off the socket in the bathroom. The bathroom itself was large, modern & looked impressive but the shower was badly scaled and broken, the bath did not fill properly and the water took ages to drain. There was no mini-bar - just an old fridge that wasn't much colder than room temperature. There was nowhere shady to sit comfortably in the garden and most of the garden furniture was old and dilapidated. When the manager showed us the garden & pool she noted that there should have been some pool towels but none ever appeared during our 2 night stay. The friendly Dutch intern who doubled as waitress and receptionist did her best to make up for this hotel's considerable shortcomings. It could be great but it is gloomy inside and definitely not guest-focussed. Needless to say we will not be coming back.

Room Tip: Don't book the Master Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We spent a few days visiting this area close to Saumur, and decided a stay in a chateau would be more fun than that of a hotel. We were not disappointed. The young lady at reception when we arrived was really friendly and helpful. Our room was impressive, large bedroom, sitting area/desk and perhaps the largest bathroom we've ever had anywhere. The views from our room was wonderful, and the quiet setting just added to the atmosphere. Breakfast was perhaps a bit expensive for what was offered at 12.50 euro. We met the Dutch owner, who we found to be quiet but friendly. Would just add that there is not a lift, and there were quite a few stairs to climb to our room. Also, dirty cups/plates, and what looked like cleaning items, were left in the corridor all night, outside the room opposite ours. The sign to the actual entrance to the chateau is also not that clearly displayed - but if you look for the avenue of trees opposite then you can't miss it. Overall though, it was a very enjoyable stay and we'd definitely stay here again if we go back to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank val50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

After a long drive in freezing conditions we arrived to a warm welcome, the chateau was lovely and warm, and our room was spacious and comfortable, We had the surprise menu, which was delicious and then had coffee in the drawing room, relaxing in front of a real fire, listening to clasical music, very civilised. Will deff return when next travelling through France and would recommend to others

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau de la Coutanciere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Coutanciere

Address: 4 route de la Coutanciere, 49650 Brain-sur-Allonnes, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Brain-sur-Allonnes
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Brain-sur-Allonnes
Price Range: £73 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Coutanciere 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau de la Coutanciere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing