We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a place to return to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lemon Creek Hotel Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bijilo
Certificate of Excellence
Heerenveen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a place to return to”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

small scale well maintained small resort. lovely staff and especially the guys from the taxi stand

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cramerdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    56
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
65
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Lemon creek hotel is as beautiful as it is charming, the food is absolutely excellent and i have never experienced a staff so friendly and welcoming. Lemon Creek with out a doubt the nicest hotel i have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Morten n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The weather was perfect, the sea magnificent, the Lemon Creek Hotel stylish and the staff at the resort superb. Hanna, the resort manager was informative, friendly and very helpful; Lamin at reception went out of his way to assist as did all the other personnel; Aisha would leave fresh flowers on our beds after the daily clean; Fatou has a lovely selection of fresh fruit at the tiny fruit stall on your right on your way to the beach; Sam on the beach will prepare the freshest juices for you (without water)for just 50 dalasi a pop; Ams and Abdulei and the pool and beach attendants were always very helpful (Abdulei even jumped in the pool to save our 4-year old when she fell in without her armbands - our hero!); Ismail and Aligi as well as the other waiters attended to our every need and the security personnel did a fantastic job. The Saturday barbeque and dance/drum performance by a local music academy was incredible - thank you!

The masseuse from Nigeria has her salon in the garden on the left of the pool and she worked absolute wonders on my and my husband's knotty backs - probably some of the best massages we ever had! The hairdressers did a lovely job on our daughter's hair - all plaited with beads and bands for 750 dalasi - 3 hairdressers and 2 hours later she looked fabulous. There is a little stall run by Saikou just on the left of the pool. Support the local economy and buy from him. We bought 2 tie-dyed sarongs, 2 bags and 2 dresses for the girls (tailor-made)1 650 dalasi - a little more than in the markets but what a treat to browse without the hassle of being pulled in every direction like in the markets. The quality was good here too.

We even had a tour of the hotel vegetable garden and mini farm coutesy of a security guard. They grow a lot of fruit and veg and have their own hens and pigs which means it doesn't get more locally produced and organic than this.

We chose this hotel because it was away from the hustle and bustle of Senegambia (5 min taxi ride), something we heard could be a little over the top from other travellers. When we wanted a change of scene we popped to the beautiful Golden Beach Resort hotel (run by a lovely lady from Aberdeen) next door for a swim and lunch and even live jazz in the evenings.

It's easy to take a taxi from Lemon Creek (we used Solomon who drives a green tourist taxi on [--] and the hotel will sign them in and out. A nice touch if you drop something in the cab and the hotel can ring and keep track. You can ask reception to give him a call. We used the yellow taxis too which are lot cheaper but only when we were with a Gambian friend.

Places to visit: we made it to the Bijilo Forest Park to see the monkeys and then ate at the GTS restaurant on the same road (fantastic food) Moses looked after us very well; Senegambia Craft Market is small and accesible - Malick at stall 25 sold lovely traditionally crafted wooden board games and can also accompany you as a guide - a truly lovely bloke [--]. After the calm of the Atlantic Coast, Serrekunda (the biggest town in The Gambia) finally felt like true West Africa - the colours and smells were almost intoxicating. The Manjai-Kunda Jaimbeh Factory was superb and my husband bought a fantastic drum there. We also visited the Tie-die Factory. Bargaining is expected everywhere - do it with a smile and in good spirits and you'll both be happy.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 157Anna157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

This is a small hotel right on the beach where you will be well looked after. We stayed in a suite (two bedrooms, a large open kitchenette/diner sitting room area with a cloakroom. Each bedroom had private facilities. There is no phone system and they do not advertise all the services because they will organise most things on request e.g room service, massage, manicure outings, special meals etc. you have to walk up to reception to request theses and use the wireless internet.
Like most of the beaches there are bumsters but the hotel staff do look after you and there are life guards on duty.
There is a small vegetable plot which supplies the kitchen. Also chickens and pigs are reared on site.
What we like most is that it is quiet, without rows of sun beds and groups of tourists dominating the independent traveller.
It is just a bit too far to walk to Senegambia but you can walk along the beach to other small local restaurants with good fresh fish dishes.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tunyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We went to the Gambia in 2007 and stayed at the Lemon Creek during the "Grand Opening" of the Hotel. The entire Gambian "Who's who" was present with representatives from the media, the government and the local tourist industry.

Much of the attention giving to the Lemon Creek during its opening was due to the fact that the Hotel had only taken less than two years to construct - from empty forest to finished luxury hotel. This is an unheard rate in the Gambia, where things can take time to complete... - and it tells a lot about the atmosphere and the eagerness expressed by the management to work hard to remain among the top hotels in the Gambia.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lemon Creek, where the staff was helpful with regard to arranging tours to e.g. paradise beach, the crocodile "farm" with Charlie the tame crocodile, to the local monkeypark, to the fishmarked, to Senegambia and Banjul with visits at the SOS children's village and to the local beer breweri amongst many others. - Sometimes I wonder how we got time to spend at the beach.

When we were there, rumors had it that the best chef in the Gambia had been headhunted for the hotels restaurant. Whether he was the best, I cannot tell. But we enjoyed the food a lot!

I will use Lemon Creek again next time I go to the Gambia.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SorenDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Out with friends for a meal, the Saturday Night Steak Barbecue had been recommended...
Without doubt, the Hotel is well laid-out and in a delightful location; as first-time visitors, we were initially impressed but, sadly, the evening went downhill from there. Our table by the pool looked good but the over-use of chlorine made it most uncomfortable. The problems were exacerbated by the excessive noise from the entertainment; it was so loud that it was impossible to converse - even with the person sitting next to you. It would be much better if the music was played after the meal giving the option of moving to the Terrace for coffee.
We had heard that the meat was superb; we must have gone on a bad night as it was as tough as leather and inedible. The "Chef" also needs lessons in preparing chips - we all thought that chips should be hot and crispy! The waiters, though pleasant, require training; they need to take the orders correctly and then remember who ordered what! The serving of the meal was farcical; in fact, after three false attempts, one of our friends decided that it was too much trouble and declined her meal.
The Hotel Management made us wait a long time before they came to sort out the problems - we were told they were having their dinner! After discussion, it was decided that we would not pay for the meal, just for the drinks. We were also told that we could return for another meal but the promised telephone calls were never received and, when a visit was made, the offer was rescinded as it had been decided that we were obviously guests that could not be pleased!? Not true, there are a few very good restaurants in The Gambia where we are happy to eat - and eight people can’t all be wrong!
We were disappointed as this had been reported to be one of the better hotels but, until more time is spent training staff, it will not fulfil its potential.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Easyltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2009

We liked this hotel situated on the beautiful Bijilo beach. We have stayed in the Gambia several times and rate this as the best hotel we've used. It is Scandanavian run and not offered by the British tour companies. We booked independantly through Travelpoort ( a Dutch Company ). We were the only Brits staying there which was not a problem as English was still the main language and found our fellow guests quiet and friendly. The hotel staff were cheery and helpful. I did raise a minor complaint in the restaurant and they fell over bacxkwards putting it right.

The pool area is surrounded by trees and full of the most amazing birdlife,

We asked for an upper floor room with balcony overlooking the sea and was not dissappointed. It had a four poster bed and duvets from Ikea. Our room maid Ollie very often decorated the bed with flowers. We had minor problems, such as safe not working, but these were sorted out straight away. Our first meal in the restaurant was of a high standard and I thought a little expensive for the Gambia, but it was excellent.

Nightlife is only a short taxi ride away on the Senegambia strip and green tourist taxis are readily available. To use the cheaper yellow taxis would involve a walk down a dark lane to the main highway and I would advise against that.

We would return to the Lemon Creek again and that is probably the best endorsement I could give.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Glyndwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijilo
1.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Creek Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Creek Hotel Resort

Property: Lemon Creek Hotel Resort
Address: Kombo Costal Airport Road, Bijilo p.o box 3306, Gambia
Region: Gambia > West Coast Division > Bijilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bijilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lemon Creek Hotel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year around About us: We are a small Danish owned hotel with focus on personal service and giving a 'home away from home' feeling to all our guests. Corporate social responsibility and the principles of Global Impact are vital to our running of the hotel and amongst other things we work together with different women cooperatives from around the country. Responsible tourism is key to a sustainable development and we constantly strive to get greener with the support of and audits of Travelife. As a part of this strategy we have our own kitchen garden to make sure as much of our products are ecological. We purchase locally where possible, re-use our gray water, use solar energy, recycle our waste where possible and yearly update our environmental charter to continue a green development. Accommodation facilities general: Reception open 24 hours Pool bar A la carte restaurant Conference facilities Souvenir shop Parking Wi-fi in public areas and rooms (added cost) Rooms: Standard rooms - Double bed, bathroom en-suite, satellite television upon request, mini fridge, kettle, wall fan, balcony or terrace seating, safe box (free of charge) Studio - Double bed, seating area with bed sofa, bathroom en-suite, satellite television upon request, kitchenette, wall fan, balcony or terrace seating, safe box (free of charge) Swimming options: Outdoor pool Children's pool Bath towel service and sun beds free of charge Bed linen: Bath towels included, change 7 times per week Bed linen included, change 3 times per week Recreation: Entertainment 1-2 times per week Massage studio/beautician (added cost) Body boards and canoes (added cost) Conference: Conference facilities for app 35 persons Tailor: Tailor available at hotel The Premises: The Gambia's best kept secret, 56 luxurious en suite rooms, all with sea view terraces, set in mature tropical gardens, which host many different varieties of wildlife and colorful birds. Lemon Creek Hotel Resort is situated right on the beach, approximately 3 km. Southwest of the Senegambia area (Kololi). The constructions and architecture are made with respect to the nature of the land site and the garden hosts an extensive bird life. The pool bar is a relaxing spot in the shade of 400 years old baobab trees and rustling palms, bask in the sun or take a dip in azure blue water. Our smiling staff, who will cater to your every need, will offer delicious snacks and cool long drinks. Lemon Creek Hotel Resort offer the "Big Tree Restaurant" serving delicious international cuisine as well as local delicacies, enjoy a cocktail whilst watching the sunset and listening to the ocean. We organize your birthday, weddings, staff-retreat, graduation or dinner party by the poolside. Let our service minded staff take care of all details to make the day a special one. We also offer comfortable conference room facilities for 35-40 people, ideal for private meetings and workshops. Our experienced beautician offers traditional massage, Thai massage, aromatherapy, pedicure and manicure. And our tailor makes sure your clothes are one of a kind in colors and styles that suits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Lemon Creek Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Creek Hotel Bijilo
Lemon Creek Hotel Resort Gambia/Bijilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing