We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and friendly and in a lovely location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lemon Creek Hotel Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bijilo
Certificate of Excellence
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and friendly and in a lovely location.”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stayed here 3 nights in December. Room included a safe, air conditioning (didn't use it though as it was quite cool) and mosquito netting. Bedroom was quiet and clean as was bathroom. You could lie in bed listening to the ocean waves on the beach just outside. Gardens were really pleasant, as was the swimming pool which seemed well maintained. Happy hour (2 for the price of 1) from 5-7 each evening at poolside bar. Dinner from a limited menu but one that did change each day was of good quality and reasonably priced. Breakfast was served from 7. No credit card taken but hotel did change currency. A small shop close to reception sold water and other drinks as well as a range of local crafts. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We used a ground floor studio and although we didn't use the kitchen I think the studio rooms we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_an_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    56
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
66
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here over the new year period. The hotel is well located - literally just off the beach (which is quiet) with great grounds, a lovely pool complex (unheated but great for cooling off in!) and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is medium sized (not too big) so never felt over-crowded. The food is pretty good here, breakfast in particular, although watch out for the bees going for the honey! A good base to explore the west coast from, close to the Senegambia strip and easy to get to Bakau, Serrekunda or Banjul on the Senegambia highway. Easy to hire a taxi from here - try and get the Postman! - or book day trips. Would definitely go back to Lemon Creek.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Jarvontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

very nice clean hotel, our room was large with great view from the balcony of the sea. The hotel is quite and there is nothing near by we had to get a taxi from outside the hotel to go into town this was no problem to us as it was cheap. We ate in the hotel a few times, all the food was fab very fresh and service good, but the restaurant really lacked any atmosphere as it has no background music and very quite. We also ate by the pool which was very nice. David the pool attendent was very helpful and very friendly.
All the staff were generally very friendly. The beach was very quite there was quite a lot of rubbish washed up everywhere. We could not understand why the hotel does not employ someone to pick up this rubbish. Having running a business ourselves this would be very important, to us as it is so near the hotel.
We feel like we picked the best hotel as we would not like to be right in town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigelsuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almhult, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Good hotel with Lovely staff and a superb restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerenveen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

small scale well maintained small resort. lovely staff and especially the guys from the taxi stand

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cramerdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Lemon creek hotel is as beautiful as it is charming, the food is absolutely excellent and i have never experienced a staff so friendly and welcoming. Lemon Creek with out a doubt the nicest hotel i have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Morten n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The weather was perfect, the sea magnificent, the Lemon Creek Hotel stylish and the staff at the resort superb. Hanna, the resort manager was informative, friendly and very helpful; Lamin at reception went out of his way to assist as did all the other personnel; Aisha would leave fresh flowers on our beds after the daily clean; Fatou has a lovely selection of fresh fruit at the tiny fruit stall on your right on your way to the beach; Sam on the beach will prepare the freshest juices for you (without water)for just 50 dalasi a pop; Ams and Abdulei and the pool and beach attendants were always very helpful (Abdulei even jumped in the pool to save our 4-year old when she fell in without her armbands - our hero!); Ismail and Aligi as well as the other waiters attended to our every need and the security personnel did a fantastic job. The Saturday barbeque and dance/drum performance by a local music academy was incredible - thank you!

The masseuse from Nigeria has her salon in the garden on the left of the pool and she worked absolute wonders on my and my husband's knotty backs - probably some of the best massages we ever had! The hairdressers did a lovely job on our daughter's hair - all plaited with beads and bands for 750 dalasi - 3 hairdressers and 2 hours later she looked fabulous. There is a little stall run by Saikou just on the left of the pool. Support the local economy and buy from him. We bought 2 tie-dyed sarongs, 2 bags and 2 dresses for the girls (tailor-made)1 650 dalasi - a little more than in the markets but what a treat to browse without the hassle of being pulled in every direction like in the markets. The quality was good here too.

We even had a tour of the hotel vegetable garden and mini farm coutesy of a security guard. They grow a lot of fruit and veg and have their own hens and pigs which means it doesn't get more locally produced and organic than this.

We chose this hotel because it was away from the hustle and bustle of Senegambia (5 min taxi ride), something we heard could be a little over the top from other travellers. When we wanted a change of scene we popped to the beautiful Golden Beach Resort hotel (run by a lovely lady from Aberdeen) next door for a swim and lunch and even live jazz in the evenings.

It's easy to take a taxi from Lemon Creek (we used Solomon who drives a green tourist taxi on [--] and the hotel will sign them in and out. A nice touch if you drop something in the cab and the hotel can ring and keep track. You can ask reception to give him a call. We used the yellow taxis too which are lot cheaper but only when we were with a Gambian friend.

Places to visit: we made it to the Bijilo Forest Park to see the monkeys and then ate at the GTS restaurant on the same road (fantastic food) Moses looked after us very well; Senegambia Craft Market is small and accesible - Malick at stall 25 sold lovely traditionally crafted wooden board games and can also accompany you as a guide - a truly lovely bloke [--]. After the calm of the Atlantic Coast, Serrekunda (the biggest town in The Gambia) finally felt like true West Africa - the colours and smells were almost intoxicating. The Manjai-Kunda Jaimbeh Factory was superb and my husband bought a fantastic drum there. We also visited the Tie-die Factory. Bargaining is expected everywhere - do it with a smile and in good spirits and you'll both be happy.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 157Anna157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijilo
1.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,214 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
151 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
3.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Seafront Residences & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Creek Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Creek Hotel Resort

Property: Lemon Creek Hotel Resort
Address: Kombo Costal Airport Road, Bijilo p.o box 3306, Gambia
Region: Gambia > West Coast Division > Bijilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bijilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lemon Creek Hotel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year around About us: We are a small Danish owned hotel with focus on personal service and giving a 'home away from home' feeling to all our guests. Corporate social responsibility and the principles of Global Impact are vital to our running of the hotel and amongst other things we work together with different women cooperatives from around the country. Responsible tourism is key to a sustainable development and we constantly strive to get greener with the support of and audits of Travelife. As a part of this strategy we have our own kitchen garden to make sure as much of our products are ecological. We purchase locally where possible, re-use our gray water, use solar energy, recycle our waste where possible and yearly update our environmental charter to continue a green development. Accommodation facilities general: Reception open 24 hours Pool bar A la carte restaurant Conference facilities Souvenir shop Parking Wi-fi in public areas and rooms (added cost) Rooms: Standard rooms - Double bed, bathroom en-suite, satellite television upon request, mini fridge, kettle, wall fan, balcony or terrace seating, safe box (free of charge) Studio - Double bed, seating area with bed sofa, bathroom en-suite, satellite television upon request, kitchenette, wall fan, balcony or terrace seating, safe box (free of charge) Swimming options: Outdoor pool Children's pool Bath towel service and sun beds free of charge Bed linen: Bath towels included, change 7 times per week Bed linen included, change 3 times per week Recreation: Entertainment 1-2 times per week Massage studio/beautician (added cost) Body boards and canoes (added cost) Conference: Conference facilities for app 35 persons Tailor: Tailor available at hotel The Premises: The Gambia's best kept secret, 56 luxurious en suite rooms, all with sea view terraces, set in mature tropical gardens, which host many different varieties of wildlife and colorful birds. Lemon Creek Hotel Resort is situated right on the beach, approximately 3 km. Southwest of the Senegambia area (Kololi). The constructions and architecture are made with respect to the nature of the land site and the garden hosts an extensive bird life. The pool bar is a relaxing spot in the shade of 400 years old baobab trees and rustling palms, bask in the sun or take a dip in azure blue water. Our smiling staff, who will cater to your every need, will offer delicious snacks and cool long drinks. Lemon Creek Hotel Resort offer the "Big Tree Restaurant" serving delicious international cuisine as well as local delicacies, enjoy a cocktail whilst watching the sunset and listening to the ocean. We organize your birthday, weddings, staff-retreat, graduation or dinner party by the poolside. Let our service minded staff take care of all details to make the day a special one. We also offer comfortable conference room facilities for 35-40 people, ideal for private meetings and workshops. Our experienced beautician offers traditional massage, Thai massage, aromatherapy, pedicure and manicure. And our tailor makes sure your clothes are one of a kind in colors and styles that suits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HRS so you can book your Lemon Creek Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Creek Hotel Bijilo
Lemon Creek Hotel Resort Gambia/Bijilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing