We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lemon Creek Hotel Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bijilo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Returned on the 7th of January from yet another wonderful holiday at the Lemon Creek, it was absolutely perfect for a Christmas and New Year break.
Once again we met some amazing inspiring people from all around the world.
If you are looking for hustle & bustle this is not the hotel for you... This is a tranquil relaxing hotel.

If you do go, please go out & about, there is loads to see and do, speak with Hana the hotel owner she has connections with the Womens cooperative, providing Gambian Women with skills to make them independent.

Our room didn't have AC but it does have a wall mounted fan which was fine.

Go and try the Lemon Creek, you won't regret it for sure.

Libby

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LibbyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Just returned from our second stay at Lemon Creek and we enjoyed it so much that we are already looking at going back ! It's just such a pleasurable experience staying there - the staff are lovely and the place is peaceful with a great setting. Having looked around the hustle and bustle of some of the other hotels ,we were grateful to return to Lemon Creek. You need to book directly with the hotel as it's not "packaged" from the UK ,but there was no problem at all doing so.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wgtEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We did not stay at the Hotel but ate there a number of times. You can pay to use the pool if you are a non resident. The food is good but extremely slow. Lunch is generally better and there were only a couple of other people there, The dinner however was so slow we actually came away without eating after over two hours. There was no one else eating so they were not busy and the explanation was they only had one chef.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Lemon Creek Resort is my Gambia home away from my United States home. I stayed there three times during 2013 and most recently spent Christmas and New Years holidays there. The resort is wonderful which includes the staff, service, food and accommodations. Five stars to Hannah and the entire staff including Babacarr Sohna the on site tailor and clothing designer. I will definitely return for my 2014 vacation.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Chandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Lemon Creek is a lovely hotel. The rooms are situated in several garden houses, built in colonial style, and the view over the sea is beautiful. If you want a relaxing beach vacation, this is the place to be. The lounge chairs on the beach are comfortable and there are always employees from the hotel present at the beach to guard and to assist. The rooms are spacious. The bathrooms are nothing special, but hey... you're in Africa! Breakfast is delicious: eggs, beans, sausages, pancakes, cake, bread, cheese, marmelade and homemade African fruit juices. The hotel is reasonably priced with extremely friendly staff and all facilitations needed for a Summer vacation near the beach. Internet is pretty fast, but stops working once in a while. However, it works much better than at internet cafes in Gambia, which are a disaster. Make sure you bring cream against mosquitos and enough euros/ dollars, because there is only one place in Gambia where you can use your credit card to get money: Senegambia Beach Hotel, Kololi strip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MA891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We purchased this trip at Dutch TUI for a very cheap price of EUR 500. This included flight ticket, accommodation and breakfast for 7 days. The aircraft flies to Banjul Airport via Sal. Flight time from Amsterdam is 6 hours and 10 minutes to Sal, and 1 hour and 20 minutes from Sal to Banjul.

An Arke agent is waiting for the guests and Banjul Airport, hands over the welcome envelope (it includes vouchers and some information about programs and events) and tells everyone which bus one should take in order to get to the hotel.

Transfer time is about 30-40 minutes. Even at the airport, you will face with a very local thing: everyone wants to get money from the tourists. For placing your luggage on the bus, they want to get 1 USD or 1 EUR at least. Don't give them anything, they must do this free of charge.

After getting to the hotel, guests become a welcome drink and a short presentation about the hotel, The Gambia and the main rules. It is highly recommended to attend this presentation, although everyone knows that you are tired after such a long journey. After presentation, we went straight to our bed.

Fun begins next morning. All local people offers you guidance. He would take you anywhere you want, but of course for a quite high fee. My recommendation is the following: In Hotel Lemon Creek, a Land Rover Freelander is available for renting only for 1000 Dalashi + fuel for one day. 1000 Dalashi = about 20.48 EUR, one litre gasoline costs 50 Dalashi.

Don't change money at the hotel! In about 150 meters from the hotel, in direction to Senegambia, on the main road, you will find an exchange office with more favorable rates. When you change let's say 100 EUR, the difference can reach the price of a complete lunch for 1 person, including drink. The same is applicable for beverage prices at the hotel. It is more favorable to go to Senegambia and buy your drinks at the local "supermarket". It costs half of the prices in the hotel.

In Lemon Creek, each room is equipped with a refrigerator and air condition. AC costs 10 EUR/day. You can buy fruits for a very cheap price by the main road. One peace of mango costs about 10-15 dalashi. 6 bottles of 1.5 litre still water costs 150 dalashi. Local beer is called JulBrew and it's very tasty and costs about 25-30 dalashi in the supermarket, but in the hotel, it costs 60... A complete lunch is about 200-400 dalashi together with drinks and including tip (5-10% tip is required).

For transportation, there are green tourist taxis available at the hotel entrance, or by the main road you may find yellow taxis. Green taxis are more expensive than the yellow ones. Yellow taxi is the only way of public transport in The Gambia. It is actually impossible to get a country map, and you must find everything by yourself, if you don't have a guide, because they are not helpful at all... If you don't have a guide, anywhere you go, you must expect that local people are quite aggressively offering guidance service. Be strong but don't hurt them.

In the hotel, WiFi is available for 300 dalashi/week. At the pool, towels are available for free of charge. Hotel has an exit to the seashore. Here you can find people selling drinks, they seem to be the most aggressive. They are keen on selling you some cold drinks.

It's worth to visit Bijilo National Park - here monkeys are hanging about. Don't forget to take peanuts and change clothes with you. Peanuts are available for a very cheap price by the main road to Senegambia. Entrance fees to these National Parks are about 50-60 dalashi. In all national parks, guidance is offered to you, but refuse it. They will try to frighten you that some very dangerous snakes, but of course there are no snakes.... It's better to wander alone, with no guide. In case of refusing the guidance, they want you to sign a document that you enter the park without guide on your own responsibility. Next parks are Abuko National Park and Tanji bird reserve. In Bacau, you will find the Crocodile Pool, where you can stroke the crocodiles. It's worth to look around in Banjul, the capital of The Gambia, but you should expect big mass there, and no surfaced roads.

I highly recommend Hotel Lemon Creek to everyone. We will return sometimes for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Biyadh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This was our 8th trip to Gambia but our first visit to Lemon Creek Hotel. I will say straight away that for various reasons we have never returned to stay in the same hotel, but we would definitely return here.

Having stayed all the way along the coast from Cape Point to here at Bijilo we were a little worried about the distance to the 'busy' areas of Senegambia and the newer Plaza area but this was not a problem. There were always taxis available outside of the hotel which would give a good price and it was always a pleasure negotiating, but if you aren't happy a 2 minute walk takes you to the main road for a yellow taxi which is about a pound into town and beyond. Senegambia is 5 minutes away max.

It was my wife's 50th birthday on our second day and the maids and hotel did a superb job decorating the room. Balloons, bunting and best of all Happy Birthday to You spelt out in flowers on the bed. Many thanks!

The grounds in this hotel are fantastic - very well kept. The hotel is on the beach which is probably the best stretch in the main tourist area of Gambia - fairly flat, clean,and not horrifically erroded like at the Kairaba and Senegambia Beach.

We never spend a lot of time in any hotel as we are always out and about and the same applied this time. I can report that the staff as a whole were pleasant, not overpowering, no hassle. I would however agree with previous comments that breakfast staff were more than a little surly - not in anyway rude or unpleasant,just that they seemed unhappy and it seemed to be beyond them to even engage in good morning,.

Having been to Gambia quite a few times and stayed at hotels and guest houses along the coast I really would recommend Lemon Creek to anyone that wants a nice quality hotel on the beach. The main thing we wanted was peace and quiet at night and we certainly got that. The only sound we heard was of the breaking waves.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would recommend this hotel for the first time or the seasoned Gambia visitor.

Room Tip: I don't want to say as I want the same room next time....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank wardy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijilo
1.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,230 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
155 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
3.8 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Creek Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Creek Hotel Resort

Address: Kombo Costal Airport Road, Bijilo p.o box 3306, Gambia
Region: Gambia > West Coast Division > Bijilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bijilo
Price Range: £57 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lemon Creek Hotel Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year around About us: We are a small Danish owned hotel with focus on personal service and giving a 'home away from home' feeling to all our guests. Corporate social responsibility and the principles of Global Impact are vital to our running of the hotel and amongst other things we work together with different women cooperatives from around the country. Responsible tourism is key to a sustainable development and we constantly strive to get greener with the support of and audits of Travelife. As a part of this strategy we have our own kitchen garden to make sure as much of our products are ecological. We purchase locally where possible, re-use our gray water, use solar energy, recycle our waste where possible and yearly update our environmental charter to continue a green development. Accommodation facilities general: Reception open 24 hours Pool bar A la carte restaurant Conference facilities Souvenir shop Parking Wi-fi in public areas and rooms (added cost) Rooms: Standard rooms - Double bed, bathroom en-suite, satellite television upon request, mini fridge, kettle, wall fan, balcony or terrace seating, safe box (free of charge) Studio - Double bed, seating area with bed sofa, bathroom en-suite, satellite television upon request, kitchenette, wall fan, balcony or terrace seating, safe box (free of charge) Swimming options: Outdoor pool Children's pool Bath towel service and sun beds free of charge Bed linen: Bath towels included, change 7 times per week Bed linen included, change 3 times per week Recreation: Entertainment 1-2 times per week Massage studio/beautician (added cost) Body boards and canoes (added cost) Conference: Conference facilities for app 35 persons Tailor: Tailor available at hotel The Premises: The Gambia's best kept secret, 56 luxurious en suite rooms, all with sea view terraces, set in mature tropical gardens, which host many different varieties of wildlife and colorful birds. Lemon Creek Hotel Resort is situated right on the beach, approximately 3 km. Southwest of the Senegambia area (Kololi). The constructions and architecture are made with respect to the nature of the land site and the garden hosts an extensive bird life. The pool bar is a relaxing spot in the shade of 400 years old baobab trees and rustling palms, bask in the sun or take a dip in azure blue water. Our smiling staff, who will cater to your every need, will offer delicious snacks and cool long drinks. Lemon Creek Hotel Resort offer the "Big Tree Restaurant" serving delicious international cuisine as well as local delicacies, enjoy a cocktail whilst watching the sunset and listening to the ocean. We organize your birthday, weddings, staff-retreat, graduation or dinner party by the poolside. Let our service minded staff take care of all details to make the day a special one. We also offer comfortable conference room facilities for 35-40 people, ideal for private meetings and workshops. Our experienced beautician offers traditional massage, Thai massage, aromatherapy, pedicure and manicure. And our tailor makes sure your clothes are one of a kind in colors and styles that suits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lemon Creek Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Creek Hotel Bijilo
Lemon Creek Hotel Resort Gambia/Bijilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing